Beautyknot ~ My Skin Care Diary

Clarins HydraQuench Intensive Serum Bi-Phase

Posted on: January 30, 2010

 

Clarins HydraQuench serum

A hydrolipidic bi-phase formulated serum which restore vitality to most dehydrated skin, even in extreme climates. Rich in omega 3, Inca Peanut oil restores skin’s moisture balance while Katafray extract restores cohesion of the corneal layer to prevent moisture loss, Hyaluronic acid restores water reserves, Service tree bud extract activates skin microcirculation, Alfalfa boosts collagen production, intensively regenerates, firms and minimize premature wrinkles. Claim by Clarins.

 

I had tried the old version 5 years back, which was very emollient, too heavy for my combination skin in humid month, but very effective to retain moisture. So I was hoping the latest bi-phase light version will be even better since it targets dehydrated skin, and basically suitable for all skin types. Also, the bi-phase concept is genius.

 

Clarins HydraQuench serum uncapped

 

Shake well before use to mix the two phases. The serum shown in the above pictures is new and unused, the upper oil phase comprises approximate 20%, and the lower liquid phase is composing approximate 80% of the total. Do get the nozzle close to the palm while pressing because the powerful squirt can hit 1 meter away! No kidding.

 

serum content-under dim light

 

The satin smooth consistency is moisturizing and absorbs rapidly into skin. Though it is quite strongly fragranced but the scent does dissipate after a while. For me, it is more like silky oil that making pores look temporary smaller due to hydration and keep skin very soft and moist. However, when the skin my skin is neither dehydrated nor dried, it tends to be oilier that I could skip the moisturizer before sunscreen. Surely I want something more mattifying in warmer humid month.

 

It performed decently in dry season, not the skin savior though. The serum was capable to heal my minor flaky nose within 3 days (a bit slow compare to Clarins treatment oil), but I was quite disappointed that my skin was still stinging in the afternoon occasionally with this serum on, unless I paired it with moisturizing sunscreen and creamy foundation and strictly no powder makeup. Besides, I also applied this over sunscreen, hoping to soothe the mild tingle, the soothing effect gone within 1/2 hours, I was very disappointed. In addition, it caused mild tingle upon applying on after toning if the skin is ultra sensitive, especially after accidentally over-exfoliation. Based on my experience, that happen to all strong and fragranced product particularly, thus fragrance is surely one of the main culprit to cause the tingle. Meantime I also suspect the chemical sunscreen is the pime culprit since my skin actually worked fine with some fragranced product.

 

serum -content under sunlight

 

Anyhow, the serum didn’t give me comedogenic hassle. Abeilt the genius bi-phase idea, another credit of this hydrating serum is it included antioxidants to against pollution as well. On the other hand, it contains a chemical sunscreen (Benzophenone-4) which I found quite a number of hydrating serum does, in fact many skin care products contain UV absorber and I don’t think this is good for sensitive skin. If this is your concern, you have to carefully examine the ingredient list. Personally I dislike any of my skin care product contains potentially irritating chemical sunscreen.

 

Clarins HydraQuench serum asp

 

Packaging wise, this glass bottle a bit too tall to stand inside the drawer of my vanity table, so it forced to be laid down and crowded with my other stuff,  resulting the gold stripe faded away after some time.

 

I have been using it occasionally on dry patches nearly 5 months now, 1-3 squirts each application depending on the skin condition. Perhaps I expected too much after reading couple good reviews of this, so again, I was quite disappointed actually. Instead of giving it good rating, I do think it is a decent hydrating serum to those with healthy skin and staying long hours in less humid environment, not recommend for very sensitive skin. Paid THB 2125 for 30ml at Bangkok airport duty free.

 

Rating: …)))   Satisfied  Satisfied. Unlikely to buy again.

 

Ingredients:

Aqua, Glycerin, Squalane, Isohexadecane, Isononyl Isononanoate,  Dipropylene Glycol,  Sodium PCA,  Plukenetia Volubilis Seed Oil,  Benzophenone-4,   Parfum,  Sodium Chloride,  Tromethamine,  Tocopheryl Acetate,  Ethylhexylglycerin,  Glyceryl Acrylate/Acrylic Acid Copolymer,  Xanthan Gum,  Sodium Hyaluronate,  Disodium EDTA,  Chondrus Crispus Extract, Caprylyl/Capryl Glucoside, Medicago Sativa Extract, Cedrelopsis Grevei Bark Extract, Butyl Methoxydibenzoylmethane,  Pyrus Sorbus Bud Extract, Phenoxyethanol, Potassium Sorbate, Sorbic Acid, Benzyl Benzoate, CI 42090.

 

Leave a Reply

January 2010
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

My apology

Hi, many things have been keeping my mind and time occupied these days, thus I need more time to response to all comments. Please bear with me, thank you.

:::::::::::::::: Mood :::::::::::::::

My Skin Profile

Sensitive, combination skin type, visible blood vessels, freckles, easily dehydrated, dry and having fine line undereye, occasional breakout, visible aging pores.

Archives

Categories

If your comment does not appear immediately, that means it is awaiting moderation.
BT will approve it as soon as she accesses to this blog. Thank you ~ (" v)

Blog Stats

  • 1,746,356 hits

Copyright notice

Copyright © 2008-2013 Beautyknot
