Beautyknot ~ My Skin Care Diary

Clinique SuperBalanced Foundation (27 Alabaster)

Posted on: November 10, 2010

“The smart makeup, a liquid foundation with adjustable, oil-free coverage provides moisture and absorbs oil when and where needed”, says Clinique.

I visited Clinique beauty counter last month and received a free foundation sample in a Clinique event, the Clinique sales assistant recommended  SuperBalanced Foundation (2007 formula) for my combination skin. I just wish I can test their 2010 autumn release – SuperMoisture Cream Compact, unfortunately their do not have sample for compact foundation.

 

 

The consistency of SuperBalanced is creamy and moisturizing, the liquid foundation melts on skin easily and TRACELESS, so it creates very natural dewy finish like no makeup on regardless how many layers you applying on. My shade is #27 Alabaster, a slightly pinkish tone and the coverage is sheer and buildable to medium-high. While Clinique claims it “balances combination skin, Long wearing, best for oily-combination and oily skin types“, I have totally two extreme outcomes when tested it in different situation.

For your reference, I was based in Indonesia at the time I was sampling this, so you can imagine the weather there was very humid and my skin tends to be oilier. At comfortable room temperature, wearing a decent amount of SuperBalanced foundation after sunblock, my combination skin shined again in less than half of an hour, majority of the sheer-medium coverage wore off after tissue blotting. If I apply the foundation thinly, I found no difference without wearing it, it simply did nothing for makeup in this case.

When I sat near to air conditioner for long hours that the conditioned air was blowing toward me, meanwhile I wore this SuperBalanced foundation heavily (few layers) after applying sunblock, it gave medium coverage and kept my easily dehydrated skin balanced and shine-free for whole day. In this case, this is really lovely.

–~~ Testing ~~–

Left: With Clinique SuperBalanced;  Right: Bare skin

 

I had eczema flare up on the back of my hand for very first time and it had been recovered,  but several marks were still visible, you can judge the coverage of Clinique SuperBalanced from the pictures.

~~– Testing –~~

 

This is fine when using it correctly, not my favorite especially the shade is too pinkish for my liking but I love the Clinique free-sample event, a good opportunity test it for at least a week before splurging. As my skin is quite stable in humid weather so I have no chance to tell whether it is comfortable wearing for sensitized skin. 

Ingredients:

Cyclomethicone, Water (Aqua Purificata) Purified, Butylene Glycol, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Dimethicone Copolyol, Isotetracosane, Dimethicone, Sodium C8-16 Isoalkylsuccinyl Lactoglobulin Sulfonate, Matricaria (Chamomilla Recutita) Extract, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Isostearyl Neopentanoate, Cetyl Dimethicone Copolyol, Hexyl Laurate, Lecithin, Tocopheryl Linoleate, Laureth-7, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Acrylates Copolymer, Quaternium-18 Hectorite, Propylene Carbonate, C9-15 Fluoroalcohol Phosphates, Silica, Sodium Chloride, Polyethylene, Disodium EDTA, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, [May contain +/- Mica, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499)]

 

Leave a Reply

November 2010
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

My apology

Hi, many things have been keeping my mind and time occupied these days, thus I need more time to response to all comments. Please bear with me, thank you.

:::::::::::::::: Mood :::::::::::::::

My Skin Profile

Sensitive, combination skin type, visible blood vessels, freckles, easily dehydrated, dry and having fine line undereye, occasional breakout, visible aging pores.

Archives

Categories

If your comment does not appear immediately, that means it is awaiting moderation.
BT will approve it as soon as she accesses to this blog. Thank you ~ (" v)

Blog Stats

  • 1,795,734 hits

Copyright notice

Copyright © 2008-2013 Beautyknot
