Beautyknot ~ My Skin Care Diary

DHC and FANCL Q10 Supplements

Posted on: November 15, 2009

 supplements

 

Food junkie like me, I just can’t resist some unhealthy but delicious food sometimes, I doubt if I have enough antioxidant consumption from daily food to protect from stress, pollution, UV rays…, so I decided to include antioxidant supplement in my daily life.

CoQ10 (a.k.a ubiquinone) is present in all cellular membranes and in lipoproteins. Aging is generally associated with decreases in tissue coQ10 levels. For example, levels of coQ10 in the skin are low in childhood, reach a maximum at around 20-30 years of age, and then decrease steadily with increasing age. Topically applied coQ10 can penetrate into the living cell layers of the skin and attenuate both the depth of deep wrinkles characteristic of photoaging, as well as the turnover of epithelial cells. CoQ10 is also highly effective in protecting skin cells known as keratinocytes from oxidative DNA damage induced by ultraviolet light. Other health benefits of coQ10 such as stimulates body’s metabolism, improves symptoms in cardiac and congestive heart failure, significantly enhances body immune function…etc.  (source and read more from here )

 

DHC ALA + Q10

Alpha-Lipoic Acid got me interested after I read MD.Perricone’s theory of inflammatory, which Alpha Lipoic Acid is effective to combat inflammatory that associated with aging. DHC is doing well to develop a product that contains popular ingredient at affordable price.

DHC ALA + Q10 cap

Single pack of DHC Alpha-Lipoic Acid + Co Q10 contains 30 soft capsules with a cap a day for one month supply. Each cap contains 50mg ALA and 29mg coQ10. Retails 470 baht per pack but I always get the 380 baht or lower promotion price either at major Boots pharmacy or DHC Olive Spa Siam Paragon. This is great value buy to me compare to other coQ10 supplements in the market.

 

Fancl Q10

Fancl Coenzyme Q10 is retailing at 1300 baht per pack, 60 capsules for 30 days, 2 capsules a day with total 60mg of coQ10. Currently I only take a cap after meal in the morning and I found it boosts my energy as well. This is expensive, I only purchase this during promotion. 

Fancl Q10 cap

Ingredient list: Q10 (30mg/cap), Vitamin E (10mg/cap), Vitamin B6 (1.5mg/cap)

I have faith into the long-term benefit of taking quality supplement, together with  positive cycle of good health and good skin. Healthy diet and lifestyle still the priorities because we need different families of antioxidants daily, obviously we couldn’t solely rely on supplements.

 

*Please stop and consult doctor if you are taking other medicines or allergy occurs, do not overdose.

 

4 Responses to "DHC and FANCL Q10 Supplements"

Hi, I’ve been taking DHC collagen supplements for almost a month now, and I must say there is some visible improvements for my skin. My skin is glowing and on some parts that are thinner (i.e., my hands), I feel the skin on my hands are a bit fuller.

I’m looking forward to eating the ALA+CoQ10 supplements from DHC.

Glad to know someone’s finding them as beneficial too. To health and beauty! Cheers~

Hello erin,
Thank you for dropping by and your comment.

I’m glad to hear that you received such amazing improvements from collagen supplement in short period. Q10 is beneficial especially after age 30. Since Fancl is no longer available in TH, I may consider to give DHC collagen a try. Thank you so much for the sharing. “V

hi.. i bought dha alpha lipo acid, it stated 2tablets after meal. is it save if i take 6tablets per day as i eat 3times a day.
Thanks?

Hi anna,
I read some info about DHC Alpha Lipoic Acid just now and know that it is recommended 2 capsules a day. You can take it in two divided dosage after meal, such as one cap after breakfast and another cap after lunch.

Please follow the instruction on the product label or best to consult health expert. From what I read online here and here, 20-50mg a day is enough for general antioxidant support, 500-800mg a day for medication of specified disease.

Alpha Lipoic acid is a fatty acid (made by the body and is found in every cell, where it helps turn glucose into energy) and an antioxidant (creates a barrier to minimize the absorption of harmful chemical/toxins into the blood stream). It can be found in tiny amount in spinach, broccoli, peas, Brewer’s yeast, brussel sprouts, rice bran, red meat and organ meats (such as liver). You also need to note the side effect of high doses can include skin rash, upset stomach, nausea, diarrhea, flatulence and can lead to the lowering of blood sugar. Therefore, obviously 6 capsules of DHC ALA a day (2 capsules total 694mg, contains Alpha lipoic acid 210mg) is excessive. Lastly, please take any supplement with care, we want to benefit from them but not the side effect. (“v)

Leave a Reply

November 2009
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

My apology

Hi, many things have been keeping my mind and time occupied these days, thus I need more time to response to all comments. Please bear with me, thank you.

:::::::::::::::: Mood :::::::::::::::

My Skin Profile

Sensitive, combination skin type, visible blood vessels, freckles, easily dehydrated, dry and having fine line undereye, occasional breakout, visible aging pores.

Archives

Categories

If your comment does not appear immediately, that means it is awaiting moderation.
BT will approve it as soon as she accesses to this blog. Thank you ~ (" v)

Blog Stats

  • 1,800,341 hits

Copyright notice

Copyright © 2008-2013 Beautyknot
