Beautyknot ~ My Skin Care Diary

Missha Misa (美思) Geum Seul (金雪) Series

Posted on: December 18, 2011


Image credit : Missha Korea

.

Missha is a very popular budget cosmetics brand in Korea, their main targeted market is basically teenager and young adult. In past few years they started creating their premium oriental herbal Misa (美思) series for more mature group of woman. The  Misa Geum Seul series is Colorants-free, Paraben-free, Triclosan-free, Mineral oil-free, GMO-free and Dermatologist tested.

.

.

Misa (美思) series is containing more than 80 selected medicinal herbs from Dongeuibogam (东医宝鉴,a standard of Korean medicine). The main ingredients of this Geum Seul (金雪) Series included 100% ginseng water, wild ginseng, deer antler, cordyceps, reishi mushroom and other plant extracts to nourish and vitalize skin, together with precious 99.9% pure gold for skin purification and balancing. It aims for wrinkle care and whitening, suitable for woman in 30s and above.

.

Sequence of use : First essence booster -> Toner -> Essence -> Emulsion -> Cream

.

This was the complimentary gift of my small Missha purchase but my Korea buyer helped me to get more free gifts since I am her big customer I guess. I do not have their English ingredient list because I was using a trial set. Missha Korea has listed their product full ingredient lists (Korean) on the web, a very long list that I was unable to translate it correctly into English. I used this series for about 3 weeks and the weather during the period was roughly 20-33°C, humidity 40-60%, cool breeze, warm & dry weather.

.

The temperature during the trial period

.

.

.

.

Misa Geum Sul First Care Essence Booster (KRW48000/100ml)

.

Korea probably is the first country to introduce essence/serum as the first-step of skin care after cleansing. The concept is similar to using skin enhancer in Japan skincare and botanic face oil in western natural skincare regimen. This First care essence booster aims to soften the skin and restore skin balance after cleansing, hence increase the penetration of subsequent products.

.

.

Enriched with 100% ginseng water, 5% wild ginseng extract, 5000㎍ pure gold/100ml and other plant extracts, it said to awaken tired skin and re-hydrated the dry skin with nutritious ginseng water. The lightweight gel-like essence was very hydrating and quenched the taut skin instantly without leaving sticky residue. The small gold flakes also dissolved easily on massaging. It was nice to use and I quite liked this.

.

larger piece of gold flakes sometimes can be overlooked, needs extra finger massage to dissolve it.

.

.

Misa Geum Sul Toner (KRW32000/145ml)

.

Geum Seul toner has 100% ginseng water, 240㎍/145ml pure gold and 1% wild ginseng extract. The running liquid was a little bit gel-like feeling, absorbed into skin rapidly and feeling very hydrating. Besides, the toner has some tiny shinning particles which I think they were gold powders. As all product of Geum Seul contained pure gold, thus skin will look glowing after the application. Apparently the hydrating effect was alike to the First Care Essence Booster, when my skin was oilier and acne-prone especially the T-zone, I could just apply the booster and this toner only.

.

.

.

Misa Geum Sul Rejuvenating Essence (KRW38000/40ml)

.

This essence contained 4400㎍/40ml pure gold and 15% wild ginseng extract, you can see it was the most concentrated amid the Geum Seul line. However, I really do not favor rich and creamy essence, it seemed to be as rich as my eye cream. In humid season, I used it mostly on my neck since my combination-normal skin has already loaded enough the essence booster, toner and emulsion/cream. I had tried using the whole line together but my forehead was broke out like crazy in just few days. Nevertheless the whole line worked very well on my drier skin so I think it was best for dry skin. Except the booster and this essence has more floral scent, the rest of the products were herbal ginseng scented.

.

.

.

Misa Geum Sul Emulsion (KRW32000/100ml)

.

The emulsion was very moisturizing and creamy. It included 100% ginseng water, 170㎍/100ml pure gold and 1% wild ginseng extract. You may notice the toner and emulsion were less concentrated because they have more water content than other. This emulsion sometimes caused me clog pores that I would be careful with the use amount. When weather is more humid, I found it was difficult absorbed by skin together with the booster and toner. What I did is using cotton pad for application which really allowed the layers settled in skin quickly! Unfortunately the friction irritated my skin eventhough I had tried with different texture of cotton pads/ball, prompted me to give up the method after trying for two days. I think it was suitable for combination to normal skin type.

.


.

.

Misa Geum Sul Rejuvenating Cream (KRW35000/50ml)

.

This has 100% ginseng water, 1650㎍/50ml pure gold and 10% wild ginseng extract, said to create radiant glowing complexion and boost the skin elasticity. It was butter-like and being very creamy, I would either use this with the First care essence booster or the Geum Seul Toner only. Unlike some people using the dotting application method, I personally loved to warm and rub a rich cream in palms then massaged the skin in upward and lifting motion, starting from neck then proceed to face, forehead is last (from driest area to oiliest area). I could see my two neck lines were faded slightly in just first week! I must credited the result to the anti-gravity massage technique and rich texture of the cream, perhaps the ingredients also contribute to the improvement? Nonetheless, this was truly for dry skin only, else it caused comedogenic problem.

.

.

.

.

..

.

I never fond of using gold in skin care but I must say this Misa Geum Seul series is comfortable to use for drier skin condition, I did not suffer any skin irritation from using the line too. My skin texture appeared smoother with tighten pores, moist and firm, and bare skin always glow healthily which I believed the great moisturizing factor played the main role of the improvement. On the other hand, I did not see my fine line faded and skin tone was not a shade lightened either, the emollient texture did give me some blackheads when skin is on oilier stage too. Overall it was still a nice surprise in 3-week trial. To be frankly I do not expect anything from this budget brand but Missha seemed to be serious in developing elegant quality skin care line with relatively affordable price, though it was overpriced outside Korea. I would be very happy to recommend this to my mum in her 60s.

.

2 Responses to "Missha Misa (美思) Geum Seul (金雪) Series"

Nice review, but please please, can you translate the last picture (about the massage), I’ve been trying this set and I really want to understand it. And I agree with you , this set sometimes gave me blackheads. Thanks

Hi Liz, sorry…I cannot understand Korean either. But judging from the picture, I believe it is applicable to finger massage follow the arrow direction 🙂

Leave a Reply

December 2011
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

My apology

Hi, many things have been keeping my mind and time occupied these days, thus I need more time to response to all comments. Please bear with me, thank you.

:::::::::::::::: Mood :::::::::::::::

My Skin Profile

Sensitive, combination skin type, visible blood vessels, freckles, easily dehydrated, dry and having fine line undereye, occasional breakout, visible aging pores.

Archives

Categories

If your comment does not appear immediately, that means it is awaiting moderation.
BT will approve it as soon as she accesses to this blog. Thank you ~ (" v)

Blog Stats

  • 1,776,401 hits

Copyright notice

Copyright © 2008-2013 Beautyknot
