Beautyknot ~ My Skin Care Diary

SK-II Skin Signature

Posted on: February 25, 2010

“…… skin is recharged from within, so whatever your age, you can always look younger. “

 

Skin power, according to SK-II global principal scientist, Misa Ito, is the skin’s natural ability to withstand internal and external stress and maintain its texture, radiance and firmness. It is clinically proven to look up to 4 years younger in just one month, giving skin total beauty through a balance of firmness, smoothness and radiance.

 

 

 

 

SK-II Skin Signature is proudly introduced by SK-II in 2009. Contains Oli-Vityl from an olive species that thrives in Tuscany, Italy. Skin Signature is also to replace the previous version, Sign Treatment Totality.

I was overwhelming when I spotted a tiny sample (HKD18/2.5g) of this at Bonjour HK store. Skin Signature is retailing at THB4990/80g here, pricey or not, I certainly didn’t want to spend so much on something that lack of genuine reviews.

 

 

Being an anti-aging cream for early mature skin, I’m quite surprise the texture of the cream is very dewy and lightweight, yet very moisturizing. It penetrates into skin rapidly, non-greasy and leaving skin smooth and subtle glowing.

Generally it was sufficient for my combination skin, although it wasn’t in very low  humidity environment that my skin felt tightness within 3 hours. In the circumstances, I would just use it together with serum or face oil. Apply thickly would also help, probably that is why it comes in a big tub.

 

 

It didn’t cause me breakout in 5 days sampling time. In fact, if applied it alone after liquid lotion, I was happy that less blackheads and less oily skin in the next morning. As a whole, I think this moisturizer is more suitable to oilier skin or those dislike oiliness, dry skin may need additonal care for extra moisture boosting.

 

 

Despite I never understand the detailed bio-chemistry action in the skin deep, I believe the natural skin power is powered by overall inner health (the main reason of why I take supplement), as well as healthy lifestyle and diet. Antioxidant such as Q10 is good enough to me. Still, Skin Signature is very pleasant to use, especially it’s fragrance free.

 

Ingredients:
Water, Galactomyces Ferment Filtrate, Glycerin, Niacinamide, Pentylene Glycol, Isohexadecane, Dimethicone, Isopropyl Isostearate, Butylene Glycol, Polyacrylamide, Sucrose Polycottonseedate, Stearyl Alcohol, Cetyl Alcohol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Panthenol, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Behenyl Alcohol, Benzyl Alcohol, Dimethiconol, Titanium Dioxide, Methylparaben, Laureth- 7, Disodium EDTA, PEG-100 Stearate, Stearic Acid, Olea Europaea(Olive) Fruit Oil, Propylparaben, Sodium PEG-7 Olive Oil Carb Oxylate, Ethylparaben, Cetearyl Alcohol, Cetearyl Glucoside, Sodium Hydroxide, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Extract, Ammonium Polyacrylate.

 

 

21 Responses to "SK-II Skin Signature"

Mine is a dry skin , I’ve been using it for 5 days, & I am finding my skin much smoother & moisturized.

facial skin treatment

Glad to know it works for you, Ketty.

I am glad to find a detailed review like yours. I wanted to buy this but wasn’t sure whether it is hydrating enough for me, and thanks for listing the ingredients too! I will have to reconsider after reading your review – I have dehydrated dry skin and need something very emollient! 🙂

thanks again!

Hello Joseibi,
Wow…I had visited your site many times before, you provided great info about Korea skin care and I learnt many Korea brands from you when I was quite new to them.
Ya, this Skin Signature definitely not sufficient for very dry skin, particularly in winter. SKII does release another rich version called Skin Signature Melting Rich Cream for dry skin, you may check its ingredient list here if you are interested. “v

i have oily skin..need the sunblock for my oily skin..a bit pigmentation around my nose,black head and white head..what is ur recommendation?wasn’t sure how to choose the moistuieriser..help me

Hi dilly joeline,

For oily skin, I personally recommend you Japanese sunblock like Biore UV milk and Kanebo Allie for casual outing. They are drugstore line, having milky consistency, very lightweight and priced below USD17. For beach and mountain activities, Shiseido is my first choice (either Ultimate or Anessa come in big bottle).

I assume you are quite young, thus important to keep up basic skin care routine. Cleanse everyday, exfoliate weekly, special purifying mask weekly and moisturize daily.

Avoid comedogenic (pore-clogging) skin care and makeup. While some oil-free moisturizer contain heavy silicones that might be comedogenic to some people, I suggest you to look for those specify oil-control moisturizer or formulated for oily skin. Usually they come in emulsion/lotion instead of cream texture.

