Beautyknot ~ My Skin Care Diary

Kiehl’s Epidermal Re-Texturizing Micro-Dermabrasion

Posted on: September 22, 2010

 

According to Kiehl’s, this Epidermal Re-Texturizing treatment is an advanced formulation that has a highly effective abrading quality on skin’s surface. The formula affords an immediate skin-smoothing effect and with regular use, helps to visibly minimize discolorations and small marks on face, hands, and décolleté. Over time, the look of facial lines is reduced and skin texture is significantly smoother and clearer, while the appearance of pore size is diminished. As skin is re-texturized, the formula helps to facilitate the absorption of topical skin treatments. There are two skin-sloughing main ingredients: Micronized Shells (“Diatomaceous Earth” in scientifically, a skin-polishing silica) and Micro-dermabrasion Crystals (an ingredient used by dermatologist to perform micro-dermabrasion procedures). Besides, a blend of Willow Herb and nurturing sea algaenates further helps to soothe skin.

 

Directions: Dispense a nickel-sized amount of the product into the palm of the hand. Ultilizing fingertips, gently apply to clean, damp skin in an upward and outward circular motion (it never foamed up), avoiding the eye area. Continue treatment for approximately 30 seconds but no more than two minutes, to achieve desired effect. Rinse with cool water and gently pat dry.

 

 

As per Kiehl’s, you may increase pressure slightly to enhance treatment results (I do that on thicker skin area). Some redness is expected as skin is re-texturized (When it had been done properly, the redness is only temporary, normally less than few hours). Do not use on irritated or damaged skin (I suggest not to use if you have unhealed acne/bumps, it might irritate and cause more acne/bumps). It can be used for body areas such as hands, elbows, back and décolleté (It could be coarse for thinner skin such as  hand). Avoid excessive sun exposure after micro-dermabraision and protect the skin with sunscreen of SPF15 or greater (I suggest mineral sunscreen). Do not use more than three times per week (You should judge this based on your own skin type and condition).

 

 

I have tried to capture the small gritty particles in the below picture and I hope you get the idea of them. No kidding, it made me think of sand paper. I have no problem to increase slightly pressure on T-zone but the more delicate U-zone felt relatively intolerable to the gritty scrubbing, I could only sweeping the gritty particles extra gently on the U-zone for 1~2 times. However, when environment humidity is fairly high during rainy season, my sensitive could tolerate the scrubbing more, both T-zone and U-zone.

 

 

After using it more than five months, I would say my skin is immediate smoother right after the treatment, provided the skin is rough and is at healthy & stable stage. In other words, it tends to irritate “weak” skin (such as inflamed skin, after being in the sun,  poor-resistant skin due to not enough rest or climate factor…etc) instead of exfoliate. Did the smoother skin make any difference compared to normal facial scrub? YES!! Please let me explain further.

 

I had a tiring trip and I had not done any kind of exfoliation for about two weeks, the skin was slightly rough to touch especially on oily T-zone. Before I returned home, I spent three days at my sister house and I was eager to exfoliate my skin. I tried my sister’s Biore scrub trice but never satisfied, it made my skin texture nothing different in my view. As soon as I reached home, I used this at-home-dermabrasion and this “polisher” surprised me with a remarkably smooth-touching skin, plus a refined skin texture. That was amazing that my aging pores could look slightly smaller through an effective exfoliation.

 

 

Meantime, I only use it approximately every 10 days instead of using every week like common practice. 10-day is my own calculation that ideally minimizes the risk of getting skin sensitivity. I admit the skin might become rather rough at the end of the week, but the time frame allows my sensitive skin builds up thicker to avoid any regretful irritation. If I think the skin is not “thick” enough to perform the micro-dermabrasion, I would go for gentler Kiehl’s Papaya Enzyme Scrub.  So far the routine works great for my skin.

 

At this moment, I love this more than any other scrub, though it is coarser but it also more effective. Do not expect it can rid off those stubborn blackheads, I was still relying on manual squeezing to remove stubborn blackheads. Additionally, it did not cause flaky skin or dryness, a big bonus point. The 75ml is long-lasting too, I do not think I need more than one tube in a year. This is retailing at THB2300/75ml in Thailand, I bought it oversea with much more cheaper price.

 

Rating: ….)))    Excellent. Willing to buy again.

 

Ingredients:

Aqua/Water, Alumina, Paraffinum Liquidum/Mineral Oil, Glycerin, Dimethicone, Butyrospermum Parkii/Shea Butter, PEG-100 Stearate, Stearyl Alcohol, Glyceryl Stearate, Solum Diatomeae/Diatomaceous Earth, Ammonium Polyacryloyldimethyl Taurate, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Butylparaben, Epilobium Angustifolium/Epilobium Angustifolium Extract, Disodium EDTA, Hydrolyzed Algin.

 

Leave a Reply

September 2010
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

My apology

Hi, many things have been keeping my mind and time occupied these days, thus I need more time to response to all comments. Please bear with me, thank you.

:::::::::::::::: Mood :::::::::::::::

My Skin Profile

Sensitive, combination skin type, visible blood vessels, freckles, easily dehydrated, dry and having fine line undereye, occasional breakout, visible aging pores.

Archives

Categories

If your comment does not appear immediately, that means it is awaiting moderation.
BT will approve it as soon as she accesses to this blog. Thank you ~ (" v)

Blog Stats

  • 1,761,047 hits

Copyright notice

Copyright © 2008-2013 Beautyknot
