Beautyknot ~ My Skin Care Diary

Olay Regenerist Micro-sculpting Cream

Posted on: June 16, 2010

 

This has been launched in Asia for quite some time. Because I had a comedogenic issue with Pure Beauty Pomegranate Antioxidant Gel Cream, so I chose to visit drugstore again and hoping to get a good replacement. I finally decided on this, Olay Regenerist Micro-sculpting Cream.

 

 

There are two types of Regenerist creams here, one in red and one in grey. From the image of Olay spokespersons, grey Regenerist night cream targets those above 40, while this red Micro-sculpting cream aims for women in their late 20 to 30s.

 

 

This Micro-sculpting cream (THB975/50g) is the most pricey Olay product in Thailand, many drugstores here are displaying empty boxes on product shelf while they keep the actual products somewhere in the store. Fortunately the drugstore that I visited is selling proper-sealed, never-opened one.  In fact, there is an “anti-thief” sticker had been placed on it, the risk of being stolen already reduced.

 

 

For anyone who concerns about ingredients, it does contain several skin irritants. However, instead of splurging on premium brand and find out later it does not work well for my sensitive skin (Over here in TH, cosmetic return policy is only limited to those never opened and in resellable condition), I wanted to try my luck in less costly mass-market product. I really hope this high-raved Olay cream will not add on my banned-list after many disappointments from L’Oreal, Garnier, Nivea, Pond’s, Neutrogena… in the past.

 

 

It has hint of yellow colour. It feels emollient and greasy on skin in the beginning but then quickly turns into a non-greasy powdery film in minutes; skin appears subtle glowing and I can feel little tightening effect which I rather believe it is a temporary, short-moment effect. The sweet floral scent is fairly strong but it only lingers for short while.

 

 

It did not cause me breakout. It worked very well for lightweight moisturizing in more humid weather, but failed to moisturize sufficiently when the skin became drier or dehydrated; yet to mention my daily routine had included lotion/toner, face oil and serum.

 

 

After using it day and night for a month plus, it is comfortable wearing for my healthy stable skin condition but not when my sensitive skin tends to be unstable. I need a truly gentle moisturizer that can be used at all time, therefore, I decided not to continue and gave it to my sister. I know that is not only wasteful but also very time and cost consuming in searching a new one. Could we have gentler formula please, Olay? I just need to hunt a new moisturizer then (again!).

 

 

Lastly, did it live up to its hype – “better than a $350 cream”? I think the lower cost (comparing to premium brand) is more forgiving. Overall I think this Micro-sculpting cream does keep the skin soft and moist in humid weather, a considerable anti-aging cream for healthy skin. If you have very sensitive skin like me, you might need to think twice.

 

Rating: ….)))    Satisfied. Unlikely to buy again.

 

Ingredients:

Water, Glycerin, Isohexadecane, Niacinamide, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Isopropyl Isostearate, Nylon-12, Dimethicone, Panthenol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Stearyl Alcohol, Polyethylene, Cetyl Alcohol, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Sodium Acrylates Copolymer, Behenyl Alcohol, Benzyl Alcohol, Fragrance, Mica, Allantoin, Carnosine, Ethylparaben, Methylparaben, Dimethiconol, Polyacrylamide, PEG-100 Stearate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Cetearyl Glucoside, Propylparaben, Stearic Acid, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Sodium Hyaluronate, Disodium EDTA, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Citric Acid, C12-13 Pareth-3, Laureth-7, Elastin, Tin Oxide, Propylene Glycol, Sodium Hydroxide, Collagen, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Ammonium Polyacrylate, Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4, CI77891.

 

13 Responses to "Olay Regenerist Micro-sculpting Cream"

I used to be a real fan of Olay, but I think when my awareness of ingredients in beauty products increased, I was a bit disappointed to know Olay products contain a bit of alcohol. But, it is amazing that their regenerist cream beat a top-selling $350 a pot brand (La Mer, anyone?) in some recent comparison study.

I’ve to say, I have never broken out with Olay products, though.

Hi astrorainfall,
Thanks for your comment.

I’ve the same feeling with you. Olay used to be my daily stapler in younger age but now I don’t think my skin is well-tolerate with their improved formula, may be my skin changed over these years.

This Regenerist micro-sculpting cream contains several well-studied and clinically-proven ingredients such as Vitamin B3, B5, Peptides, Green tea… that sounds better than LaMer’s,and the texture is great for most skin types. I’ve no big surprise of the hype but the overall formulation is not gentle enough for very sensitive skin. I prefer Asia brands more and more. “v

hello I am 53 years old .

I want to know the regenerist micro_ sculpting cream is suitable for me or not?

Hi, sure you can try Regenerist micro-sculpting cream if you don’t have very dry skin.

I have two deep wrinkle lines on my neck. I used Regenerist Serum on half the lines (left) and Microsculpting Cream on the other side (right). At the end of 8 hours, the one with Microsculpting Cream shows 80% less pronounced lines whereas the Regenerist Serum side shows the same.

Hi Mia,
I can feel your excitement about Olay Regenerist from your massage, that is great you saw some good effects from using it. Most products that contains humectant with workable formula are capable to deliver the “plump-up” effect, but none of them actually rid the lines off eventually. I guess Regenerist is your daily stapler now, please let me know if it improves the neck lines permanently in the end, I am sure everyone would love to know. Thanks. (“v)

If you have concerns with irritation and needing gentle products, I recommend the Clarins Gentle Day and Gentle Night cream!

Hello jodie,
Thanks for making effort to recommend, only pity both Clarins Gentle Day and Gentle Night cream contain fragrance. (“v)

which one is better for a lady of 45?
olay total effects oor olay regenerist micro sculpting cream?

Hi nishu,
Judging by their ingredients, definitely Olay Regenerist Micro Sculpting Cream is much better for lady of 45. In fact, I would say Olay Total Effect is quite a basic moisturizer for those in 20s to early 30s.

If you have very dry and not acne-prone skin, then Olay Regenerist night cream (in grey packaging) is more suitable since both Olay Regenerist creams have similar ingredients. (“v)

I’m using this range the grey one ‘Olay regenerist Daily Regenerating serum’ coz paula say is good ^__^ it is on my skin. You need to let ur skin gradually get use with this product (i think). I’m seeing results using this..

Glad it worked for you. The new line of Olay White Radiance and Regenerist seemed to have improved texture and quality. I had tried 2 bottles of the old version few years back and it didn’t do much for me. (“v)

Amazing blog! Do you have any tips and hints for aspiring writers?
I’m planning to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost
on everything. Would you recommend starting with a free platform
like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that
I’m completely confused .. Any tips? Bless you!

Leave a Reply

June 2010
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

My apology

Hi, many things have been keeping my mind and time occupied these days, thus I need more time to response to all comments. Please bear with me, thank you.

:::::::::::::::: Mood :::::::::::::::

My Skin Profile

Sensitive, combination skin type, visible blood vessels, freckles, easily dehydrated, dry and having fine line undereye, occasional breakout, visible aging pores.

Archives

Categories

If your comment does not appear immediately, that means it is awaiting moderation.
BT will approve it as soon as she accesses to this blog. Thank you ~ (" v)

Blog Stats

  • 1,800,341 hits

Copyright notice

Copyright © 2008-2013 Beautyknot