I read some girls with oily skin have success using plant oil as moisturizer too. If you are interested, do use light skin care oil such as jojoba oil, grape seed oil …etc and avoid heavy oil like olive oil, sesame oil etc.

Whenever I have oily shine in very humid weather, using tissue/blotting paper to blot the shine then apply loose/compact powder or mineral powder (to control shine) would able to help me stay away from shiny face for another few hours.

This article will be helpful to you.

SK-II skin signature is it for night treatment or day treatment?

HI yuli,
It can be used either day or night. It doesn’t provide UV protection, so you need additional sunscreen in day though.

hihi,i have just bought facial treament essence n skin signature. but have no idea which one to use lst. my daily makeup routine was, cleanse,hada labo lotion,moisturer,sunscreen,bioterm white detox makeup base.
so should i use facial treatment essense as my toner,and skin signature as my moisturizer instead?
and at night before sleep,both also should use??

Hi Jamie,
Use SKII Facial Treatment Essence before the Skin Signature.

You can also use the Facial Treatment Essence as the first step skin care after cleansing. If you want to use it together with Hada Labo lotion, use SKII FTE first then followed by Hada Labo lotion.

Depending on your preference, both SKII Facial Treatment Essence and Skin Signature can be used day and night. The sequence should be as following:-

Cleansing -> SKII FTE -> Hada Labo Lotion -> Skin Signature -> Sunscreen -> Makeup base.

I would suggest you always use SKII FTE and Skin Signature together to see whether the products improve your skin. Add Hada Labo lotion into the routine only when you find both SKII FTE and Skin Signature don’t moisturize your skin sufficiently. Besides, the best time to apply skin care is right after face cleansing/shower. (“v)

it is working!! my skin is getting younger and fresh!! i am addicted to it. i think it’s better than the miracle water. amazing!

Thanks for sharing, Risye, glad it worked for you, I quite liked the cream texture. (“v)

Beware! As far as the eyecream, it has five types of parabens in it. You may want to check the other SKII items for parabens as they cause long term deadly issues.

Hi Mary,

Thanks for your comment. Personally I can tolerate low level of parabens in cosmetics, especially I don’t really want to exaggerate the side effect of parabens and create terror. At least, for past decade I have yet to read any decease because of using cosmetics with paraben. However, I would prefer and encourage using paraben-free product as I know the less “hazardous” product we use, the better the skin – our largest organ.

Help, why does my just purchased ,from a major USA Famous Beauty Store , list Galactomyces Ferment Filtrate as the first ingredient instead of Saccharomycopsis Ferment Filtrate as Pitera in the FTE? I see they have Galactomyces Ferment Filtrate as Pitera in the Cellumination Essence EX. I’m concerned and it’s Sunday and can’t get a rep until tomorrow!!! Did anything change with SK11 Treatment Essence as of 9/2012? On ther website, it even lists Saccharomycopsis Ferment Filtrate as Pitera as well. What happened with mine???

Hi Victoria,

Great point. They have been using Galactomyces Ferment Filtrate since very much earlier, perhaps this is their “improved pitera” ? Unfortunately only SK-II has answer for this, you should ask their sales consultant for your peace of mind, at least you would know their PR statement. I believe yours is authentic SK-II product, no worries dear. (” v)

Can you recommend a very moisturizing sunblock (physical) to wear over the signature cream? I have dry skin and it’s winter.

Hi SA,

The main ingredients of physical sunscreen is Titanium Dioxide and/or Zinc Oxide, which normally drying.

I would suggest you to try…

1) Physical sunscreen with rich gel texture…, usually enriched with silicones. This will help retaining moisture for very dry skin.

2) Apply natural oil underneath the cream.

Hope this helps (”V)

After I originally left a comment I appear to have clicked the -Notify
me when new comments are added- checkbox and now every time a
comment is added I recieve four emails with the exact same comment.

There has to be a way you are able to remove me from that
service? Many thanks!

Hi, please let me know your name of your previous comment and I will try to remove you from the auto update. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

February 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

My apology

Hi, many things have been keeping my mind and time occupied these days, thus I need more time to response to all comments. Please bear with me, thank you.

:::::::::::::::: Mood :::::::::::::::

My Skin Profile

Sensitive, combination skin type, visible blood vessels, freckles, easily dehydrated, dry and having fine line undereye, occasional breakout, visible aging pores.

Archives

Categories

If your comment does not appear immediately, that means it is awaiting moderation.
BT will approve it as soon as she accesses to this blog. Thank you ~ (" v)

Blog Stats

  • 1,762,365 hits

Copyright notice

Copyright © 2008-2013 Beautyknot
