Beautyknot ~ My Skin Care Diary

Shiseido White Lucent Intensive Spot Targerting Serum (2010 Formula)

Posted on: January 31, 2011

Shiseido has several whitening lines that included Tranexamic Acid as their main ingredients in Asia like Revital, WhiteLucent, Elixir and Haku2. Although each line targets different skin concerns but comparing to western or pharmaceutical brand, western/pharmaceutical brand normally has an independent brightening line only, for example, all brightening product under Clinique are called Derma White, you will not see Repairwear brightening or Turnaround brightening etc. I think western/pharmaceutical cosmetic companies treat brightening as a special treatment while Japanese see brightening/whitening as part of their daily skin care.

 

 

This 9ml sample is part of my GWP several months ago, it is pretty expensive since it costs S$159 or RM400/30ml. As the title called, it targets dark spots such as sun and age spots, acne marks and darkened pores to even out skin tone for perfectly radiant skin. According to Shiseido, it included 4MSK* and m-Tranexamic Acid help to diminish dark spots and prevent their formation, together with Multi-Target Vitamin C and natural Yomogi extract.

So, I am “lucky” to have freckles and mild melasma to share my experience about this exquisite Shiseido White Lucent Intensive Spot Targerting Serum. For use, apply it after skin softener/toner and before moisturizer.

 

 

The serum has hydrating gel consistency, dispensing desired amount on palm then apply to skin. For normal-dry skin, the oil-free light gel almost absorbed into skin instantly upon light massage, leaving skin smell florally. Ya, it has strong fragrance. On the other hand, it feels rather moisturizing and leaves skin a little bit sticky for combination-normal skin. However if you have easily dehydrated sensitive skin like me, you would not find it hydrating enough.

 

 

Because it has nice consistency, I was quite happy to apply this day and night on my forehead and sometimes applied for whole face. Why forehead only? Because I got a healed hormonal breakout on forehead and I wanted to see how it improved the acne mark. Did it work for acne mark then?

 

 

After using this serum for a month plus, the acne mark did fade off gradually. It did not disappear completely but hardly to be noticed. I will not say this was impressive but it was somewhat helpful just as other whitening serum. Besides, it did nothing much for my deep-rooted freckles and my broken capillaries were also looked quite obvious during the usage, like many whitening serum experiences in the past.

 

 

Generally I have no breakout with this but for the steep price, I do not think it stand out from other whitening/brightening serum, really, I can get a much cheaper whitening serum for similar effect.

 

Ingredients:

Water (Aqua), SD-Alcohol 40B (Alcohol Denat.), Glycerin, PEG-15, Tranexamic Acid, Cetyl Ehthylhexanoate, PEG/PPG 14/7 Dimethyl Ether, Potassium Methoxysalicylate, Dimethicone, Isostearate Acid, Phenoxyethanol, Carbomer, Lauryl Betaine, Potassium Hydroxide, Xanthan Gum, Butylene Glycol, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, 2-0-Ethyl Ascorbic Acid, Fragrance (Parfum), Disodium EDTA, Tocopheryl Acetate, Glucosyl Hesperidin, Polyquaternium-51, Sodium Metabisulfite, Limonene, Sodium Hyaluronate, Benzyl Benzoate, Serine, Artemisia Princeps Leaf Extract, Sodium Benzoate.

 

4 Responses to "Shiseido White Lucent Intensive Spot Targerting Serum (2010 Formula)"

Hi!
Thanks for the review on this serum (: I am interested in this as I have old acne scars that I’d like to lighten. How would you compare this to Kanebo Blanchir Superior Whitening Conclusion? Or is there any whitening serum that you prefer over these two? Thank you in advance! (:

Hello kat,
Although this Shiseido serum worked for my new acne scar but I can’t vouch it will work the same on old acne mark. In fact, both exfoliation (product that included AHA or BHA or any ingredient with exfoliating nature or physical exfoliation) and whitening serum have synergy effect to scar lightening because skin renewal will be stimulated and melanins will be dispersed quicker. I had tried Kiehl’s for old acne mark, you can read the review and see the pictures here.

Since I never tried Kanebo Blanchir Superior Whitening Conclusion on acne mark, so frankly I couldn’t compare them. Literally, according to the products descriptions, Kanebo’s is meant for dark spot prevention and this Shiseido’s is meant for treating dark spot, as such I think this Shiseido serum should work better than Kanebo one for acne mark.

Currently I am using a whitening serum from Neogence and I quite like its simple ingredient list (Vitamin C and Hyaluronic acid). I think Dr.Cilabo Photo-White-C Laser Plus is also a good try, the review had been scheduled at this month end though. (“v)

From my experience having used White Lucent, I find The History of Whoo’s Seol line works a lot better and faster! I saw results even just using the toner and moisturizer. It’s not cheap but many people (from my blog) reported the same rapid great results. 🙂

Ya, I read your reviews of The History of Whoo and other prestigious Korea brands, and I was really impressed! I did some surveys online for the brand but most of them are overpriced. The best deals I could find are Sasa and Gmarket. Sasa never responsed my inquiry (sasa policy does mention they will list down the actual price on delivery note, so custom may be an issue) and I have no experience with Gmarket, so not sure if they are genuine dealer. According to some comments online, the best place to shop Whoo is Korea Incheon duty free, haha, may be make a transit in Incheon with Korean air? Anyway, I already KIV the brand. (“v)

Leave a Reply

January 2011
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

My apology

Hi, many things have been keeping my mind and time occupied these days, thus I need more time to response to all comments. Please bear with me, thank you.

:::::::::::::::: Mood :::::::::::::::

My Skin Profile

Sensitive, combination skin type, visible blood vessels, freckles, easily dehydrated, dry and having fine line undereye, occasional breakout, visible aging pores.

Archives

Categories

If your comment does not appear immediately, that means it is awaiting moderation.
BT will approve it as soon as she accesses to this blog. Thank you ~ (" v)

Blog Stats

  • 1,789,380 hits

Copyright notice

Copyright © 2008-2013 Beautyknot
