Beautyknot ~ My Skin Care Diary

HABA VC Lotion, Squa Balancing Gel, White Lady & Point Repair II

Posted on: July 28, 2011

I have some Haba samples from my last Haba purchase. It is still a delightful customer experience of receiving samples but somehow I am lacking interest in trying them after received those samples. The transformation of the emotion state is not only happened to used-to-try Haba product but in fact, I am lacking “motivation” to try all new products too. Despite I still purchase new product from time to time, I think I am quite satisfied with my existing found-and-loved beauty products and remained in the “stable-mode” instead of frequent changing product.

.

Tuning back to my samples review channel. I had good experience with Haba product especially their products always being gentle for sensitive skin. In the past, they did not “wow” me by extraordinary skin care result but they were something feeling safe and please to use. There is why I felt compelling to write a brief review of them here.

.

HABA VC Lotion (S$37/60ml, S$66/120ml, S$120/240ml)

VC lotion is hydrating toner with 2% Vitamin C derivative (Sodium Ascorbyl Phosphate) for pigmentation care.  It has  very faint yellowish colour. I had tried the old version and the new “Pure Roots” VC lotion is also feeling gentle and hydrating for my combination-normal skin in high humidity climate. It hydrated the skin quickly and left skin moist and smooth touching once the lotion had completely dried on skin. Although it is fragrance-free but it has kind of smell which not what I liked, particularly I had been enjoying so much of aromatherapy of face oil lately. If the smell is not an issue then I would have no complaint of this watery lotion.

.

Ingredients:

Water, Butylene Glycol, Glycerin, Sodium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Pentylene Glycol, Betaine, Malitol, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Averrhoa Carambola Leaf Extract, Angelica Acutiloba Root Extract, Aesculus Hippocastanum (Horse Chestnut) Extract, Glycosphingolipids, Oryza Sativa Bran (Rice Bran) Extract, Magnesium Aspartate, Sea Salt, Sodium Riboflavin Phosphate, Sodium Carboxymethyl Dextran, Citric Acid, Sodium Citrate, Lysolecithin.

.

HABA Squa Balancing Gel (S$38/30g)

According to HABA, this is gel type moisturizer/Squalane for oily and normal skin types. It aids to maintain balance of skin moisture and oil, regulate sebum secretion and melanin production with Rose apple leaf extract, restore the stratum corneum (outermost layer of the epidermis) and fortifies skin barrier function with Gold Seaweed Extract.

This is easily absorbed and left a light weight smooth veil on skin. I tried this when I was suffering breakout (several small red bumps) on my forehead from a BB cream, it did not contribute extra acne for my non-acne prone skin but it did not help the acne recovery either. I could not justify whether it worked for skin balancing because I had two samples that enough for two applications only. Furthermore, with this Squa balancing gel alone my oily T-zone was still shined and greasy after several hours spent in warm room temperature but on the other hand, it is an effective hydrating base under makeup in low humidity environment for combination skin type.

.

Ingredients:

Water, Cyclomethicone, Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, Betaine, Stearoyl Inulin, Pentylene Glycol, Squalane, Sodium Chloride, Laminaria Ochroleuca (Gold Seaweed) Extract, Syzygium Jambos (Rose Apple) Leaf Extract, Tocopherol, Capric/Caprylic Triglyceride, Citric Acid, Hydroxyethylcellulose, PEG/PPG-19/19 Dimethicone.

.

HABA White Lady (S$29/10ml, S$78/30ml, S$120/53ml)

This is medicated whitening serum, contains 8% mineral enriched Sasa Kurilensis Water and 6% water soluble vitamin C derivative. I used to try the 30ml full size serum many years ago and I remembered vaguely it was something hydrating, non-irritating and my skin tone looked more evenly after used the serum for few months.

Each Haba White Lady sample (2.5ml) is enough for 3~4 applications, as the watery serum is very hydrating for my combination skin in tropical climate, hence I did not need much. It has identical smell with the VC lotion, yeast or bamboo sort of odour if you know what I mean. The odour lingered for long time and I personally did not find it pleasant actually. By the way, the odour reminded me of Clinique C10 Anti-aging Clarity Formula.

The slight viscid serum drenched the skin nicely despite it left slight sticky touch on skin. Using both VC lotion and White Lady were sufficient for spending overnight in mildly air-conditioned room, my combination skin felt moisture and supple in next morning. For whitening effect, I certainly unable to comment on it  in such a short testing period,  particularly I did not have dullness issue lately.  It generally has positive reviews online and it has been Haba’s star product for many years, hence you know it is not something useless for sure.

.

Ingredients

L-Ascorbic Acid Sodium Phosphate*, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizin*, Purified Water, Sasa Kurilensis Water, Glycerin, 1.2-Pentanediol, 2 – Butyl Methacrylate Copolymer Fluid Methacryloyloxyethyl Phosphorylcholine, Sodium Hyaluronate (1), Citric Acid
* The Active Ingredient

.

HABA Point Repair II (S$75/16g)

 

This is medicated Retinol treatment for eye and wrinkle. Cherry leaf extract helps to alleviate irritation, 13% Squalane to moisturize skin and yeast extract has effects to improve skin elasticity and promote cell proliferation.

Each sample contains 2ml that enough for 6~7 applications (only used for specified area). The treatment has emulsion/milky lotion type of consistency, non-greasy and absorbed in short while. I must say it excited me that it smoothed the fine lines immediately! We know there is no skin care product can “permanently” improve the biologically degraded skin but a product which delivers instant result is somehow addictive. I noticed my expression lines under eye were shown again after applying drying milky sunscreen, however the lines disappeared instantly once I re-applied this treatment onto the area, it has good moisturizing effect indeed. I also applied this on nasolabial lines and the area seemed plumped up quite a bit. The long-lasting moisture is fantastic, lovely. Recommend to use for non acne prone skin/area only.

I think this emollient treatment is comparable with Shiseido Revital WrinkleliftAA, not to say Haba Point Repair II costs half of the Shiseido’s price. In fact, this is on my wish list, hopefully it will has better value than Shiseido’s.

.

Ingredients:

Stearyl Glycyrrhetinate*, Vitamin A oil, Vitamin E, Squalane, Sodium Hyaluronate (2), Sodium Chondroitin Sulfate, Cerasus Pseudocerasus (Cherry) Leaf Extract, Hydrolyzed Silk Protein, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Yeast Extract (1), Phytosteryl Oleate, Phytosteryl Macadamiate, Behenyl Alcohol, 1,2-Pentanediol, Glycerin, 1,3 Butanediol, Carboxyvinyl Polymer, Potassium Hydroxide, Dimethicone, Purified Water.

* The Active Ingredient

Leave a Reply

July 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

My apology

Hi, many things have been keeping my mind and time occupied these days, thus I need more time to response to all comments. Please bear with me, thank you.

:::::::::::::::: Mood :::::::::::::::

My Skin Profile

Sensitive, combination skin type, visible blood vessels, freckles, easily dehydrated, dry and having fine line undereye, occasional breakout, visible aging pores.

Archives

Categories

If your comment does not appear immediately, that means it is awaiting moderation.
BT will approve it as soon as she accesses to this blog. Thank you ~ (" v)

Blog Stats

  • 1,789,380 hits

Copyright notice

Copyright © 2008-2013 Beautyknot
