Beautyknot ~ My Skin Care Diary

Caudalie Lip Conditioner

Posted on: April 10, 2010

Caudalie Lip Conditioner is 99.5% natural origin, it smells and tastes like sweet Vanilla for me. It just happens Vanilla is one of my favorite flavors, so I bought this MYR30/4g at Sasa store Malaysia. Being an anti-oxidant and moisturizing lip balm, I was hoping it genuinely nourishes, perhaps prevent the lip lines forming.

 

In reality, I don’t find lip balm is necessary in humid environment, but in less humid environment/season, my lips are getting dry from time to time, especially after facial cleansing and teeth brushing, regardless I drink plenty plain water everyday. Thankfully, I never had chapped lips because I always smear on lip balm immediately to soothe the uncomfortably tightness and dryness. In my experience, any lip balm from the petroleum jelly to natural wax/oil could be a competent lip guard. 

 

 

I used this up in 2 months with frequent apply.  Besides I do loved this very much, the original vanilla’s taste was actually started changing after nearly a month. Since I applied several times a day, I was sensitive and very aware to the minor change. It tasted acceptable still, but not identical to the newly-bought original taste.

 

I think the natural ingredients began to degrade since I always smeared it on “unsanitary” lips (after drinking, eating, blotting, with lipstick/lipgloss on,etc) and the colour of the lip balm appeared slight darker or more yellowish. On the constructive side, I’m happy this is genuinely natural-based because only highly concentrated natural product has this type of issue. I once used a purely natural formulated, non-fragranced lip balm, the lip balm started to taste awfully after a month plus, which I binned it immediately because I couldn’t stand the smell. But, having said that, I praised its integrity yet it was only a local drugstore brand. Hence, I suppose the artificial fragrance of this Caudalie lip conditioner is helpful to reduce/cover the unpleasant smell.

 

 

The lip conditioner’s texture is quite hard at the beginning, then it became tiny softer but still required few strokes on every application. As general, this Caudalie lip conditioner is moisture enough to handle normal wear, it neither leaves white tint nor being oily on lips, just like normal waxy lip balm and never felt heavy on lips.  My only disappointment is, it failed to make the mark in dry, harsh winter for overnight care. I forced to layer thick Vaseline over it in order to retain the moisture because the lip conditioner alone wasn’t sufficient to sustain abundant moisture overnight. Really, I tried few times just to apply it thickly for overnight care and I never satisfied with the lips condition the next morning. They didn’t look terrible, but not much better. In other words, the lip lines were quite obvious which related to dryness. With Vaseline on top/alone, always a smooth, moist, lineless lips in the morning after. Therefore, Caudalie lip conditioner is something pleasant to use when it can be re-applied frequently in autumn/winter. In other seasons, it’s sufficient for both day and night care.

 

 

I found my favorite, Mentholatum Lip Pure Lipbalm (THB115/4g) has relatively good value. Mentholatum Lip Pure is made with 100% food grade ingredients (Macadamia Ternifolia Nut Oil, Jojoba Oil, Beewax), contained no preservatives or colorant. It imparts oily shinny lips and able to moisturize effectively. Both Orange and lime flavors of the Mentholatum are taste fruity sweet. As Caudalie’s, the scent changed noticeably after 1.5 months. Comparing to Caudalie, Caudalie (harder texture) actually adhered to lips better than Mentholatum (softer/oily texture) due to its more waxy texture, so it stayed slightly longer on lips. Both of them aren’t sufficient for overnight care in dry and cold autumn/winter, they both need the winter coat (Vaseline) for extreme moisture lips.

 

 

As a conclusion, the Caudalie Lip Conditioner in my opinion is only a tad above mediocre to be strictly. But, I love the ingredients, also love the lovely taste and packaging, so I’ll repurchase if I want to splurge.

 

Rating: ….)))     Good. May buy again.

 

Ingredients:

Helianthus Annus (Sunflower) Seed Oil*, Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil*, Cera Alba (Beeswax), Oryza Sativa (Bran) Bran Wax*, Cetyl Palmtate*, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter) Extract*, Copernica Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax*, Euphorbia  Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax*, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil*, Cetearyl Alcohol*, Palmitic Acid*, Stearic Acid*, Hydrogenated Strearyl Olive Esters*, Prunus Armeniaca (Apricot) Kernel Oil*, Parfum (Fragrance), Palmitoyl Grape Seed Extract*, Hydrogenated Castor Oil*, Tocopheryl Acetate*, Ammonium Glycyrrhizate*, Glyceryl Oleate, Tocopherol, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Citric Acid.

* Plant origin

 

2 Responses to "Caudalie Lip Conditioner"

Good review. Thanks for the details, and thanks for the comparison with Menthodolatum too =)

Thanks Kotoko ~ (“v)

Leave a Reply

April 2010
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

My apology

Hi, many things have been keeping my mind and time occupied these days, thus I need more time to response to all comments. Please bear with me, thank you.

:::::::::::::::: Mood :::::::::::::::

My Skin Profile

Sensitive, combination skin type, visible blood vessels, freckles, easily dehydrated, dry and having fine line undereye, occasional breakout, visible aging pores.

Archives

Categories

If your comment does not appear immediately, that means it is awaiting moderation.
BT will approve it as soon as she accesses to this blog. Thank you ~ (" v)

Blog Stats

  • 1,746,822 hits

Copyright notice

Copyright © 2008-2013 Beautyknot
