Beautyknot ~ My Skin Care Diary

L’Occitane Fresh Face Water

Posted on: July 14, 2010

What L’Occitane says about this, “A gentle alcohol-free makeup remover rich in Shea extract and in floral waters that moisturizes upper layers of epidermis and tones skin in one step. Apply morning and evening, alone or in conjunction with a cleansing milk”.

 

 

Makeup remover?!! I was being ignorant enough for using this as toner in the first two months until I started drafting this review. It’s hydrating and refreshing, neither the ingredient list nor the product name looked like a typical makeup remover to me (I’m not an expert). Later I did some online readings and realized it actually contain surfactants as cleansing agent.

 

It said “Cleanses, Hydrates & Tones”. I could see why the toner left the skin slightly tacky (hydrate?) yet it able to remove any oil/makeup residue (cleanse?) and skin felt refreshing (tone?) at the same time.

 

newly sprayed

after several seconds

 

The plastic packaging is fine but the dispenser is not user-friendly. I got to tilt the bulky rectangular bottle everytime and squirt hardly, not to mention the pump stuck when there is still ~20% content remained. Besides, the mist is strong and bubbled! The bubbles would dissipate in short while, so it is not a big problem actually.

 

»» Cleansing Test ««

 

Shimmering lipstick and waterproof mascara

Place the soaked cotton pad on the makeup for a minute

Gently wipe off the makeup several times

Wiping strongly but can’t remove them completely

 

Really, I do not recommend you to use this Fresh Face Water as makeup remover, unless you only wear light makeup like loose powder and non-waterproof-sunscreen. Better treat this as a second-cleansing toner after using cleansing milk. Even so, my skin did not feel exactly soothing by using them (use in conjunction with L’Occitane Ultra Comforting Cleansing Milk) together that I must rinse the skin again with clean water afterward. Moreover, it also was not gentle to use together with sheet mask that I had mentioned the stinging sensation here while many other toners/lotions did not have this issue.

 

 

After all these negative points, it actually worked fine as a second-cleansing toner for healthy skin if you are looking a premium moisturizing cleansing toner. To be honest, if I read the product description carefully in the beginning, I would not purchase it because this is an unnecessary product for me. I mostly used it for mid-day makeup touch-up. It retails for THB1115/200ml in Thailand, I bought it slightly cheaper in Malaysia for RM87.

 

Rating: ….)))     So-so. Will not buy again.

 

Ingredients:

Aqua/Water**, Propylene Glycol, Citrus Aurantium Amara Flower Distillate/Citrus Aurantium Amara (Bitter Orange) Flower Extract**, Centaurea Cyanus Flower Extract**, Pentylene Glycol, Sodium PCA**, Polysorbate 20**, Sodium Chloride**, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter) Extract**, Glycerin**, Parfum/Fragrance, PEG-40 Glyceryl Cocoate**, Sodium Coceth Sulfate**, Chlorphenesin, Methylparaben, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Hexyl Cinnamal, Benzyl Salicylate, Geraniol**.

** Natural Origin Ingredients

 

2 Responses to "L’Occitane Fresh Face Water"

Yes, I totally agree. It didn’t work that well for me either. I was given this product from my friend since I do like other L’Occitane products. I think their basic skin care products are very good, especially moisturizers and masks etc.

Hello obagi,
Too bad… I guess L’Occitane should revamp this product (“b)
I think that happens from every skincare line, not every product from a single brand will suit our skin, I personally prefer their body and hand care. (“v)

Leave a Reply

July 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

My apology

Hi, many things have been keeping my mind and time occupied these days, thus I need more time to response to all comments. Please bear with me, thank you.

:::::::::::::::: Mood :::::::::::::::

My Skin Profile

Sensitive, combination skin type, visible blood vessels, freckles, easily dehydrated, dry and having fine line undereye, occasional breakout, visible aging pores.

Archives

Categories

If your comment does not appear immediately, that means it is awaiting moderation.
BT will approve it as soon as she accesses to this blog. Thank you ~ (" v)

Blog Stats

  • 1,800,341 hits

Copyright notice

Copyright © 2008-2013 Beautyknot
