Beautyknot ~ My Skin Care Diary

Maybelline EyeStudio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner (02 Brown)

Posted on: March 30, 2011

After trying few pencil eyeliners for few years, I think it was right time to upgrade my makeup skill. Maybelline EyeStudio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner received quite a number of raves from several beauty bloggers, as I personally had tried some good products of drugstore line that under prestige brand (Maybelline is owned by L’Oreal), I have no doubt this will be worthy purchase.

 

It comes with a brush

 

The creamy gel texture goes on smoothly and non-drying.  Amateur like me, I got to layer few times for intense line. The brush bristle is medium-hard, although I do not feel comfortable when filling the gap of my lashes but I believe the hardness of bristle is helpful for even application.  

 

 

I got myself brown colour. Thankfully, the brown colour is dark enough. I was indecisive initially, hence I asked the sales assistant either black or brown is looking more natural? And she replied me promptly, brown. I just grabbed the brown then. I should thank her anyway.  

 

 

It says no crease. I say yes. The creamy texture enabled smooth drawing but I did not draw a full line in one time, and my hand is not shaken. I am not sure about how makeup veteran does, however I believe drawing a fine line need to be carefully done.  

 

It says smudge proof. I do not agree totally. This long-wearing eyeliner would still smudge a little bit for oily eyelids, in very humid climate. I particularly dislike it stained my bottom eyes in mid day of tropical humid weather. It is smudge-free in dry weather or in air-conditioned dry air.

 

It says, fine or thick line, dries quickly after application. I agree. In normal circumstance, it dries in few minutes that still allow you to do corrective action in case any mistake occurred. And Yes, it is fine for drawing thick line, not really for thin line.

 

It says resists sweat, tears and water. I say except sebum/oil. As I mentioned, that depends on skin type (less stay put power for oily skin), incident (when eye is flushing with tears, tissue blotting might impart some friction impact and the line is not smudge proof) and climate (humid or dry). I will explain more in below testing Pictures A, B and C.

 

From the below testing pictures, eyeliner really sharpen your eye or, style your eye shape as you want, especially for dramatic effect. I can only show you the basic one here because I am still a newbie to makeup.  

 
 

Click picture to enlarge

1. Bare and without makeup at all 

2. With Maybelline eyeliner applied

3. With Maybelline eyeliner and mascara on

 

Here are my simple testing pictures for its lasting power. Nevertheless, I have to elaborate further about the water-resistant feature about the Picture B. The eyeliner indeed is water-resistant if you applied directly on “dry” skin (I tested another time to ensure the point). For your info, I had applied body lotion many hours ago (skin had coated with moisturizing lotion), therefore that could be the reason why the eyeliner was not exactly water-resistant in Picture B. The lower part of the line in Picture B was the effort I rubbed harder with water, practically I do not think we would be so rude to our eye, that certainly painful. As a conclusion, this is water-resistant but can be rub off vigorously with water.

 

On the other hand, oil indeed is useful to remove this eyeliner as shown in Picture B & C but when comes to practical, I still found some dirty trace caught around eye brim after cleansing. That means, I cannot cleanse this properly without help of cotton buds. I guess eye makeup remover should cleanse better.

 

 

Click picture to enlarge

A. Draw two lines on skin

B.  I rubbed dampen cotton bud to first line and another bud with oil for second line. The eyeliner was easily removed by oil but I did spend extra effort to remove it with water.

C.  I tried my best to remove them to see if it easily removed. No problem by using oil but it still left a less visible stain on skin by using water.

 

Overall this is quite good for me but I have a big issue. I have encountered irritated eyes several times because the dry flake of the eyeliner got into my eye which is very painful. Frankly, I have not figured out the actual reason yet, it could be my uneven application in between the gaps of lashes. For that painful and harmful experience, I only use gel eyeliner occasionally, pencil eyeliner is much safer for my casual makeup.

 

I purchased this for RM32.20/2.8g during 20% off, its normal retail price is RM39.90 in Malaysia. At the time of writing, this is the best reviewed drugstore gel eyeliner that I know, most importantly, it is widely accessible in many countries.

 

Rating: …)))      Good. May buy again.

 

Ingredient:

Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Cyclopentasiloxane, Isododecane, Cyclohexasiloxane, Ceresin, Caprylyl Methicone, Talc, Synthetic Fluorphl Ogopite, Silica Silylate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Calcium Aliminuim Borosilicate, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Propylene Carbonate, Silica, Butylparaben, BHT, Tin Oxide, Aloe Barbadensis Extract/Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, [+/- May contain CI77492, CI77491, CI77499/Iron Oxides, CI77007/Ultramarines, Mica, CI 77891/Titanium Dioxide, Ci 42090/ Blue 1 Lake, CI77288/Chromium Oxide Greens, CI77289/Chromium Hydroxide Green].

 

7 Responses to "Maybelline EyeStudio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner (02 Brown)"

I am completely useless at applying eyeliner but bought this anyway (in black and brown). The texture is quite smooth but I couldn’t really draw properly. Gave away to my sister since she’s a lot more savvy 🙂 I still find pencil liners easier to use and they seem to be a little more long-lasting too, especially those Japanese ones.

Hi lyn,
Practice makes perfect. (@.<) But this is also individual preference. ("v) I would go for gel liner for intense eye makeup since it is more pigmented, where pencil eyeliner for me, is easier, faster, error-proof and looks great too.

No doubt Japanese makes quality makeup, most eyeliners are marketed water-proof, I just wish those eyeliners can be slightly more sebum resistant as our chances of getting wet are very less for casual wear. ("v)

You have a naturally lovely pair of eyes and it is beautifully enhanced with the eyeliner and mascara!

Thank you Nina. What a sweet compliment for me. (“v)

Dear beautyknot,

I have this in black and I loved it!

A good trick I learned to keep anything (I mean anything – eyeliner, mascara, etc.) from smudging on or under your eyes is to powder a thin layer of loose powder on your eyelids and right below the lower lashlines. This will prevent your eye cream/gel or natural oil from your eyes from causing any eye makeup to smudge. I had been frustrated with smudging eyeliners and mascaras for years before I discovered this trick! 😛 It works everytime now and even eyeliners that smudge on me before stay put all day. Same goes for mascaras that I previously had problems with smudging – they stay put! 🙂

Great tips! Thanks Joseibi.

I understand that using powder will prevent smudging but I was pondering how to do it without causing dryness. Thanks to enlighten me, using it only on lower lashlines solved the problem. I couldn’t hold my excitement so must give you a KISS! KISS
xoxo

[…] What is the correct way to remove mascara/eyeliner?How to remove powder eyeliner from carpet?Maybelline EyeStudio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner (02 Brown)Maybelline EyeStudio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner (02 Brown) // ajaxurl = […]

Leave a Reply

March 2011
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

My apology

Hi, many things have been keeping my mind and time occupied these days, thus I need more time to response to all comments. Please bear with me, thank you.

:::::::::::::::: Mood :::::::::::::::

My Skin Profile

Sensitive, combination skin type, visible blood vessels, freckles, easily dehydrated, dry and having fine line undereye, occasional breakout, visible aging pores.

Archives

Categories

If your comment does not appear immediately, that means it is awaiting moderation.
BT will approve it as soon as she accesses to this blog. Thank you ~ (" v)

Blog Stats

  • 1,754,840 hits

Copyright notice

Copyright © 2008-2013 Beautyknot
