Beautyknot ~ My Skin Care Diary

Clarins Huile “Tonic” Body Treatment Oil

Posted on: June 6, 2010

 

Clarins Aroma body care consist of three body treatment oils, Anti-Eau for toning and draining with Broom, Geranium, Marjoram; Tonic for toning and stimulating with Geranium, Mint, Rosemary; Relax for relaxing and soothing with Basil, Camomile, Petit Grain. All contain 100% pure plant extracts.

 

 

I’ve maintained my weight within the ideal range all these years, just yet to count in anything called ‘stubborn’ + ‘fatty’ + ‘saggy’  were piling up sneakily over the years. The Clarins’s sales assistant recommended this “Tonic” Body Treatment Oil when I told her that I wanted to use the oil for entire body slimming and firming. Thanks to the Rule of Universe. HOORAY!

 

Direction for use: Apply a small amount to damp skin over the whole body or concentrate on problem areas. Massage in lightly. If possible, follow with a cool shower, starting with the feet and working upwards.

 

 

Regardless of the direction, I prefer using this “Tonic” Body Treatment Oil in the evening, right after shower. The woody aroma is not over-powering yet, it smells very de-stressing alike aromatherapy. Taking few drops to work on arms, thighs, pelvis and sometimes abdomen; most importantly, massage in the way as Clarins instructed. I attached the instruction below for your easy reference, you can find the method and video from Clarins website as well.

 

 

The oil indeed very rich and heavy, it takes a long time to be fully absorbed so skin would feel very greasy in the beginning. In order to ease the greasiness, I either apply body lotion or mix the oil with a body cream in dry season. In fact, Clarins recommends the oil to work together with their Body Shaping Cream for optimal firming result.

 

 

Frankly speaking, I was pretty skeptical if body oil does slimming especially I don’t make extra effort to exercise regularly. With curious mind, I purposely marked down my initial body measurements before I started using this oil (partly due to the fact that I want this oil to compare with Clarins High Definition body lift). Surprisingly I lose at least 0.3-0.7 inch of the body parts in a week, this body treatment oil (must work together with massage) worked beautifully to encourage water drainage. However, I hate but have to say the “Tonic” Body Treatment Oil only works via daily massage routine, otherwise all the quick and positive effect can only be temporary.

 

 

Having said that, I was overwhelmed still when I noticed my arms had been transformed from “2D” to “3D” view, i.e, firmer in a month with daily massage. I measured and surprised they actually reduced 0.5~2 inches, but my thighs had shown no positive improvement, certainly I need to look into my diet and exercise plans to minimize the water/fat retention.

 

 

Heat your bathroom as much as possible. Apply Tonic Oil all over the body. Sit down in the bathtub and replace the plug. If you have a hand-held shower head, jet cool water up and down your outstretched legs, from ankles up to buttocks. Continue the massage until water covers your thighs completely or better still, up to your waist.

 

The above listed is Clarins “sit-down” shower tips. Without bath tub, hand-held shower head is suggested. Since I’ve a bath tub at home, so I’ve tried the method, twice only; as such I was unable to tell you the long-term result with regular practice. Instant result? Despite I could skipped a body lotion for legs at latter time and spent additional time to clean up the greasy bath tub, I didn’t see any difference to be honest.

 

My keep-fit philosophy always based on diet and exercise, however I think an appropriate body care product could be necessary for body well-being; not only to facilitate massage but also helpful to improve the skin texture as well as the elasticity that diet and exercise couldn’t deliver. Moreover, I do believed my skin actually appeared slightly firmer with the regular massage, and the aroma of essential oil truly relaxed my stressful mind, eventhough just for the short moment. For these reasons, I’ll keep a natural-based body treatment oil. The price- THB1530/100ml at BKK airport duty free isn’t really expensive after all.

 

 

Last but not least, the storage. Do remember to store it far far away from sun light or heat. I stored it inside a drawer that placed next to window for conveniency, the original yellow colour had changed a little bit darker after some time. As soon as I noticed the colour change, I had transferred it to another drawer that hardly exposes to sun light but I think the ideal storage should be inside a fridge.

 

 

My bottle of “Tonic” Body Treatment Oil had been emptied after owning it more than 11 months, but the actual number of usage was far lesser because I wasn’t discipline enough since the first day. Nevertheless, I was a very faithful user in last 2 months that stuck to the 10-minutes massage routine every night, thus I still be able to make a fair review here. It would last approximately 6 months in regard of daily application.

 

Rating: ….)))     Excellent. Willing to buy again.

 

Ingredients:

Corylus Avellana, Pelargonium Graveolens, Rosmarinus Officinalis, Aniba Rosaeodora, Mentha Arvensis, Linalool, Citronellol, Geraniol, Limonene, Citral, Benzyl Benzoate.

 

Essential oils: Geranium, Mint, Rosemary (tone, stimulate).

Hazelnut oil (combats dehydration).

 

6 Responses to "Clarins Huile “Tonic” Body Treatment Oil"

I bought this product a while ago but used it only once due to my laziness)). Your review encouraged me to give it a second try. Thank you so much! Very helpful.

Thanks Maria, I hope you enjoy using it too, it is beautiful product. (“v)

Is this availaible in India?

HI Prajs, you might find Clarins in upmarket department store in India.

Is the smell still the same after 11months? Is this oil organic? Organic products last for 6months, which is a bummer.

Hi, I didn’t notice any change to the scent after many months. I think the essential oils in the product have anti-bacteria properties, thus it can last a little bit longer. (“v)

Leave a Reply

June 2010
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

My apology

Hi, many things have been keeping my mind and time occupied these days, thus I need more time to response to all comments. Please bear with me, thank you.

:::::::::::::::: Mood :::::::::::::::

My Skin Profile

Sensitive, combination skin type, visible blood vessels, freckles, easily dehydrated, dry and having fine line undereye, occasional breakout, visible aging pores.

Archives

Categories

If your comment does not appear immediately, that means it is awaiting moderation.
BT will approve it as soon as she accesses to this blog. Thank you ~ (" v)

Blog Stats

  • 1,762,512 hits

Copyright notice

Copyright © 2008-2013 Beautyknot
