Beautyknot ~ My Skin Care Diary

Archive for February 16th, 2012

I bought this RM65/75ml from Sasa store early last year as a replacement of my favorite Neogence HA Hydrating Mask. My initial thought was to save more since gel mask normally has better value than sheet mask if consider the simple calculation “retail price/number of application. However I realized it was just my wishful thinking that a rigid calculation did not reflect the actual product value.


 Direction for use:

After cleansing the face, apply a thick layer of the product onto face. Rinse off after 15~20 minutes, use 2~3 times per week.

.

The scentless gel mask is very lightweight but it glued to skin nicely, yet it can be easily rinsed off afterwards. I stored the mask tube inside refrigerator so it can impart some cooling effect in muggy weather.  In order to boost the hydrating result, sometimes I would apply toner/ serum before the skin daubed with the gel mask.

.

Comparing with the Neogence HA sheet mask, this gel mask was disappointing. Besides the passable hydrating effect was not long-lasting at all, the skin did not feel bouncy soft either. “Bouncy” was just an adjective that I used to describe soft and firm skin like “baby”. For example, mature women could have “soft” skin but understandably the skin firmness and elasticity definitely feel differently with youthful skin of teenagers. In my past experience, many Hyaluronic Acid products were able to make skin “bouncy”, but this Neogence Hyaluronic Acid Hydrating Relief Gel Mask simply failed to deliver the result.  It did keep skin soft but that was merely a basic function of any hydrating mask.

.

Perhaps you can see its hydrating result from below mentioned test. The test was performed under normal room temperature (26 °C, 70%).

Click the image to enlarge

.

There were two major factors that I think why Neogence HA sheet mask was delivered superior than this gel mask, 1) sheet mask able to seal and suffocate the skin, making skin soften and enforcing the essence absorption, 2) the essence of the gel was rinsed off after application while the sheet mask was not.

.


As a conclusion, I did not actually “save more” money as the tube ran out faster than I expected.  If I was not mistaken, the total number of usage of this HA gel mask was less than 10 times. Judging from its ingredient list, it aimed to soothe and calm skin especially all the ingredients seemed to treat sensitive skin, ideally for skin after sunburn or surgery. For normal skin condition, I was greatly disappointed of its hydrating effect, thus low rating here.

.

Rating:… )))      So-so. Will not buy again.

.

Ingredients:

Aqua, Glycerin, Glycosyl Trehalose, Hydrogenated Starch Hydrolysate, Butylene Glycol, Sodium Hyaluronate, Hyaluronic Acid, Carbomer, Triethanolamine, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Mannitol, Sodium Citrate, Acetyl Tetrapeptide-15, Laminaria Japonica Extract, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Paeonia Suffruticosa Root Extract, Tilia Cordata Flower Extract, Arnica Montana Flower, Athaea Officinalis Root Extract, Allantoin, Disodium EDTA, Chlorphenesin, Methylisothiazolinone.


February 2012
S M T W T F S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
26272829  

My apology

Hi, many things have been keeping my mind and time occupied these days, thus I need more time to response to all comments. Please bear with me, thank you.

:::::::::::::::: Mood :::::::::::::::

My Skin Profile

Sensitive, combination skin type, visible blood vessels, freckles, easily dehydrated, dry and having fine line undereye, occasional breakout, visible aging pores.

Archives

Categories

If your comment does not appear immediately, that means it is awaiting moderation.
BT will approve it as soon as she accesses to this blog. Thank you ~ (" v)

Blog Stats

  • 1,963,507 hits

Copyright notice

Copyright © 2008-2013 Beautyknot