Beautyknot ~ My Skin Care Diary

Kiehl’s Over-Night Biological Peel

Posted on: October 12, 2010

 

What Kiehl’s says about this: A simple formulation with hydrating Sodium Hyaluronate and “Enzyme Activator” – Urea and HEPES (Hydroxyethylpiperazine Ethane Sulfonic Acid). Clinically-Dermatologist (based on dermatologist-controlled study) to facilitate the natural exfoliation process and expose noticeably smoother, more even and vibrant skin by morning. Kiehl’s clinical test results demonstrated that this formula performs as well as a potent, leave-on 10% Glycolic Acid chemical peel.

 

Direction for use: Cleanse skin thoroughly prior to application. Apply treatment at night, avoiding immediate eye area, and allow to dry on skin. Leave on overnight and remove with warm water in the morning. May be used three times per week, or more as needed.

 

I had couple of samples with 5ml each, one sample was enough for three applications. As I have sensitive skin, I decided to test it in humid weather that my combination skin rarely has dehydration issue and normally well-behaved. I used it every Monday, Wednesday and Friday for two weeks in different month.

 

 

I did apply hydrating lotion or mineral spray before using this. This oil-free, gluey gel texture felt very moisturizing as though I was applying gel mask. The shiny gel film that left on skin was fairly sticky and greasy, even after five hours, fortunately it does not has to be used on daily basis, else it could be comedogenic due to the heavy gel film. On the other hand, I thought that was something good for the skin moisture to survive overnight in air-conditioning.

 

When I applied this in evening, normally the gel film had been fully dried on skin in next morning (I sleep in air-conditioned room). When I applied it before bedtime, skin would be feeling a little sticky still in next morning. Instead of washing the gel film with warm water, I was proceeded to my usual cleansing routine (grape seed oil massage & foaming facial wash).

 

 

I am not certain if it really worked. Sometimes I saw my complexion was glowing in a nice way the next morning, sometimes the skin appeared a little bit red, which I would use powder foundation or BB cream to neutralize the mild redness. Sometimes I did not see any difference compared to using other moisturizer. Furthermore, the skin texture was not smooth touching at the end of the week, slightly rough that urged me for scrubbing (I performed scrubbing on Sat). No irritation had been noticed. For your reference, I had halted other form of exfoliation prior to testing this product.

 

I think it worked. I noticed my pores appeared smaller (not everytime though), to be frankly I rather believe the retained skin moisture attributed to the refined skin texture because my skin was being lovely supple and resilience. In short, this formula did help to improve skin moisture. Besides, it helped to lighten and disperse an old acne mark to great extend within a month, together with Kiehls Vitamin C that I used in morning.

 

An old acne mark on 14th Jul 2010. Picture was taken under fluorescent light.

 

After using Kiehl’s Over-Night Biological Peel and Powerful Strength Line-Reducing Concentrate for a week. Picture was taken on 7th Aug 2010 with sunlight.

 

Despite I am not acne-prone, the greasy gel film could worsen any active acne. It caused 1~2 small oil zits on the oily zone whenever I used it. I also noticed some blackheads but not a big issue for me. This is not something that can replace usual exfoliation, physical/chemical exfoliation and deep cleansing mask were still necessary for clean and smooth skin.

 

It retails for THB2600/50ml in Thailand, it is expensive for a mild peeling product. Nevertheless, I think this is a gentler alternative for AHA or BHA intolerant skin. Otherwise, a physical scrub would possibly be doing the good job as well.

 

Ingredients:

Aqua/Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Urea, Hydroxyethylpiperazine Ethane Sulfonic Acid, Glycerin, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Propylene Glycol, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, BIS-PEG/PPG-14/14 Dimethicone, Triethanolamine, Phenoxyethanol, Sodium Chloride, Sodium Hyaluronate, Sodium PCA, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Ethylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Butylparaben.

 

 

2 Responses to "Kiehl’s Over-Night Biological Peel"

if you want people to read your blog, do a scientific test. apply it to one side of your face only. that is science. people will be interested. without a “control” in an “experiment” it is not an experiment and it is not science, it is advertising/

good luck

Hi t,
First and foremost, thanks for your comment and I never said I want to do scientific test in my blog.

In fact, I had mentioned in both My Profile and Product Review Index that I am only sharing my personal skin care experience, definitely not from the view from a scientist. NO company has ever sponsored nor paid me to blog, I blog purely based on my passion and own budget.

Although I did perform “half face test” occasionally for certain product but that pretty depends on my free time and mood. In my experience, eventhough I performed “half face test”, the difference was quite hard to distinguish with my inexperineced eye. Therefore, for me, a scientific test of beauty product is trustworthy ONLY IF the testing is done with proper measurement by system/device on reasonable group size of people under controlled conditions and based on science concept, like how scientists test a drug. Those company ads have shown “half-face improvement”, to be frankly I seriously doubt if they are genuine (except for makeup).

Leave a Reply

October 2010
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

My apology

Hi, many things have been keeping my mind and time occupied these days, thus I need more time to response to all comments. Please bear with me, thank you.

:::::::::::::::: Mood :::::::::::::::

My Skin Profile

Sensitive, combination skin type, visible blood vessels, freckles, easily dehydrated, dry and having fine line undereye, occasional breakout, visible aging pores.

Archives

Categories

If your comment does not appear immediately, that means it is awaiting moderation.
BT will approve it as soon as she accesses to this blog. Thank you ~ (" v)

Blog Stats

  • 1,768,569 hits

Copyright notice

Copyright © 2008-2013 Beautyknot
