Beautyknot ~ My Skin Care Diary

Clarins HydraQuench Cream (Normal to Dry skin)

Posted on: January 31, 2010

According to Clarins, the star ingredient, Katafray bark (is part of a fair trade programme with the local Madagascan population) and Service tree bud ensures the ideal moisture balance of the skin. By maintaining skin’s ideal ”climate”, this cream offers unrivalled radiance.

 

From the Clarins beauty catalog, there are few pre-defined Moisturizing solutions for different skin needs. HydraQuench Cooling cream-gel is for age group 20-30s, who has normal to oily skin, travels often and exposed to many forms of modern pollution as well as experience sudden climate change or hot climates shine caused by heat and humidity. While HydraQuench Cream is recommended to those in 40s, who has dry skin or those staying long hours in air-conditioned environment. Lastly, HydraQuench Rich Cream is ideal for those in 50s with dry skin.

 

 

Having combination skin, I suppose to get the cream-gel version, but it contains starch and alcohol which I afraid it could be too drying for my sensitive skin, hence defeats the purpose of hydrating. The cream version seemed smooth and moist while tested on hand, so I decided to give it a try.

 

The floral fragrance is quite strong to me, not my favorite scent but pleasant enough, best it will dissipate in a while. The consistency is rich indeed. I only used a pea-size for each application since it can be spread on smoothly and forms a moisturizing film quickly without greasiness. Skin looked subtle glowing then.

 

 

I have high expectation to a hydrating cream, premium brand particularly. At least for temporary, I expect a good moisturizer should be able to quench and refine the skin texture efficiently (since a quality face oil/lotion/serum can achieve this as well) as well as lock in the moisture effectively. For me, this HydraQuench Cream only works on the second part. It did not really inject the moisture into my dehydrated skin for refined skin texture yet it did protect the skin from further moisture loss.

 

In other words, a moisturized skin condition prior the HydraQuench Cream is very crucial in order to achieve optimal hydrating result, else this probably just like a heavy film sitting on top of the skin. Talking about the functional aspect, it sounds no difference with Vaseline or mineral oil. To be fair, of course this is a premium cream, albeit various botanical extracts, it also contains Clarins’s Expertise 3P Complex (e3p) against pollution.

 

After all,  this HydraQuench cream works pretty good with HydraQuench Bi-phase serum. I once applied the serum and cream before Shiseido milky sunblock, sitting 4 hours continuously under a heavy blowing air-conditioner in less humid space, at the end my skin moisture not only had been retained perfectly, but refreshed complexion too. I was quite impressed honestly. 

 

 

Unfortunately, when the skin is unstable and sensitive, it is not comfortable wearing. Moreover, it always highlighted my broken capillaries easily for entire day and did not heal my minor flaky nose as well. If apply thickly, it tends to clog pores. Very touchy for my skin condition.

 

Seriously, if not the expensive price (MYR205/50ml) held me back, I could have given up at the beginning. I tried N times to figure out the best way for my skin condition in the first month, even tried it as hand cream (not better than a hand cream), but eventually took it for neck due to the steep price. Glad it works fine on neck, just not for my problematic face. Despite moisturizing, no other improvement have been noticed concerning it as a neck cream.

 

 
 

content of cream-gel version

 

Besides, I also received a sample of cream-gel version as GWP. The color is slightly peachy and the consistency is light and dewy. It took a while to be fully settled, skin was subtle glowing and non-greasy as though I applied the cream version. Additionally, the refreshing cool sensation waken up the skin instantly, feeling great in sultry weather, but again, definitely not for sensitive skin. Surprisingly my skin was more tolerant with the Cream-gel version, may be I did not try enough. Being a hydrating cream, this Cream-gel was sufficient for my combination skin. For oilier skin, I do not think HydraQuench is meant for sebum control, my skin still gets oily when sebum glands is over-active.

 

As a conclusion, I wish I could be ingredient savvy. After nearly 3 months, I still did not get the right feeling from this HydraQuench cream. The point is, it is not suitable for sensitive skin, it should be for healthy normal-dry skin, with no comedogenic issue.

 

Rating: ….)))       So-so. Will not buy again.

