Beautyknot ~ My Skin Care Diary

Kiehl’s Centella Recovery Skin Salve

Posted on: July 18, 2010

I was given the sample for many months already and finally I got the right-timing to test the sample – my skin was irritated by a chemical sunscreen and wrong-timing exfoliation.

 

According to Kiehl’s, Centella Recovery Skin Salve has been clinically demonstrated to soothe and condition temporarily irritated skin, such as after at-home micro-dermabrasion treatments. The Skin Salve contains Centella Asiatica (Tiger herb) for skin-recovery, Aloe vera to soften, soothe and comfort; and honey for moisturizing.

 

 

This is a scentless dewy gel. It leaves a slippery, shinning sheen until it fully matted on skin. When I touch the skin, it feels like a thin film of honey gel. Moisturizing, non-heavy, pleasant wearing, non-irritating, working well underneath my mineral sunscreen too, but it caused patchiness when using makeup-powder afterward.

 

Due to the small sample size, I couldn’t test it enough. I used it together with my lotion + serums + oil, meantime I had also stopped using any possibly irritating product, so whatever I used at that time was non-irritating to sensitive skin. After applying this Centella Recovery Skin Salve, my skin felt uncomfortably again after a while, I guess it wasn’t emollient enough in very dry environment in concern of my sensitive (very prone to dehydration) skin. I wish I have generous sample of this so I can continue to re-apply and justify its efficacy. Anyway, I spritzed Vichy spa water frequently and re-applied Hada Labo Super Hyaluronic Moist Essence whenever necessary.

 

 

Glad to say my sensitized, irritated, inflamed skin felt much better on the night but it hadn’t been fully calmed yet. However, the skin felt very much better in next morning and the poor skin actually had returned to stable stage. That means, no more discomfort feeling. In only two days, day and night, total four applications, I do think this Centella Recovery Skin Salve is helpful. Frankly, that’s difficult to tell firmly whether products I used during the short period or the method I adopted was improved the skin condition, most probably both.

 

At least, my experience tells Centella Recovery Skin Salve is fine for sensitive skin, or as Kiehl’s claimed, it’s gentle enough for all skin types. It retails for THB1900/50ml in Thailand, quite pricey for just a soothing moisturizer.

 

Ingredients:

Aqua/Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Dimethicone, Propylene Glycol, C30-45 Alkyl Dimethicone, Cetyl Dimethicone, Sorbitol, Mel /Honey, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, Magnesium Sulfate, Phenoxyethanol, Polysorbate 20, Methylparaben, Aloe Barbadensis/Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Centella Asiatica/Centella Asiatica Extract, Glycine Soja/Soybean Oil, Tocopherol, Ethylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Propylparaben, Vaccinium Myrtillus/Vaccinium Myrtillus Extract.

 

 

5 Responses to "Kiehl’s Centella Recovery Skin Salve"

[…] improvement in two days, compared to Dr.CiLabo’s Aqua Collagen Gel Super Sensitive and Keihls Cantella Skin Recovery Salve that capable to calm down the “irascible” yet vulnerable skin in a […]

Thanks for your report and most importantly the compiled list of ingredients, which so far I have only been able to find at your site. I am performing in-depth studies on carcinogenic chemical compounds found in todays beauty products to conscientize people about possible alternative choices.

Could you please confirm that this is the list of ingredients of the “Kiehl’s Centella Recovery Skin-Salve” product and where you obtained it?

If you are interested, I post the background on some of those ingredients, especially the worst offenders detrimental to human health: PEG/PPG-18/18, Ethylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben, and Propylparaben, with an increased risk of breast cancer (as many of todays beauty products) being the predominant one.

Hi Roberto,

Thanks for your comment. I obtained the list of ingredients of Kiehl’s Centella Recovery Skin-Salve from the sample pack, which should be genuine. Please let me know if you are interested to write a guest post regarding those “notorious” ingredients. (“v)

OMG this is a GOD send.. I have the MOST sensative skin on the planet.. Ive used this cream (the entire tube in the week) over use.. yes.. BUT no matter the cost.. it has healed and protected my skin.. My face and eye lids were weeping, red, sore and inflamed to touch.. Ugly was a compliment and My husband got me this.. Im IN LOVE.. I applied it regularly whenever I needed to through out the day.. Liberally.. My face has healed and feels amazing.. Stil some patches of scabs were my skin was SO dry and flaky and deep, i have sores in some areas and they are healing now. 🙂
This worked for me.. Im investing in some more products 🙂

Hi mfitmel,

Regret I didn’t read your comment earlier. Glad to hear it worked wonderfully for you (“v)

Leave a comment

July 2010
S M T W T F S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

My apology

Hi, many things have been keeping my mind and time occupied these days, thus I need more time to response to all comments. Please bear with me, thank you.

:::::::::::::::: Mood :::::::::::::::

My Skin Profile

Sensitive, combination skin type, visible blood vessels, freckles, easily dehydrated, dry and having fine line undereye, occasional breakout, visible aging pores.

Archives

Categories

If your comment does not appear immediately, that means it is awaiting moderation.
BT will approve it as soon as she accesses to this blog. Thank you ~ (" v)

Blog Stats

  • 1,963,998 hits

Copyright notice

Copyright © 2008-2013 Beautyknot