Beautyknot ~ My Skin Care Diary

Jergens Soothing Aloe Relief

Posted on: September 8, 2010

 

 

Ever since puberty, I think I never failed to apply body lotion every single day. May be you will be surprise that I’m pretty loyal to Johnson&Johnson body lotions in past 20 years. Until I found J&J body lotion was too lightweight for my dry skin in air-conditioning in recent years, Jergens came into my daily regimen.

 

 

My favorite body lotion from J&J is the one enriched with Aloe vera, if not it had been discontinued many years ago, I believe I would still stick with it today. I had flare up of various atopic dermatitis once in a while on body skin since I was a kid, for this reason, soothing is very important in my case. So far this Jergens Soothing Aloe Relief is sufficient for my current skin condition, however I would have to mix it with oil for extra nourishment at lower air humidity.

 

The refreshing cucumber scent is relaxing, I have tried mixing it with Hada Labo essence, rosehip oil, coconut oil etc, the cucumber scent is always able to hide the smell of those oils.

 

Mix with rosehip oil

 

 

It said to help soothe, heal, relieve and refresh dry skin. I yet to have chance to test this on any atopic dermatitis flare-up personally, however, recently my SO has developed a small patch of dry, itchy, “elephant” rough skin, so I tested this on him. I mixed this lotion with pure coconut oil but the lotion mixture stung his skin slightly on applying. On the next day I tried pure coconut oil only to the skin patch, no more tingling and the small area of “elephant” skin improved greatly overnight, healed in few days eventually. Therefore, I afraid this Jergen lotion isn’t perfect for irritated skin condition.

 

I paid a promo price THB328 for the 21 Fl.Oz (621ml) Jergens Soothing Relief, sometimes the price can go even lower during special promotion. It has lasted me about five months usage, generally it’s pleasant to use but still not good enough to earn my loyalty.

 

Rating: ….)))    Good. May buy again.

 

Ingredients:

Water, Glycerin, Cetearyl Alcohol, Cetyl Esters, Ceteareth-20, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract, Eucalyptus Globulus Leaf Extract, Dimethicone, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Glyceryl Dilaurate, Mineral Oil, Stearic Acid, Cetyl Alcohol, Isopropyl Myristate, Propylene Glycol, Carbomer, Sodium Hydroxide, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, DMDM Hydantoin, Fragrance.

 

2 Responses to "Jergens Soothing Aloe Relief"

hmm…i think generally good oils are better than commercial lotions. i apply sweet almond oil on my body during winter, and use camellia oil as a cleansing and moisturizing oil during winter, they are so much better than lotions.

in the spring and summer i use virgin coconut oil as my oil cleanser, economical and good for the skin

Yes erin,
I do agree with you that oil is better than lotion in certain way. I was loving grape seed oil for daily cleansing and mixing all types of pure oil (that I have) with lotion for body & hair care because using oil alone is too greasy for the weather here, I use pure oil on very dry skin (such as hand) and hair only, By the way, my bottle of virgin coconut oil has half gone. (“v)

Leave a Reply

September 2010
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

My apology

Hi, many things have been keeping my mind and time occupied these days, thus I need more time to response to all comments. Please bear with me, thank you.

:::::::::::::::: Mood :::::::::::::::

My Skin Profile

Sensitive, combination skin type, visible blood vessels, freckles, easily dehydrated, dry and having fine line undereye, occasional breakout, visible aging pores.

Archives

Categories

If your comment does not appear immediately, that means it is awaiting moderation.
BT will approve it as soon as she accesses to this blog. Thank you ~ (" v)

Blog Stats

  • 1,754,840 hits

Copyright notice

Copyright © 2008-2013 Beautyknot