 

HydraQuench Cream 

Ingredients:

Aqua, Glycerin, Diethylhexyl Succinate, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Silica, Cetearyl Alcohol, Dipentaerythrityl Tetrahydroxystearate/Tetraisostearate, Glyceryl Stearate, PEG 100 Stearate, Cetearyl Glucoside, Cetyl Alcohol, Stearyl Alcohol, Dimethicone, Polyacrylamide, Caprylyl glycol, Parfum, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Ethylhexylglycerin, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Sodium PCA, Tetrasodium EDTA, Butylene Glycol, Dimethiconol, Glyceryl Acrylate/Acrylic Acid Copolymer, Tocopherol, Laureth-7, Cedrelopsis Grevei Bark Extract, Pentylene glycol, Pyrus Sorbus Bud Extract, Biosaccharide Gum-4, Thermus Thermophillus Ferment, Helianthus Annuus Seed Oil, Lapsana Communis Flower/Leaf/Stem Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Rhodiola Rosea Root Extract, Sodium Lauryl Sulfate, Phenoxyethanol, Sorbic Acid, Potassium Sorbate.

 

 

HydraQuench Cooling Cream-Gel

Ingredients:

Aqua/Water/Eau, Alcohol, Glycerin, Squalane, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Tapioca Starch, Ammonium Acryloyldimethyltaurate/VP Copolymer, Phenyl Trimethicone, Butylene Glycol, Parfum/Fragrance, Ethylhexylglycerin, Tocopheryl Acetate, Palmtoyl Proline, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Tetrasodium EDTA, Glyceryl Acrylate/Acrylic Acid Copolymer, Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Magnesium Palmitoyl Glutamate, Sodium Palmitoyl Sarcosinate, Epilobium Fleischeri Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Rhodiola  Rosea Root Extract, Polyacrylamide, Laureth-7, Punica Granatum Bark Extract, Cedrelopsis Grevei Bark Extract, Palmitic Acid, Pentylene Glycol, Pyrus Sorbus Bud Extract, Biosaccharide Gum-4, Sodium Hyaluronate, Thermus Thermophillus Ferment, Lapsana Communis Flower/Leaf/Stem Extract, Phenoxyethanol, Potassium Sorbate, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Sodium Lauryl Sulfate, CI 15985/Yellow 6.

 

 

4 Responses to "Clarins HydraQuench Cream (Normal to Dry skin)"

Hi! I too have sensitive skin and a blow of wind can cause redness and little bumps on my face. Thus, I have been eyeing the brand CUREL (Japanese). Have you come across this brand or used its products?

Hi ns,
Great to hear from you again.

I just did a quick online reading about Curel from Kao JP. The line targets dry, itchy and sensitive skin, but I’m not sure if I miss out anything, it seems all the Curel products are for body care. If I’m not mistaken, I remember you’ve oilier skin and prone to acne. If that’s case then I don’t actually recommend you to use the body lotion for face because the formula is truly rich and nourishing (from their ing list), unless your current skin condition is severely dry, then it may be fine for temporary soothing. After all, you can always test on a small patch before decide the next step.

I never used the brand but I saw there are plenty positive reviews on drugstore.com. May be, you can ask professional opinion from dermatologist for the problem though I know the fee is terribly steep in certain country. “v

Hi there!
Curel has products for body, hair and face. I checked and tested out their products in Watsons and it seems moisturising yet easily absorbs into the skin. I’ve yet to see any reviews for the face care range online, thus wanted to see if you had any experience in this range.
Ever since moving to HK, my skins extremely sensitive and Curel seems to stand out from other brands, in terms of ingredients, reputation and price.
Maybe I’ll give it a try once I get my wages thsi week 🙂

Hello ns,
I see…I didn’t pay attention to Curel during my recent trip to HK, I was busy to browse Aqua Label, Kose, Maxfactor… at Watsons, those brands aren’t available in TH. (“b)

Please let me know if their facial care work fine if you buy one, so I can check it out next trip as I was thinking to get a mild one for stand by. “v

Leave a Reply

January 2010
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

My apology

Hi, many things have been keeping my mind and time occupied these days, thus I need more time to response to all comments. Please bear with me, thank you.

:::::::::::::::: Mood :::::::::::::::

My Skin Profile

Sensitive, combination skin type, visible blood vessels, freckles, easily dehydrated, dry and having fine line undereye, occasional breakout, visible aging pores.

Archives

Categories

If your comment does not appear immediately, that means it is awaiting moderation.
BT will approve it as soon as she accesses to this blog. Thank you ~ (" v)

Blog Stats

  • 1,800,341 hits

Copyright notice

Copyright © 2008-2013 Beautyknot
