Beautyknot ~ My Skin Care Diary

Biotherm Line Peel Nuit Crystalescent

Posted on: April 6, 2010

Biotherm claims this night renewing care, newborn skin wakening. When a product used the word “renew”, usually it associated with exfoliating to increase turnover rate of skin cell. This 2009 new formula, Line Peel Nuit Crystalescent contains the exactly identical first 13 ingredients with the previous version – Line Peel Relaxing Night Wrinkle Corrector (Normal/Combination Skin). The new formula included three new skin care ingredients (Soluble Collagen, Zinc Gluconate and Gingko Extract), as I never tried the old formula, so I have no idea whether the new formula delivers better result.

 

 

Being a night cream, the pinkish cream is unexpectedly so dewy light. I normally rub the cream in palms then sweep over to skin. In drier season, it sank in almost instantly, skin was smooth, non-greasy and moisturized. I applied it after lotion-face oil-serum and re-applied the night cream on dry patches before bedtime, it just being sufficient for overnight. In the morning my skin looked just well-balanced without excess shine, only T-zone was tiny greasy. If I didn’t re-apply the night cream before bedtime, my U-zone would be very uncomfortably tight in the next morning, though T-zone was tiny greasy.

 

However, when weather was getting warmer, I don’t have to re-apply because my skin became oilier and the cream started to contribute blackhead according to the same routine. Also, my skin looked shiny after few hours.

 

 

From what I understand, although the night cream contains AHA, BHA and HEPES (Hydroxyethylpiperazine Ethane Sulfonic Acid) to “renew” skin, but most probably it will solely rely on HEPES (the biochemical peeling substance) for the task because I don’t think this night cream has enough acidic pH formula for AHA/BHA to be effective, thus most skin types can take it successfully. For your reference, AHA, BHA need acidic pH, yet HEPES, amino acid-based ingredients like collagen and peptide need alkaline pH. Meanwhile I didn’t really notice any skin peeling during the sampling, perhaps due to the face oil and hydrating serum applied underneath the night cream.

 

After all, despite the efficacy of the formula, I do love the velvet skin with the Line Peel Nuit Crystalescent. I even think it is better than Lancôme moisturizers that I had tried. Probably the light dewy cream texture quenches the skin better.

 

 

During the 3 weeks sampling period, it didn’t cause me breakout or irritation. Oh…wait a moment, the strong fragrance did irritate me. It has very strong scent, particularly the very first day. My dinner became tasteless like the fragrance ate all food savor, I felt like I was eating strongly fragranced chemical in the evening, really unpleasant. Slowly, the fragrance in the glass jar was fading over time, hence more acceptable for following usage.

 

 

All in all, this is not my ideal moisturizer, at least I didn’t really see a crystal-clear complexion, not to say my deep cleansing mask does better job on that. This is nice-textured moisturizer but I will only go for “right-fragranced” or better non-fragranced moisturizer, the sample I bought is completely sealed that I couldn’t  smell the scent at the first place. Last but not least, normal retail price of Biottherm Line Peel Nuit Crystalescent in Thailand is THB2950/50ml.

 

Ingredients:

Aqua/Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Squalane, Octyldodecanol, Cetyl Alcohol, PEG-40 Stearate, Glyceryl Stearate, Myristyl Myristate,  Hydroxyethylpiperazine Ethane Sulfonic Acid, Capryloyl Salicylic Acid, Glycolic Acid, Biosaccharide Gum-1, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Soluble Collagen, Zinc Gluconate, Manganese Gluconate, Aspartic Acid, Acetyl Hexapeptide-8, Ginkgo Biloba Extract/Ginkgo Biloba Leaf Extract, Methylsilanol Mannuronate, Vitreoscilla Ferment Extract/Vitreoscilla Ferment, Adenosine, Zea Mays/Corn Oil, Prunus Armeniaca Kernel Oil/Apricot Kernel Oil, Passiflora Edulis/Passiflora Edulis Seed Oil, Oryza Sativa Bran Oil/Rice Bran Oil, Tocopheryl Acetate, Silica, Cera Alba/Beeswax, Acrylates Copolymer, Ammonium Polyacryldimethyltauramide Monium Polyacryloyldimethyl Taurate, Triethanolamine, Sorbitan Tristearate, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Polyacrylamide, Laureth-7, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben,  CI 14700/Red 4, Parfum/Fragrance, Linalool, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Limonene, Benzyl Salicylate.

 

Leave a Reply

April 2010
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

My apology

Hi, many things have been keeping my mind and time occupied these days, thus I need more time to response to all comments. Please bear with me, thank you.

:::::::::::::::: Mood :::::::::::::::

My Skin Profile

Sensitive, combination skin type, visible blood vessels, freckles, easily dehydrated, dry and having fine line undereye, occasional breakout, visible aging pores.

Archives

Categories

If your comment does not appear immediately, that means it is awaiting moderation.
BT will approve it as soon as she accesses to this blog. Thank you ~ (" v)

Blog Stats

  • 1,789,380 hits

Copyright notice

Copyright © 2008-2013 Beautyknot
