Beautyknot ~ My Skin Care Diary

Clarins UV Plus HP Day Sunscreen High Protection SPF40 PA+++ (e3p Protection Poly Pollution)

Posted on: March 17, 2010

According to Clarins, Clarins UV Plus HP Day Sunscreen is 100% mineral sunscreen, provides a high level of anti-UV and anti-pollution protection with e3p (expertise 3p), leaves skin soft, smooth and matte.

 

It has both pinkish-tinted and non-tinted versions. Mine is non-tinted. Interestingly, with 10% Titanium Dioxide in both formulas, UV Plus HP Day Sunscreen is able to achieve SPF40 PA+++ high protection, compare to the Buriti Sunscreen Milk SPF15

 

 

The milky consistency of this sunscreen is lightweight, silky, moisturizing and goes on smoothly. Minimum white tint but a shining film for my combination skin that I must  blot the face with sheer loose powder for semi-matte finish. While Clarins said this gives soft, smooth and matte finish, they must be testing it on someone with dry skin. When my skin condition became normal-dry in dry season, skin appeared soft glowing and blotting can be omitted. It served as glossy, luminous makeup base too.

 

Left: Bare skinRight: With Clarins’s

 

Perhaps the different texture of serum/moisturizer underneath, sometimes skin is slight sticky to touch after it settled a protective film, which would feel uncomfortable in humid weather, but since I used loose powder to blot, so the problem is basically solved. Concerning air-conditioning or less humid weather, the stickiness would disappeared after a short while. Nevertheless, as this is a mineral sunscreen, so it could be drying to dehydrated or dry skin.

 

 

Initially it has rather strong fragrance to me  but the fragrance gradually dissipated and became mildly scented after a while. The alcohol kind of smell is still quite strong anyway. Personally I  used this Clarins sunscreen for touch-up purpose mostly, less white residue eventhough multi-layered as well as less drying on skin, on the other hand I might need powder setting to blot off the excessive shine.

  

Just to feed my curiosity, I compared it with Chanel White Essentiel sunscreen base. Of course Clarins’s does not has the intense pearly-shine like Chanel’s, but it is more gentle for sensitive skin and imparts smoother texture than Chanel’s.

 

Left: With Chanel’s,  Right: With Clarins’s

 

For a pure mineral sunscreen that provides broad-spectrum UV protection, contains antioxidants, soothing and moisturizing properties,  lightweight, water-resistant, sweat-resistant and can be served as makeup base, I will say Clarins UV Plus HP Day Sunscreen is premium one rather than value one, it is certainly beyond my budget for daily use. It retails THB1485/30ml or THB1830/50ml at BKK duty free. I do not think I will repurchase, moreover, I wish it is fragrance free and SLS free.

 

Rating: …. )))    Good. Unlikely to buy again.

 

Ingredients:

Cyclopentasiloxane, Aqua, Titanium Dioxide, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Polyglyceryl-3 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Alcohol, Aluminum Hydroxide, Stearic Acid, Sodium Chloride, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, PEG/PPG-20/15 Dimethicone, Tocopheryl Acetate, Parfum, Disodium EDTA, Butylene Glycol, Glycerin, Pentylene Glycol, Biosaccharide Gum-4, Thermus Thermophillus Ferment, Lapsana Communis Flower/Leaf/Stem Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Rhodiola Rosea Root Extract, Phenoxyethanol, Potassium Sorbate, Sodium Lauryl Sulfate.

 

 

5 Responses to "Clarins UV Plus HP Day Sunscreen High Protection SPF40 PA+++ (e3p Protection Poly Pollution)"

Thanks for posting such a great reviews of these sunscreens! I am forever on the hunt for a sunscreen to suit my sensitive skin and a mineral one seems like the way to go.

Hi Tresidder,
Thanks for your comment. My sensitive never suffered irritation from any pure mineral sunscreen, despite they could be drying, and some with thicker texture could possibly clog pore when being applied thickly.

Since we both have sensitive skin (my sensitivity issue greatly improved lately), I’m so glad I can get more product info for sensitive skin from your blog. Meanwhile I hope my sunscreen reviews will be helpful to you too. (“v)

[…] I used this together with Rojukiss Protox serum. The cream is moisturizing, slightly thick but I did not feel the heaviness on skin. It did temporarily leave slight white residue and impart radiant glow that I think it would be suitable as makeup base too. Non-greasy touch and no waiting time required that it allows immediate base makeup application right after the cream. The whole application is pleasant and I did not sense any irritation during the sampling either. The overall application reminded me of Japan Mandom Beauty Baby Moist UV base. When skin is oilier, the finish is pretty alike as though I applied Clarins UV Plus HP Day Sunscreen. […]

Just desire to say your article is as surprising. The clearness in your post is simply spectacular and i could assume you are an expert on this subject. Fine with your permission let me to grab your RSS feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please carry on the rewarding work.

Thank you health,
A heart-warming comment that I can’t be more delighted to receive.

Leave a Reply

March 2010
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

My apology

Hi, many things have been keeping my mind and time occupied these days, thus I need more time to response to all comments. Please bear with me, thank you.

:::::::::::::::: Mood :::::::::::::::

My Skin Profile

Sensitive, combination skin type, visible blood vessels, freckles, easily dehydrated, dry and having fine line undereye, occasional breakout, visible aging pores.

Archives

Categories

If your comment does not appear immediately, that means it is awaiting moderation.
BT will approve it as soon as she accesses to this blog. Thank you ~ (" v)

Blog Stats

  • 1,776,406 hits

Copyright notice

Copyright © 2008-2013 Beautyknot
