Beautyknot ~ My Skin Care Diary

Neogence C+ Intensive Spot-Whitening Essence Ampoules

Posted on: October 6, 2011

With 15% high concentrated pure Vitamin C, I actually had no much doubt whether it helped brightening or not, instead, I rather interested in how much it helped to brighten and wondering how much my sensitive skin can tolerate the low pH.

According to Neogence Taiwan, this ampoule has 4 selling points. 1) 15% Vitamin C (L-Ascorbic Acid) powder which sourced from Holland DSM Nutritional  2) Special designed ampoule packaging 3) BioBenefity®with Cynara Scolymus for dark spot treatment 4) Hyaluronic Acid (Sodium Hyaluronate) to enhance skin moisture and ingredients penetration.

The Vitamin C powder and the essence are stored separately and will only be mixed together after you press the pump tightly on the very first application, the Vitamin C powder then slowly dissolved in the watery essence. Most Vitamin C ampoule I’ve seen adopt this kind of packaging, it probably the best way to prolong the potency of Vitamin C to date.

Direction:

Apply 1-2 drops of the ampoules onto perfectly toning face, gently smooth over face and neck. Use 2 days and rest 1 day, then keep using 3 days and rest 1 day again in a week. Suitable for day and night use. For best result, please use with UV protection and hydrating product in daily care. If irritation occurs, discontinue use immediately.

(Left) New and unopened, (Right) Mixing the powder and essence

(Left) New and unopened, (Right) After the powder fully dissolved in the essence

 

When I bought the ampoules, the Vitamin C powder (as pointed by orange arrow in the below picture) already appeared pale yellowish, it turned darker shade unevenly after some time despite the packaging remaining sealed. I only exposed the ampoules to sunlight few minutes during photo shooting and always stored the ampoules (unopened) in bathroom closet until I realized the steam of warm shower could affect the stability of Vitamin C as it was very sensitive to surrounding temperature. The best storage is refrigerator that my second bottle of ampoule kept its colour after few months in refrigerator.

The essence has no noticeable scent and it is feeling watery that easily absorbed in skin. For blog picture sake, I tested the very first pump of the ampoule on the back of my hand, the thin and dry skin of my hand felt slightly stingy and quite uncomfortable but no immediate irritation had been noticed when applied the essence to facial skin. That was exactly the same experience as Neogence C+ whitening serum. It stung the erupted-pimple too, but tolerable.

However, my sensitive skin started getting irritating after using the ampoule after a week. I used 2 pumps for each application (face & neck), day and night, particularly focused on the pigmented spots. I also followed the product direction : use 3 days >> rest 1 day >> use 2 days >> rest 1 day. The brightening effect was appreciable but my sensitive skin becoming redness-prone and feeling a little bit uncomfortable at the end of the first week. When I began using it on second week (as well as third week and forth week), it stung my skin instantly. The second bottle stung my skin also despite my skin had rest about 3 weeks before I used it again. For your info, I had toned my skin with Neogence HA Lotion but the stinging sensation was still very irritating, fortunately a HA essence or moisturizer was able to ease the irritation quickly. Besides, it didn’t work for acne scar too. From my past experience with pure Vitamin C and retinol, I found retinol is much effective to lighten acne scar.

On the positive side, my freckles were visibly lightened to certain extent in few days! Besides, I certainly noticed my bare skin seemed more glowing. Do mind, the brightening effect was temporary, that said the pigmentation would become darker again after unprotected sun exposure. Additionally, the brightening result reached its peak after using it a while.

Frankly said, I felt uncomfortable with the yellowish of the Vitamin C powder although Neogence said it has 90% activeness on brightening even the colour became slight yellowish and has approximately 40% activeness when the pure vitamin C became brown colour. Because it stung my facial skin, I actually used it generously on body, I think it did help to lighten the body skin a little bit.

In summary, this certainly not a treatment for daily maintenance, it should be treated like periodical treatment for healthy “thick” skin. While I always thought higher concentration gives stronger and better result, I realized high concentration might be another culprit for developing skin sensitivity. This Neogence C+ Essence Ampoules is the highest concentration of pure Vitamin C essence that I had ever tried but I didn’t get the best result. Most likely, 10% pure Vitamin C delivered “fast” brightening result as good as 15% concentration one. I purchased this ampoule from Sasa Malaysia for RM145/8ml x2, a price to get a lesson. Rated it satisfied because it worked after all, not suitable for sensitive skin tough.

Rating : …. )))       Satisfied. Will not buy again.

Ingredients:

Aqua, L-Ascorbic Acid (15%), Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, Cynara Scolymus Leaf Extract, Sodium Citrate, Citric Acid, Methylparaben, Allantoin, Xanthan Gum, PEG-11 Methyl Ether Dimethicone, Sodium Hyaluronate, Disodium EDTA, Methylisothiazolinone, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate.

Leave a Reply

October 2011
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

My apology

Hi, many things have been keeping my mind and time occupied these days, thus I need more time to response to all comments. Please bear with me, thank you.

:::::::::::::::: Mood :::::::::::::::

My Skin Profile

Sensitive, combination skin type, visible blood vessels, freckles, easily dehydrated, dry and having fine line undereye, occasional breakout, visible aging pores.

Archives

Categories

If your comment does not appear immediately, that means it is awaiting moderation.
BT will approve it as soon as she accesses to this blog. Thank you ~ (" v)

Blog Stats

  • 1,800,341 hits

Copyright notice

Copyright © 2008-2013 Beautyknot
