Beautyknot ~ My Skin Care Diary

HABA Squalane Shampoo & Conditioner (With Platinum) Lavender

Posted on: April 8, 2011

 

Unlike how I was treating my facial care, I normally spend less for drugstore budget shampoo and conditioner, and I would just stick to the product until it didn’t work for me anymore. HABA Squalane Shampoo and Conditioner (both natural and Lavender) are retailing S$42/500ml or S$38 for 480ml refill in Singapore, they are relatively pricey and I have no idea what is the benefit of including platinum powder, may be adding more shine to hair? I have some samples with purchase and here is my brief review.

 

 

The shampoo has clear gel consistency and foams up quickly, as I have long hair, thus one sample pack (10ml) only enough for one application. Guess what happen, I totally love the mild aroma of the shampoo. The scent is quite different with the scent of pure Lavender essential oil that I am familiar with, it smelt relaxingly and seemed to have mixing notes of other essential oils.

 

 

The Squalane conditioner has lighter gel-cream texture compared to normal drugstore conditioner. Again, one sample pack (10 ml) was merely sufficient for my long hair, perhaps I need a little bit more to cover from root to tail because the lightweight texture seemed very unlikely to contribute oily scalp. Need not to repeat, I love my hair is being feathery soft while rinsing off the conditioner. Besides, both shampoo and conditioner have mild minty feel on scalp.

 

Using both shampoo and conditioner, my “naked” hair remained soft after spending overnight in air-conditioned room. I didn’t use any hair oil/treatment nor styled my hair, only normal combing.

 

Using both items together, I have only three words in my mind, LIGHT, SOFT and AIRY. Love touching the hair and that feeling just reminded me of stroking fluffy fur of noble cat. Only thing is that the airy effect is considering quite frizzy for my frizzy-prone wavy hair, although no tangled hair and it’s still very soft touching. Later I tried using them separately and did not applying any hair oil afterwards, more drying hair with the Squalane shampoo, soft and slightly frizzy hair with Squalane conditioner.

 

 

My SO had tried the shampoo as well and he commented it was drying (but soft! Weird.). For me, hair care is alike facial care, even though I use a very moisturizing facial cleanser, I can’t expect my easily dehydrated skin remains moisture all day long without applying moisturizer. Same for my dry hair, although the shampoo and conditioner were doing well to keep my hair being soft and easily manageable, I need hair oil to combat the frizzy appearance still.

 

Interestingly, the great effect started wearing off when I continued using them, they just weren’t as impressive as the first application. In fact, this actually happen to most hair products that I have used. I am not sure if anyone of you having the same issue with me but I certainly curious how does it compared with natural & organic hair care in long term.

 

Ingredients (Squalane Shampoo lavender):

Water, Potassium Soap Base, Glycerin, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Cocamide DEA, Potassium Cocoyl Glycinate, Platinum Powder, Squalane, Hydrolyzed Conchiolin Protein, Sericin, Lavender (Lavendula Angustifolia) Oil, Butylene Glycol, Pentylene Glycol, Citric Acid, Polyquaternium-7, Polyquaternium-10, Hydroxypropyl Methylcellulose, Sodium Polyacrylate, Phenoxyethanol.

Ingredients (Squalane Conditioner lavender):

Water, Squalane, Glycerin, Behenyl Alcohol, Dimethicone, Behenamidopropyl Dimethylamine, Butylene Glycol, Platinum Powder, Hydrolyzed Sesme Protein PG-Propyl, Hydrolyzed Conchiolin Protein, Sericin ,Glutamic Acid, Lavender (Lavendula Angustifolia) Oil, Pentylene Glycol, Sodium Polyacrylate, Polyquaternium-10, Phenoxyethanol.

 

4 Responses to "HABA Squalane Shampoo & Conditioner (With Platinum) Lavender"

Whoa, you have thick and lustrous hair.. 🙂

Thanks Nellz. The camera flash and perhaps the platinum powder contributes more shine in the picture. (“V)

I have always had 3 sets of shampoos and conditioners sitting in my shower at any given moment, just because my hair would get used to one product and it seems to lose its effects after awhile too!

My experience with many of the organic/natural/SLS free shampoos is like yours, great at first and then not so great after. There is no accumulative effect either. At least the HABA conditioner is light – I hate it when some of those natural brands use plant starch to thicken the conditioner and it’s just guck sitting on your hair (and scalp).

I generally like HABA, but not sure if I would spend that much on a shampoo though!

Very nice hair by the way! 🙂

Thanks Joseibi.
So I’m not alone here. (“v) Eventhough I’m using relatively pricey natural hair care but I would still keep a budget series in my bathroom. I read some articles online that our hair is actually dead tissue, thus premium or budget will do the same job. I’m more concern about the hair scalp, which is live tissue that grows our hair. For this reason, I think a natural and well formulated hair care is worth to invest. “v

Leave a Reply

April 2011
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

My apology

Hi, many things have been keeping my mind and time occupied these days, thus I need more time to response to all comments. Please bear with me, thank you.

:::::::::::::::: Mood :::::::::::::::

My Skin Profile

Sensitive, combination skin type, visible blood vessels, freckles, easily dehydrated, dry and having fine line undereye, occasional breakout, visible aging pores.

Archives

Categories

If your comment does not appear immediately, that means it is awaiting moderation.
BT will approve it as soon as she accesses to this blog. Thank you ~ (" v)

Blog Stats

  • 1,761,047 hits

Copyright notice

Copyright © 2008-2013 Beautyknot
