Beautyknot ~ My Skin Care Diary

KOSÉ Lotion Mask

Posted on: August 4, 2009

 

Kose lotion mask1

 

Probably Japanese is the one who invent the concept of using toner as mask. The concept of lotion mask is something like soaking the skin with water, whether it’s practical or not, I believe the approach will help the ingredients absorb better into skin, but only with a good quality of sheet mask.

 

Direction for use:

 

put the mask into cap

put the mask into cap

pour lotion into cap

pour lotion into cap

lotion absorbed in a second

lotion absorbed in a second

lotion mask time (5-10 minutes)

lotion mask time (5-10 minutes)

 

I’ve tried low quality S brand paper mask that bought from supermarket which only costs me 65 baht for 12 pieces, it’s half price of Kose’s one that cost 135 baht for 14 pieces. Also I’ve tried cotton pad method (saturate cotton pads with the lotion completely, split the damp cotton pads into few pieces, and place on skin for 5-10 minutes). Among the three methods, I actually preferred cotton pad eventhough Kose lotion mask is convenient.

 

The S brand's and Kose's

The S brand's and Kose's

 

For the S brand or a low grade mask, the mask absorbed lotion too well that left nothing much for skin, thus wasting the lotion. And it doesn’t adhere to skin tightly. For the Kose lotion mask, the quality is much better. It’s very thin thus less lotion required compare to S brand’s one, in fact it only can absorb limited amount of lotion. The mask has many tiny holes but I wasn’t sure what the purpose is. To be honest, the Kose lotion didn’t perform better than the S brand’s apparently. Finally, for the cotton pad method, this shows best result amid the three and the cotton pads still very wet after 5-10 mins that I could even easily squeeze some lotion out. The drawbacks of cotton pad method are, it never fitted entire face, sometimes it didn’t stick to skin tightly and need constantly pat the cotton pad to expedite absorption. Anyway, the winner of the lotion mask in my heart at this moment is the Kose Aqua Stretch Mask that given as free gift, the only thing is it’s not for sale.

 

cotton pads method

cotton pads method

 

Left: S brand   Right: Kose lotion mask 

 Left: S brand                                   Right: Kose lotion mask

 

Currently I used lotion mask together with Kose Sekkisei Supreme refining lotion I, somehow I rather believe the whitening effect is expedited compare to normal toner use, but skin is prone to redness too. Also tried for Vichy Hydra-Perfecting toner, the result is quite satisfiable, skin texture looks more hydrating, remember please don’t leave the mask more than 5-10 minutes, else skin is oversoaked. Besides, I was curious what if with mineral water? Would it deliver like Vichy’s? Ha! It did.

 

texture

texture

For the quality of the lotion mask, I think Kose lotion mask isn’t thick enough to be effectively helping ingredient penetration, based on my experience, cotton type mask is the best. For instance, SK-II whitening source derm-revival mask or cotton pads for budget approach. May be that’s why many western cosmetic giants didn’t even bother the concept of  lotion mask.

 

Rating: … )))  Satisfied  Satisfied. Unlikely to buy again.

  

4 Responses to "KOSÉ Lotion Mask"

[…] skin and the alcohol content of lotion, I  preferred use the lotion for weekly mask treatment with Kose lotion mask (though result far far away from the Aqua Stretch Mask), but avoid when my skin is more sensitive. […]

[…] also use this for weekly mask treatment with cotton pads and lotion mask, so the 200ml lotion basically only lasted less than 3 months. Use as ‘cotton pad […]

[…] is also ideal for occasional lotion-mask pampering, either using with Kose lotion-mask or Muji large cotton pad. Again, the citrus scent makes me feel relax and delighting, big […]

[…] in Little Tokyo while visiting a friend of my youth a couple of years ago. You can see it in action here. My friend and I put these things on our faces and rested for 5-10 minutes as directed, and then […]

Leave a comment

August 2009
S M T W T F S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

My apology

Hi, many things have been keeping my mind and time occupied these days, thus I need more time to response to all comments. Please bear with me, thank you.

:::::::::::::::: Mood :::::::::::::::

My Skin Profile

Sensitive, combination skin type, visible blood vessels, freckles, easily dehydrated, dry and having fine line undereye, occasional breakout, visible aging pores.

Archives

Categories

If your comment does not appear immediately, that means it is awaiting moderation.
BT will approve it as soon as she accesses to this blog. Thank you ~ (" v)

Blog Stats

  • 1,964,145 hits

Copyright notice

Copyright © 2008-2013 Beautyknot