Beautyknot ~ My Skin Care Diary

Archive for December 22nd, 2009

Clarins Blue Orchid Face treatment oil

Clarins has three types of face treatment oil, Lotus oil (for combination skin prone to oiliness), Santal oil ( for dry or extra-dry skin) and Blue Orchid oil (for dehydrated skin), all contain 100% pure plant extracts.

 

When I was at Clarins counter of Bangkok airport duty free 6 months ago, I was indecisive between Lotus oil and Blue Orchid oil, in the end I took the sales assistant’s advice.  She recommended this Blue Orchid oil for my easily dehydrated combination skin so that I can use this in both warm and dry seasons. She also assured me this wouldn’t cause blackhead because I couldn’t risk of breaking out.

 

According to Clarins, the Blue Orchid oil works wonders on thirsty skin, enhancing vitality, radiance and freshness. Softening and nourishing, helps prevent dryness responsible for signs of aging.

 

Direction: In the evening, after thorough cleansing and toning, apply a small amount to skin which is still dampened with lotion/toner. Avoid the eye contour area. If needed, gently blot face with a soft facial tissue to remove any excess oil.

 

As Clarins face treatment oils are very concentrated, thus with a drop to achieve maximum effectiveness. Here is the pictures to show you how to get a “drop” of the face treatment oil.

 

Clarins Blue orchid oil method

Clarins blue orchird content-a "drop"

 

Although the treatment oil is fluid consistency and nourishing, but it’s not runny on skin and very difficult to spread smoothly onto skin with such a small amount. After toning, what I do is to take few drops (depends on the skin condition) of the treatment oil on palm, warm up and rub the oil in palms, sweeping the skin in lifting motion. This method is also great to relieve water retention in the chin area. The result is instantly firmer and visibly V-shaped jaw line, persistent work on daily basis required keeping the shape. Based on personal experience, facial massage is the best way for skin firming, yet it is free to practice at home.

 

I also applied this treatment oil prior lotion mask (soaked large cotton pad with lightweight lotion, splitting the cotton pad into few pieces and placed on entire face, gently pat until adsorbed for 3-5 minutes.) for intensive treatment, effective to release skin fatigue. Once in a blue moon, I also take few drops for hair .

 

Clarins blue orchird - 3 'drops' of the oil

 

Frankly speaking, my first use with this Blue Orchid oil was actual horrible. I poured a small amount (I thought it’s a small amount) of the oil for entire face and neck, followed with serum and emulsion. The next morning I had terrible red bumps outbreak on my forehead! I was terrified but I always give second chance. On the second time I only took a “drop” of the Blue Orchid oil and avoid oily T-zone, finally it worked really fine on me and I never suffered breakout again in following months eventhough I gradually increased the use amount. I used 3-6 drops in first 2 months, but since I started double cleansing method in morning, my skin moisture improved and I only used 1-3 drops now.

 

This is the moment I always looking forward in evening, other than relaxing peaceful essential fragrance, it also remarkably imparts glowing skin! The overall complexion looks revitalized. Perhaps my skin care habit and other products play role as well, but I just couldn’t deny the wonderful of this Blue Orchid oil since it’s the only new product introduced into my daily skincare routine at that time. No irritation, redness occurred sometimes for first few minutes, didn’t cause me extra blackhead, overall it is gentle, nourishing and soothing.

 

The mild serene woody aromatic scent could be strong for first few hours if using more than 5 drops and under fragrance-free moisturizer, which is fine to me anyway. Most of the time I don’t find the scent over powering because I only use tiny amount.

 

Clarins Blue Orchid Face treatment oil-2

 

Nevertheless, the Blue Orchid oil neither immediate soothe stinging nor heal my severe flaky nose in 3 days, although It cured the minor flaky nose overnight. Concerning severe nose flake, a good hydrating serum did much better job that healed the flaky in 1.5 days. Therefore, I think comedogenic ingredients such as petrolatum and dimethicone are still very useful for flaky skin recovery.

 

As a conclusion, I am now a convert of essential face treatment oil. A visibly soft, moist, firmer and glowing skin. Without extra junkie, a simple oil blend is good enough to make a different, not to mention I only paid 1400 baht for 40ml at Bangkok airport duty free and I’ve been using it almost nightly for nearly 7 months now, it should able to last me 8 months! Worth every cent I spent.

 

Rating: ….)))   Excellent  Excellent. Willing to buy again.

 

Ingredients:

Corylus Avellana (Hazel) Seed Oil, Pogostemon Cablin Oil, Aniba Rosaeodora (Rosewood) Wood Oil, Parfum/Fragrance, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Dendrobium Phalaenopsis Flower Extract, Tocopherol, Linalool, Limonene, Geraniol, Benzyl Benzoate, Coumarin, Eugenol.

 


December 2009
S M T W T F S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

My apology

Hi, many things have been keeping my mind and time occupied these days, thus I need more time to response to all comments. Please bear with me, thank you.

:::::::::::::::: Mood :::::::::::::::

My Skin Profile

Sensitive, combination skin type, visible blood vessels, freckles, easily dehydrated, dry and having fine line undereye, occasional breakout, visible aging pores.

Archives

Categories

If your comment does not appear immediately, that means it is awaiting moderation.
BT will approve it as soon as she accesses to this blog. Thank you ~ (" v)

Blog Stats

  • 1,965,020 hits

Copyright notice

Copyright © 2008-2013 Beautyknot