Beautyknot ~ My Skin Care Diary

The History of Whoo Gongjinhyang (2011 formula) In Yang Balancer and Lotion

Posted on: January 25, 2012

In Yang Balancer (KRW55000/150ml) and  In Yang lotion (KRW70000/110ml)

 .

Yellow-packaging Gongjinhyang is the basic line of Whoo, knowing as a secret royal court formula for empresses. Gongjinhyang (拱辰亨) – Containing “Ginjinbidan” and “Wild ginseng Cordyces sinensis”, through the oriental principle of Yin-Yang harmony, it helps keeping skin balanced, increasing water and diminishing fire to enhance moisture within the skin, giving skin a new radiance and smoothness. 

 .


These trial kits were given with every $100 Whoo purchase at Korea duty free shop last year summer.

 .

I have two sets of the In-Yang Balancer and Lotion (6ml each), as I never tried the old formula so I could not do any comparison here. According to those who are familiar with this brand (click here and here), the renewed version contains newly added ingredients Aloe Vera and Metasequoia Glyptostroboides extracts that aim to enhance the effect of the old version.

 .

 

.

The In-Yang balancer has runny consistency but not completely watery. As you can see from the above pictures, it has hint of gel feature that can be easily sensed upon smoothing on skin, it is non-sticky and is easily absorbed by skin. Frankly… the most visible function of this balancer is to prepare my nose and mind for the strong fragrance.

 .

 .

The In-Yang lotion on the other hand is very moisturizing, it is more moisturizing than the whitening lotion of Seol (Whoo’s whitening line) and Sulwhasoo Balancing Emulsion. I think the In-Yang lotion is too rich for oilier skin. Using both In-Yang balancer and In-Yang lotion already provide sufficient moisture for combination to normal skin in tropical climate. Oilier skin definitely needs less amount for each application where drier skin need extra moisturizing cream on top. Imagine the first sample set lasted about 3 weeks trial in humid season while the second set only lasted for a week when weather is less humid. Talking about the skin care effect, it has kept my skin soft and moisturized, I think my skin looked glowing in the morning eventhough I did not sleep enough, but the skin texture and fine lines had not seen improved.

 .

 .

As Gongjinhyang is using oriental herbs as main ingredients, I actually expect it has herbal scent. However it gives me a feeling as though I apply an elegant light perfume to my skin that sometimes made me feel dizzy (FYI, I have sensitive nose). It is a pleasant rosy kind of scent and it does lingering for long while, if you love the scent then you would enjoy it but I personally much preferring natural herbal scent of Sulwhasoo basic line.

.

.

2 Responses to "The History of Whoo Gongjinhyang (2011 formula) In Yang Balancer and Lotion"

Great review! Reviews like yours, with photos showing the texture of the products, really inspire me to do better! 🙂

I am the same way as you. I prefer Sulwhasoo’s scent – I find a lot of the Korean products very heavily perfumed. The only scent I like is Sulwhasoo – everything else gives me a headache.

Thanks Joseibi,

I’m currently using Sulwhasoo firming cream, guess what? I’m still looking forward to using it everyday. The right scent really matters. (” v)

Leave a Reply

January 2012
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

My apology

Hi, many things have been keeping my mind and time occupied these days, thus I need more time to response to all comments. Please bear with me, thank you.

:::::::::::::::: Mood :::::::::::::::

My Skin Profile

Sensitive, combination skin type, visible blood vessels, freckles, easily dehydrated, dry and having fine line undereye, occasional breakout, visible aging pores.

Archives

Categories

If your comment does not appear immediately, that means it is awaiting moderation.
BT will approve it as soon as she accesses to this blog. Thank you ~ (" v)

Blog Stats

  • 1,776,406 hits

Copyright notice

Copyright © 2008-2013 Beautyknot
