Beautyknot ~ My Skin Care Diary

Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair Synchronized Recovery Complex

Posted on: April 3, 2010

According to Estee Lauder, the revolutionary formula with exclusive Chronolux Technology™ to support the natural synchronization of skin’s repair and protection processes. It helps neutralize up to 90% of environmental irritants before they can damage skin and its DNA. Use it everyday to help continuously repair the appearance of past damage caused by every major environmental assault before they become permanent.

 

 

The texture is lightweight gel, spread smoothly, not artificially fragranced but it has signature scent of Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair series which I loved. It absorbed into skin quickly and skin looked subtle glowing with no oiliness. Comparing to the old formula, notably the new formula has lighter consistency without compromise the equal hydrating effect, which I think that’s actually more flexible for my combination skin in an all-year-sunny country. If I want intense moisture, I could have few drops extra and gradually building up until the skin gets slight sticky to touch. Else, small amount is enough for face and neck.

 

 

Another change is the packaging of this new formula. It’s not made of pure glass like previous Advanced Night Series’s serum. The hard texture to me is somewhere between pure glass and normal plastic which appears absolutely sturdy and classical elegant. The dropper of this 50ml packaging is rather larger than the smaller bottle, hence number of drop for each application is purely depending on individual need. A minor gripe here, the dropper is very likely to cause bubbles when squeezing the serum out.

 

 

I was a little bit confused with the instruction initially. From the product manual, it only indicated apply several drops all over cleansed face and throat, follow with the EL moisturizer that is right for you. On the product label itself, it advised apply on clean skin before your moisturizer. From EL website, it said to be used at night. On the other hand, the EL beauty advisor told me that it can be used in both AM and PM. After weighting the pros and cons, I decided to put this for day use only.

 

 

Reason being, the serum contains UV absorber (Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate). Nowadays, I’m doing  my best to avoid sunscreen ingredient for night care especially anti-aging serum is also formulated to be receptive. The old formula, Protective Recovery Complex had given clear instruction that it can be used in AM and PM (contains the UV absorber too). I’m not exactly sure what is the main purpose to include the chemical sunscreen in this serum, perhaps to keep the photosensitive active ingredient stable, or to protect skin from photo-sensitivity. Whatever the reason, I used this after my Vitamin C serum and wear a proper sunscreen over it.

 

 

For testing purpose, I actually applied this every AM and PM for 2 weeks before switching to solely AM use. Although my facial veins have been exacerbated by using twice a day, but in fact it never irritated my sensitive skin at anytime nor gave me any breakout/comedogenic in the past 4 months, not even extra blackhead. Meanwhile I didn’t notice any remarkably skin improvement either. It hydrated the skin moderately, but that’s all I observed and that’s also what I used it for, aside it has anti-aging properties.

 

 

Estee Lauder says, Think of it as “insurance” for younger, healthier-looking skin. My interpretation is, you may get immediate assurance of minimizing both existing and future environment damages, but the accumulative return probably will only be seen in long term. Isn’t any anti-aging product meant to “insure”? If someone want to tackle the long-existed aging signs,  I afraid medical-grade treatment is the only answer.

 

 

I loved Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair series until I became more ingredient concern and also, found better serums than this. This is very pleasant to use I’ve to say anyway. Normal retail price is THB 3700 for 50ml, I bought it THB 3164 during promotion. For me, the price is fair enough.

 

Rating: ….)))    Good. Unlikely to buy again.

 

Ingredients:

Water\Aqua\EAU, Bifida Ferment Lysate, Methylgluceth-20, PEG-75, Butylene Glycol, Bis-Peg-18 Methyl Ether Dimethyl Silane, Arabidopsis Thaliana Extract, Tripeptide-32, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Lactobacillus Ferment, Cola Acuminata (Kola) Extract, Retinyl Palmitate, Pantethine, Caffeine, Glycereth-26, Sodium RNA, Squalane, Oleth-3 Phosphate, Oleth-3, Oleth-5, Bisabolol, Choleth-24, Ceteth-24, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Anthemis Nobilis (Chamomile), Sodium Hyaluronate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Lecithin, Xanthan Gum, TEA-Carbomer, Trisodium EDTA, BHT, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Benzyl Alcohol, Green 5 (C61570I), Yellow 5 (CI19140), Red 4(CI14700).

 

12 Responses to "Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair Synchronized Recovery Complex"

Hello, great review. I was considering buying this but now I’m having second thoughts–in your article you said you had found better serums, could you tell me what those are and which ones you think are the best?
Thanks!

Hello DS,
When I wrote the sentence “……found better serums than this”, I was thinking of Rojukiss Protox serum and Kiehls Powerful Line-Reducing Concentrate that I was using at that time. Both of them have their strong points, I would love to re-purchase both of them in future. “v

hi,i have been using the night repair serum for a while.one day the serum turned red.is that normal.thanks

Hi Maleeha Salman,

The serum turned red? That didn’t sound right to me, it probably had been oxidized and loss its potency. Do you store it at sultry place? In my experience, the colour of Advanced night repair never changed after several months usage with proper storing.

Please double check with Estee Lauder sales assistant. You may want to discard the serum if it is oxidized.

it is safe to use during pregnancy?

Hi diana,

As I know pregnant women should keep very minimum Vitamin A intake of their diet. For safety reason, I suggest you avoid using any skin care product containing Vitamin A, including this Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair Synchronized Recovery Complex because it contains Retinyl Palmitate, which is a derivative of Vitamin A.

For the health of you and your baby, always consult your doctor for best practice during pregnancy. (“v) Wish you be healthy, beautiful, happy mom.

hi om 29 years old….is olay 7 in 1 better or estee night repair serum??

Hi Maleeha, I will say EL Advanced Night Repair Serum is better. (” v)

im under affirm renew treatment, can i use this product?

Hi Sally,

The best person to consult is your dermatologist, she/he should be able to advise you professionally. In my personal opinion, it is ok to use as long as your skin has no wound/peeling/injury. (“v)

The best serum is from Switzerland. The brand is Ujene. Google it and look at its ingrediemts and you’ll see why. Unfortunately it’s not available here in the Phils.

Hi Issa,

Read the online reviews of Ujene, thanks for sharing. 🙂

Leave a comment

April 2010
S M T W T F S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

My apology

Hi, many things have been keeping my mind and time occupied these days, thus I need more time to response to all comments. Please bear with me, thank you.

:::::::::::::::: Mood :::::::::::::::

My Skin Profile

Sensitive, combination skin type, visible blood vessels, freckles, easily dehydrated, dry and having fine line undereye, occasional breakout, visible aging pores.

Archives

Categories

If your comment does not appear immediately, that means it is awaiting moderation.
BT will approve it as soon as she accesses to this blog. Thank you ~ (" v)

Blog Stats

  • 1,964,069 hits

Copyright notice

Copyright © 2008-2013 Beautyknot