Beautyknot ~ My Skin Care Diary

Uriage SPF50+ Sun Creams

Posted on: July 28, 2010

 

I’ve few samples of Uriage Extreme Cream (chemical sunscreen) and Mineral Cream (mineral sunscreen), both provide SPF50+ and UVA protection, at the same time they are also water-resistant, fragrance-free and paraben-free. According to Uriage, Extreme Cream is an oil-free sunscreen that suitable for sun sensitive skin, whereas Mineral Cream is pure mineral sunscreen with Titanium Dioxide and Zinc Oxide, and it’s ideal for sensitive skin that allergic to chemical filters.

 

SPF50+ Extreme Cream

The moisturizing texture smoothes on easily, imparts slight oily shine for my combination-normal skin. I tried one teaspoon for face and neck, it left no white residue even multi layered, just heavy-feel because I used that much. Best of all, it didn’t cause dryness for my eye area. Although the texture is oil-free, I recommend this to combination to dry skin types as it could be feeling greasy for oily to normal skin types in hot & humid weather.

 

 
 

content of Extreme Cream

It includes Tinosorb M (Methylene Bis-Benzotriazolyl Tetramethylbutylphenol),  Octocrylene, Ethylhexyl Triazone and Avobenzone (Butyl Methoxydibenzoylmethane) as chemical filters. Despite my skin normally suffers negative reaction from chemical sunscreen, I like to give different chemical sunscreens a try to identify which chemical filters/formula that I actually allergic to. 

 
 

Left: bare ; Right: with Uriage Extreme Cream on

I also tried this for a week in different weathers, I’ve to say it was rather comfortable-wearing compared to many other chemical sunscreens that I’ve tried. Still, it caused slight discomfort feeling when the skin exposed to direct sunlight in sunny day or after spending more than 5 hours indoor. I couldn’t describe the discomfort feeling exactly in word but that was something like tiny burning sensation without visible irritation signs. Overall I think this Uriage SPF50+ Extreme Cream is gentler than Vichy’s eventhough I don’t think that is gentle enough for my very sensitive skin. Neverthless, it worked well for my body skin.

 

Ingredients of SPF50+ Extreme Cream:

Aqua (Water), Dicaprylyl Carbonate, Uriage Thermal Spring Water, Methylene Bis-Benzotriazolyl Tetramethylbutylphenol, Octocrylene, Ethylhexyl Triazone, Butyl Methoxydibenzoylmethane, Cyclopentasiloxane, Tricontanyl PVP, Glycerin, Cyclohexasiloxane, Hydrogenated Polydecene, Butylene Glycol, Decyl Glucose, C20-22 Alkyl Phosphate, C20-22 Alcohols, Glucose, Chlorphenesin, Xanthan Gum, Benzoic Acid, Tretasodium EDTA, O-Cymen-5-OL, Tocopherol Acetate, Trehalose, Propylene Glycol, Citric Acid, Sodium Hydroxide, Polyquaternium-51, Ascorbyl Tetraisopalmitate.

 

 

SPF50+ Mineral Cream

This has thicker texture compared to Uriage Extreme Cream, it leaves heavy white residue with slight oily shine. This probably the heaviest mineral sunscreen that I ever used. Good point is, it minimizes the dryness issue of most mineral sunscreen but, leaving skin sticky touch and I won’t say it’s exactly suitable for dry skin because the sunscreen highlighted the under eye-expression-lines, which Uriage SPF50+ Extreme Cream didn’t.

 

 
 

content of Mineral cream

It’s lightly beige-tinted and I’ve to blend it carefully on skin. Use a small pearl-size amount and dot it all over the face, pat gently with fingers and spread it evenly. Sounds like applying a thick cream foundation? Yes it’s. I couldn’t apply this more than one layer, else the white residue would make me look like “Luminous-Geisha-face”. I doubt if I apply enough amount  (2mg/cm2 required amount) to protect against UVs. 

 
 

Left: bare ; Right: with Uriage Mineral Cream on

Furthermore, I had tried to apply a Chanel powder foundation and then blot the excess shine with Lavshuca loose powder again, still I was terrified by my streaky makeup after spending several hours in shopping mall. In other word, it didn’t control oiliness for my combination skin. Overall it’s gentle for sensitive skin, unfortunately the texture isn’t feeling nice in summer.

 

Ingredients of SPF50+ Mineral Cream:

Titanium Dioxide, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Aqua (Water), Uriage Thermal Spring Water, Paraffinum Liquidum (Mineral Oil), Zinc Oxide, Cyclopentasiloxane, Butylene Glycol, Sodium Chloride, Glycerin, Cyclohexasiloxane, Alumina, PEG-30 Dipolyhydroxystearate, Stearic Acid, Hydrogenated Polydecene, PEG-45/Dodecyl Glycol Copolymer, Magnesium Stearate, Stearalkonium Hectorite, Magnesium Sulfate, Glucose, Diphenyl Dimethicone, Propylene Carbonate, Ricinus Communis (Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil), CI77492 (Iron Oxides), Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Citric Acid, Tocopheryl Acetate, Trehalose, CI77491 (Iron Oxides), Ascorbyl Tetraisopalmitate, CI77499 (Iron Oxides).

 

 

 

11 Responses to "Uriage SPF50+ Sun Creams"

i would like your advice on the product. thank you.

Hello Maya Honore,
I didn’t get you. Please specify which product are you referring to (Extreme Creme or Mineral Cream) and in what aspect you would like to have advice? Thanks.

Do the SPF50+ Extreme Cream and

SPF50+ Mineral Cream provide very high UVA protection ? What is thei respective PPD rating ?

Hi George,
I I have no idea of their PPD rating.
From Uriage official website, it only specified they are Very high protection for intolerant and allergic skin. The percentage of active ingredients didn’t list on packaging either.

I need uriage lait extra Fluide peaux sensibles
protection tres haute uva-uvb very high protection spf50+

Sorry Ntsapo, I have problem to understand what you said.

How can I place an order for Uriage spf 50+ extreme sunscreen? Please also advise cost and website I can order from.

Hello Simla Kant,
You can key in “Uriage SPF50+ Sun Creams” or the sunscreen name into any internet search engine box, it could be google, yahoo, bing..etc, then you can select the online seller and their price according to your preference. (” v)

hi,
thanks for your information. i have a question.uriage spf 50 spary (for children, fragrance free,very high protection) is suitable for adults? what’s different between it and the first cream you mentioned? thanks

Hi Zohreh,
Those sunscreens for children is fine to adult too. I never tried the spray but I suppose the spray is mainly for body use and it is more lightweight than cream texture. (“V)

hi
thanks for ur advice i’ve a question about uriage lait is it better for oily skin or the cream ???

Leave a Reply

July 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

My apology

Hi, many things have been keeping my mind and time occupied these days, thus I need more time to response to all comments. Please bear with me, thank you.

:::::::::::::::: Mood :::::::::::::::

My Skin Profile

Sensitive, combination skin type, visible blood vessels, freckles, easily dehydrated, dry and having fine line undereye, occasional breakout, visible aging pores.

Archives

Categories

If your comment does not appear immediately, that means it is awaiting moderation.
BT will approve it as soon as she accesses to this blog. Thank you ~ (" v)

Blog Stats

  • 1,789,380 hits

Copyright notice

Copyright © 2008-2013 Beautyknot
