Beautyknot ~ My Skin Care Diary

Extra Light Olive Oil

Posted on: December 22, 2010

I first learnt about benefits of using oil for cleansing from a beauty book that written by a Taiwan ingredient guru. By using carrier oil as an emollient base for massage, soften and moisturize the skin, meantime drawing out impurities and unclogging the pore, plus dissolving waterproof makeup effectively. I have been doing this almost everyday with kitchen grape seed oil for more than a year.

As I was staying in other countries in next several months, I got problem to bring along 500ml glass bottle cooking oil together, hence I bought a new one in local supermarket whenever I stayed in the countries. As grape seed oil is not assessable as olive oil so I decided to take Extra Light Olive Oil as replacement.

Comparing to normal Olive Oil, Extra Light Olive Oil (ELOO) is “Extra Light” in term of consistency and flavor, the nutrition value and fat content are no different. I had bad experience with thick-textured olive oil for skin care, whereas ELOO has much lighter consistency but still thicker than grape seed oil.

Following the same routine: massage for 2~5 minutes, tissue blotting and then cleanse with a same facial cleanser, I still can tell there is a sheen film left on skin. In fact, that is perfect for easily dehydrated skin. Grape seed oil seemed to absorb sebum too well that my skin could still feel tightness after cleansing in less humid weather, this ELOO is capable to keep my combination skin balanced, no tightness or dry lines after cleansing. Interestingly, I found surfactant-based cleanser (eg: Kracie Purenavi Cleansing Gel) cleanses the oily residue/film much better than soap-based cleanser (eg: Utena Charcoal Facial Scrub).

Neither ELOO nor Grape seed oil broke me out, they just helped my skin being bouncy soft and less blackhead hassle. For now, I actually use commercial makeup remover to wash my hands (after applying water-resistant makeup/sunscreen) and to cleanse my makeup puff/sponge only.

~~++:: Cleansing Test ::++~~

 

Shimmering lipstick, shimmering lip gloss, water-resistant foundation to form a Gangster bunny

 

Applying a teaspoon ELOO onto the makeup

 

Massaging the ELOO, the makeup dissolved easily

 

Wiping the residue with tissue (for face, just blotting, don’t wipe, then follow by facial cleanser). There are still minimum shimmering particles leftover, so second-cleansing with facial wash is required.

I am happy to find a healthy, natural, effective and cost friendly way for everyday skin care. Great to learn ELOO is excellent in dry weather and grape seed oil is suitable in humid weather. In addition, ELOO is a good oil for high heat cooking due to its high smoking point (468°For 242°C) and its very light flavor.

 

 

3 Responses to "Extra Light Olive Oil"

[…] glittering residue too. In addition, it also has no problem to remove greasy residue after my kitchen oil massage but need a little bit extra amount for stronger […]

I believe extra light olive oil is the bomb!

Leave a Reply

December 2010
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

My apology

Hi, many things have been keeping my mind and time occupied these days, thus I need more time to response to all comments. Please bear with me, thank you.

:::::::::::::::: Mood :::::::::::::::

My Skin Profile

Sensitive, combination skin type, visible blood vessels, freckles, easily dehydrated, dry and having fine line undereye, occasional breakout, visible aging pores.

Archives

Categories

If your comment does not appear immediately, that means it is awaiting moderation.
BT will approve it as soon as she accesses to this blog. Thank you ~ (" v)

Blog Stats

  • 1,800,341 hits

Copyright notice

Copyright © 2008-2013 Beautyknot
