Beautyknot ~ My Skin Care Diary

Boots Vitamin E Body Butter

Posted on: August 27, 2012

I was flattered when a woman in supermarket complimented my smooth & fair skin recently, which probed basic skin care would be enough to maintain good skin. Protect against UVs, exfoliation, balanced diets, exercise and using moisturizer when skin is dry.

I hardly use body moisturizer nowadays since weather here is humid and I don’t sleep in air-conditioned room now. This body butter worked fine while I was in Bangkok but found it rather rich in all-year humid climate of Malaysia that it just sat on skin and never sank in properly.

Nevertheless, this was the product I had been using frequently when I was in Thailand. Strictly speaking it was not excited me but surely something that I felt worth of penny, ideally for slightly dry skin in mild weather.

It smells mild, vanilla-like, sweet and powdery. It is non-greasy, non-irritating and inexpensive.  It retails THB150/200g normally, always on promotion for sure.

I am on the third jar of this. Many months ago, I had a small patch of skin rash on my leg, which triggered by certain foods that I allergy to (assumed). The skin rash healed slowly and no longer felt itchy after I reduced/stopped eating those foods but the skin texture looked a little bit plate-like and the skin tone appeared darker too. During the period, I had tried natural AA body butter, aromatherapy body massage oils and this Boots body butter on the area, obviously the AA body butter improved the skin texture best in my case. That would not be difficult to judge, ingredient make a difference.

Would I buy again? Frankly, may be. I continued searching for better one …

Rating :  ….)))       Satisfied.  May buy again.

Ingredients:

Aqua (Water), C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Glycerin, Cetyl Alcohol, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Cyclopentasiloxane, Glyceryl Stearate, Cyclohexasiloxane, Dimethicone, Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil, PEG-100 Stearate, Phenoxyethanol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil, Xanthan Gum, Methylparaben, Acrylates/Vinyl Isodecanoate Crosspolymer, Ehtylparaben, Tetrasodium EDTA, Parfum (Fragrance), Potassium Hydorxide, Dipropylene Glycol, Limonene, Linalool, Citronellol, Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone, Coumarin, Geraniol, CI15985 (Yellow 6), CI19140 (Yellow 5).

14 Responses to "Boots Vitamin E Body Butter"

Its good to have you back! 🙂 and you have just added another to look for item for my next trip to Bangkok 😛 THB150 is a steal..

I read your previous post, my condolence to you my friend. Stay strong, take good care and may brighter days come your way soonest :))

Thanks Nellz,

What a kind & warm message in this rainy morning. Very glad to see you here and lets continue to write and post! (” v)

Welcome back 🙂 I was surprised when I saw you post update in my email box. Nice review once again, I definitely going to try to get this body butter.The winter here is so harsh, nothing works well for me :/ always on a hunt for a better moisturizer, it becomes frustrating.

My condolences to you and your family. Hope things will turn better for you real soon ^^ There’s no way but up from here!

Hello Nguyen,

Thanks for your friendly and heart-warming message and glad to hear from you again.

This boots body butter won’t be sufficient for very dry skin during winter. One tip I learnt is, apply massage/body oil before layering body butter, or mix body oil with body butter upon application. This should work optimally.

If you don’t mind cocao smell, Jergens and Palmer are two drugstore brands I found very rich and best for very dry skin. (“V)

my skin is really dull ..pls do share with us about your diet and exercises you do to have such smooth skin..andcan you suggest any good body moisturiser to have smooth skin” thanks

HI Anusha,

I …
– do yoga and play squash during weekend
– walk a lot during week day
– try to have 8 hours good sleep a day
– eat oats, apples , fresh milk and raw vege frequently
– also take Vitamin C and oriental herb wine/soup

Additionally, I use shower sponge to exfoliate gently the skin daily.

Moisturizer …
– natural moisturizer/body oil is best in my opinion
– rich and silicone based moisturizer is good budget thing for very dry skin

Hope this helps. (” v)

thanks ..do you take vitamin c supplements or in the natural form only

I try to get it from natural sources – fruits, but I also have Vitamin C supplement for busy days to strengthen my immune system. (“v)

and can you give more details on the oriental herb soup/wine..sorry if am asking something you are not comfortable in answering

Hi Anusha,

I like Chinese herbal soup such as Ginseng chicken soup, 8-treasure soup & Abalone soup, boiling together with duck/chicken + mushroom & herb etc but that were just my personal preference. However not many people like the taste, you can research online to know more about oriental soup, (“v)

hi.. can you tell me where i can buy the boots vitamin e body butter in malaysia? does gurdian and watson pharmacys have it?

Hi Christy,

This is house brand of Boots pharmacy, I’m not sure if other places than Boots selling this product or not. Malaysia has no Boots pharmacy, the chances you can find this product in M’sia would be very slim… definitely not in Guardian or Watsons. (” v)

Hi, love your blog. Now to the boots Vit E oil, have a look at where the Phenoxyethanol comes in at the list of ingredients… The max usage for this preservative in 1%, and I’m assuming that boots being a large multinational, that they are probably using it at the max amount! Straight after the Phenoxyethanol comes the Vit E, anything that comes under the 1% ‘rule’ can be listed in any order so at the very most the Vit E is in the product under 1%, in all probability it’s probably in at a much lower percentage, anything right down to 0.01%, which is incidentally the percentage that big cosmetic companies use to prevent oxidation/rancidity! Also I gess we should be grateful that the wheat germ oil is in such a tiny amount, this is one of the fastest botanical oils to go rancid, my view is that the only purpose the Vit E serves in this product is to delay rancidity, it certainly is not going to improve your skin. This infuriates me, big companies can call this a Vit E cream even if that actual amount is less than 0.01%! Aaargh! This kind of blatant consumer rip-off kills me! This cream has lots of silicones, which is fine if you like them, they don’t feed your skin with any nutrients though! Although Dimethicone is an FDA approved occlusive when used up to 2%. There is also Shea Butter which is great but it’s second after the Glycerin which is usually included somewhere under 5%, because too much can make the product very sticky. The Shea is also just after the Cetyl alcohol, which in emulsified products is never over 3%, because anything more causes ‘drag’ in the product. So I guess we can safely assume there is less than 3% Shea! Not impressed with this cream at all, you would be better off breaking open some Vit capsules, add them to a body oil and apply after showering on damp skin cos you ain’t getting anywhere near enough Vit E in this product!

Hi Michele,
Thank you for your time and sharing. It is well analyzed and informative. (“V)

Leave a Reply

August 2012
S M T W T F S
« May   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

My apology

Hi, many things have been keeping my mind and time occupied these days, thus I need more time to response to all comments. Please bear with me, thank you.

:::::::::::::::: Mood :::::::::::::::

My Skin Profile

Sensitive, combination skin type, visible blood vessels, freckles, easily dehydrated, dry and having fine line undereye, occasional breakout, visible aging pores.

Archives

Categories

If your comment does not appear immediately, that means it is awaiting moderation.
BT will approve it as soon as she accesses to this blog. Thank you ~ (" v)

Blog Stats

  • 1,747,853 hits

Copyright notice

Copyright © 2008-2013 Beautyknot
