Beautyknot ~ My Skin Care Diary

Eucerin Skin Balancing Toner

Posted on: August 18, 2010

 

Since I had finished my Muji toner, I wanted to try a “better” toner for sensitive skin. The Muji toner is great but considering my aging skin, I prefer something that can more beneficial to skin. This was on 10% sales at THB540/200ml at that time and the ingredient list looked quite hydrating with many humectants such as Sodium Lactate, Sodium PCA, Vitamin B5 and Amino acids. Sodium Lactate is sodium salt of Lactic acid, it’s skin humectant but as it classified as AHA, thus it’s also possibly skin irritant and photo-sensitizer to certain people.

 

 

The content is watery clear and scentless, I prefer using it with cotton pad for toning purpose. Some people treat toner as “second cleansing” (this is capable in doing that by the way) but personally I don’t buy the idea. If my toning cotton pad is showing a dirt trace still, then notably something went wrong in my cleansing routine (makeup removal and facial wash). For me, toning is preparing skin for effective skin care.

 

 

I first started using this in dry season, the drier skin was feeling taut within seconds that I must applied a face oil/serum quickly to ease the tightness, however, that actually accelerated the absorption of following skin care. I mostly used this at night and after one week usage, when the weather was getting slightly more humid, my skin was very well-balanced and this Eucerin Skin Balancing Toner worked really well since then. It was refreshing and hydrating, no more dryness and tightness. In the meantime it still helped the penetration of my following skin care.

 

 

Many toners could deliver similar result, so here I picked two toners that contained plenty humectants for the following home experiment. They both were doing great job in enhancing the skin care penetration in my opinion. The Dr. Ci Labo Photo-White-C Whitening Lotion however, has slightly vicious and moisturizing consistency.

 

Upper circled: Eucerin Skin Balancing

Lower circled:  Dr.Ci Labo Photo-White-C 

Apply the toners on both test patches

You can see Eucerin’s was matted faster

After 2 minutes, both had been fully absorbed into skin

Take a drop of lotion essence on both test patches (circled) and bare skin (uncircled). The lotion essences on Eucerin’s and Dr.Ci Labo’s were immediately sank in.

After 5 minutes – top view

After 5 minutes – side view

 

Conclusion is, toner/lotion is indeed helpful for effective skin care. For this experiment, both toner/lotion were delivered similarly in regard the ellipse-shape of the lotion essences. On the other hand, obviously the drop on bare skin was difficult absorbed into skin that the drop of the lotion essence was rather circular-shape. I have yet to mention the lotion essence that I used was formulated via nano-technology, which supposed to be easier to penetrate into skin.

 

Overall I am happy with Eucerin Skin Balancing Toner, love it more and more throughout the 3 months usage actually. It retails for THB600/200ml in major pharmacies and I will be more than happy to re-purchase it in summer time.

 

Rating: ….)))    Excellent. Willing to buy again.

 

Ingredients:

Aqua, Dipropylene Glycol, PEG-8 Sodium Lactate, Sodium PCA, Panthenol, Alanine, Serine, Glycine, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Trisodium EDTA, Polyquaternium-10, Methylparaben, Polyaminopropyl Biguanide.

 

 

 

2 Responses to "Eucerin Skin Balancing Toner"

Hi,
I see panthenol and castor oil in the ingredients. Is it good for sensitive skin?

Hi Sapphire,

As I know, Panthenol is derivative of Vitamin B5 (Pantothenic Acid) and often regard as skin humactant that can penetrate deep into skin to provide essential moisture, it should be safe for any skin types. Whereas PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil (a wax form of castor oil derivative) is usually surfactant and solubilizing agent in cosmetic (normally under 1%), it could be irritating particularly to injured, burned, inflammed skin conditions but it normally not irritating for healthy skin condition. Just bare in mind, any surfactant is potential skin irritant. I have sensitive skin and I found these two ingredients are fine, some organic skin cares contain hygrogenated castor oil too.

To conclude my view, I cannot 100% assure you they are good for sensitive skin since I am not a professional but I think Panthenol is good for sensitive skin and PEG-60 hydrogenated castor oil is relatively safe compare to other surfactants.

Hope I have answered your question. “v

Leave a Reply

August 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

My apology

Hi, many things have been keeping my mind and time occupied these days, thus I need more time to response to all comments. Please bear with me, thank you.

:::::::::::::::: Mood :::::::::::::::

My Skin Profile

Sensitive, combination skin type, visible blood vessels, freckles, easily dehydrated, dry and having fine line undereye, occasional breakout, visible aging pores.

Archives

Categories

If your comment does not appear immediately, that means it is awaiting moderation.
BT will approve it as soon as she accesses to this blog. Thank you ~ (" v)

Blog Stats

  • 1,782,950 hits

Copyright notice

Copyright © 2008-2013 Beautyknot
