Beautyknot ~ My Skin Care Diary

Sukin Facial Scrub

Posted on: November 2, 2011

.

I was looking for a natural facial scrub and this Australia skincare comes to my mind. Sukin is a natural and affordable skincare that I don’t mind to try more of their product. I got this free with their Eye Serum purchase, so basically I have no idea how much it costs but it should be around AUD10/125ml in Australia.

 .

.

According to Sukin, the facial scrub contains bamboo extract and ground walnut shells exfoliate dirt and impurities that can dull the appearance of skin then aloe vera, rosehip oil and German chamomile work to soothe and relax.

 .

Application: Apply a small amount to fingertips. In a circular motion, massage into face and neck. Rinse well with warm water.

.

.

This is actually my first natural facial scrub, unlike many 2-in-1 facial scrubs that acting both cleanser and exfoliator, it has creamy base and doesn’t foam up. Normally I use it on cleansed and damp skin, it does leave a sheer moisture film on skin after rinsed off with warm water, keeping skin non-drying and soft. I think this is nice for dry skin but grown up as a tropical baby, I still prefer squeaky fresh skin especially when the weather is very muggy.

.

 .

Depending on my skin condition, sometimes I found the scrub particles are too coarse and sharp for my non-irritated facial skin, sometimes it worked just fine. In both circumstances, I should thanks to the creamy base for facilitating the scrubbing, it is at least much gentle than Kiehls’s micro-dermabrasion (The tube lasts about 1.5 years…!). However, I will continue search for more gentle and effective alternative.

.

 .

 .

In term of result, although skin is smoother after exfoliating but it just works decently as normal drugstore facial scrub such as L’Oreal, Olay, Biore…etc. Besides Sukin facial scrub has pleasant natural scent, I think it might be slightly gentle than those drugstore scrubs because it is non-foaming and moisturizing. I also used this as body scrub (^ ᴥ ^) and I found the effectiveness is really so-so, it seemed to be too mild to slough away my abundant dead skin cells in hot & humid season.

 .

It is recommended 1~2 usages a week and use within 6 months after opened the seal. Well, this is why I also used it as body scrub because I can’t finish the product within the timeline, since it is given complimentary so I wouldn’t feel pain by using it generously.

 .

Rating: ….)))       Satisfied. Will not buy again.

 .

Ingredients:

Aqua, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Sesamum Indicum (Sesame) Seed Oil, Cetearyl Alcohol (and) Ceteareth-20, Bambusa Arundinacea Powder (Bamboo), Juglans Regia (Walnut) Shell Powder, Glycerin, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Rosa Canina Fruit Oil (Rose Hip), Chamomilla Recutita  (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Arctium Lappa Extract (Burdock), Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Phenoxyethanol, Benzyl Alcohol, Citrus Tangerina (Tangerine) Peel Oil, Citrus Nobilis (Mandarin Orange)  Peel Oil, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Vanilla Planifolia Extract, Linalool,* Limonene.* 

* Natural component of essential oils. 

 .

8 Responses to "Sukin Facial Scrub"

I have sensitive skin that is easily irritated by facial scrubs. What I realised works better is to ‘go a level up’. I use non-grainy, sometimes chemical scrub for my face and slightly grainy facial scrubs for my body. This way, I am gentler to my skin and gets less irritated, especially areas with acne.

Hi espenine,
Thanks for your sharing (“v). Unfortunately most chemical exfoliating irritated my sensitive skin from my past experience such as AHA or BHA or certain chemical sunscreen ingredients, they normally make my skin tingling within few days. I do have more luck with physical exfoliator or probably will give Kiehl’s Overnight biological peel a second try.

Wow how did you get this product in Thailand? I live in Australia but I’ve never tried this brand before.

Hi arbutinkitteh,
Sukin is also available at Watson’s pharmacy in Malaysia and Singapore, I bought the set when I visited my sister in MY this year. It is no harm to try if you are into natural skincare, they can be found at major pharmacy or health & beauty store in Australia. (“v)

hello there

i have sensitive skin too & what i love is scrubbing my face with honey & brown sugar or honey & oatmeal. oatmeal is supposed to sooth sensitive skin unless you’re allergic to oatmeal :D. you can rub that on your lips as well. cheap & effective

Hi Serena,

Thanks for sharing your tips here. I had tried oatmeal, which was fantastic. I used it to scrub my face and body, the skin was very smooth and moist indeed. I should do more DIY in my skincare routine (” v)

I bought this scrub a few weeks ago and I quite like it 🙂 how often should I use it as I am trying to clear up my old acne scars?

HI savvymuffinxo,

Normally scrubbing 2-3 times a week for oily healthy skin, 1-2 times for dry/sensitive skin . If you are using peeling skin care, then usage should be less frequent. (“v)

Leave a Reply

November 2011
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

My apology

Hi, many things have been keeping my mind and time occupied these days, thus I need more time to response to all comments. Please bear with me, thank you.

:::::::::::::::: Mood :::::::::::::::

My Skin Profile

Sensitive, combination skin type, visible blood vessels, freckles, easily dehydrated, dry and having fine line undereye, occasional breakout, visible aging pores.

Archives

Categories

If your comment does not appear immediately, that means it is awaiting moderation.
BT will approve it as soon as she accesses to this blog. Thank you ~ (" v)

Blog Stats

  • 1,782,953 hits

Copyright notice

Copyright © 2008-2013 Beautyknot
