Beautyknot ~ My Skin Care Diary

Neogence Hyaluronic Acid Essence (2010 version)

Posted on: September 9, 2011

.

I recently replenished 4 bottles of this essence because it went out of stock when I wanted to purchase it on my last trip to Malaysia. To my disappointment, I never knew the formula had been revamped because the packaging and ingredient list are remained exactly same for both old and new versions, until I opened the essence and started using it for skin then only I realized it felt so different from my previous Neogence HA essence experience!

.

.

Compared to the previous version I bought and reviewed here (which I believe is 2009 version), the current latest version at the time of writing is 2010 Sept version. In the beginning I wasn’t sure why the essence consistency and result were dissimilar with my previous experience, hence I wrote to Neogence and Dr.Hung replied me that this Hyaluronic Acid Essence actually had been revamped 4 times (2008, 2009, 2010) since the essence first released. The newer version contains smaller molecule Hyaluronic acid.

.

The main reason I decided to write a new review of this essence (2010 version) instead of put an update remark at the bottom of previous review is because they are two different essences for me. I felt bad if I did not make it clear.

.

…*-*… Comparison of 2009 version and 2010 version …*–*…

.

.

● Consistency ●

.

I immediately felt the consistency of 2010 version was more watery. When I took the blog picture in my previous review of 2009 version, I remembered vividly the essence was not runny on skin. This new version is watery and very runny on skin, you get the idea in above picture.

.

.

● Application ●

.

As the newer version is watery, thus it is easier to absorb into skin compared to older version. This essence still has kind of  light slippery gel texture when massaging onto skin but it absorbed by skin fairly quick and did not require extra massage liked what I did to the older version. The newer version also leaves non-sensible sticky touch after application, in fact it seemed to be fully sipped into skin without leaving a trace. The following is comparison of Neogence HA essence (2010) and Juju Aquamoist HA essence (new packaging).

.

Neogence HA essence VS JUJU's HA essence

Do you think any difference here?

.

● Result ●

.

I had used up a full size 20ml of the 2010 version before I shared my thought here. Apparently I felt the hydrating power of this new version was weaker than the older version because it did not smooth out my expression lines under eyes instantly as the older version.  For optimal result, skin MUST be dampened by toner/lotion first and then sealed with moisturizer after applying this HA essence. Unlike previous version which was very versatile that can be used at anywhere anytime. Eventhough I applied generous amount on bare skin, it simply failed to hydrate the skin for more than 15 minutes for my combination, slightly dehydrated skin in normal room temperature in tropical climate!  (My skin felt tight and dry lines shown again in 15 minutes) In addition, it did not heal the minor flaky nose either.

.

Despite it lacks of line-filling ability, it still gives me bouncy soft skin when using together with toner and moisturizer  (I used it with Neogence HA series or REN face oil) but less pronounced compared with the older version. I was not totally convinced by the instant result unfortunately, eventhough Neogence claimed the latest version can hold the moisture up to 12 hours.

.

pill up a little bit when applied a light BB cream after applying the HA essence

.

I understand the molecule of Hyaluronic Acid for skin care can be varied (Please note I’m not talking those used for plastics surgery), technically the larger the molecule the better it holds the moisture, imagine a larger sponge can hold more water. On the other hand, the smaller molecule can be absorbed by skin more easily and helps to retain moisture in the skin instead of trapping on upper skin only. As such, theoretically smaller molecule is actually more effective to improve dehydrated skin in gradual manner. Normally a good formulated hydrating product will include both small and large molecular humectants.

.

Comparison of HA and oil

.

I knew skin care is not only a superficial job because our skin aged from skin deep but still, I don’t think I will re-purchase this HA essence again because it is no longer giving what I expected — act as line-filler. I bought it because  I thought it  is still the same formula liked the one I used previously, which  is excellent for instant fix in emergency circumstances, particularly for the expression lines under eyes in day time  (I used Retinol eye care at night).

.

.

This newer watery version (2010) only lasts me around a month where the older version (2009) can last for approximate two months due to its thicker consistency, hence more pricey per ml for newer version although the normal retail price is still remaining RM89/20ml. In summary, the revamp is suitable for oilier skin type in tropical climate and make it more compatible with other skin care product, hence it is ideal as a hydration booster instead of  instant line-filler that I expected.

.

Rating:  ….)))     Satisfied. Will not buy again.

 .

Ingredients:

Aqua, Sodium Hyaluronate, Hyaluronic Acid, Allantoin, Chlorphenesin, Methylisothiazolinone.

.

Leave a Reply

September 2011
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

My apology

Hi, many things have been keeping my mind and time occupied these days, thus I need more time to response to all comments. Please bear with me, thank you.

:::::::::::::::: Mood :::::::::::::::

My Skin Profile

Sensitive, combination skin type, visible blood vessels, freckles, easily dehydrated, dry and having fine line undereye, occasional breakout, visible aging pores.

Archives

Categories

If your comment does not appear immediately, that means it is awaiting moderation.
BT will approve it as soon as she accesses to this blog. Thank you ~ (" v)

Blog Stats

  • 1,795,734 hits

Copyright notice

Copyright © 2008-2013 Beautyknot
