Beautyknot ~ My Skin Care Diary

L’Occitane do Brasil Buriti Sunscreen Milk SPF15

Posted on: November 5, 2009

 

L'Occitane sunscreen SPF15

Enriched with organic vegetable oil from the palm-tree Buriti, harvested in the State of Pará, which concentrated in antioxidant beta-carotene. Contains no UV absorber, a pure mineral sunscreen provides medium  protection, water-resistant, can be applied on face and body, not offers protection against insolation.

 

I was searching an inexpensive pure mineral sunscreen for home use since my favorite Olay White Radiance Cream SPF19 was going to discontinue. Although this contains no Zinc Oxide for full spectrum UVA/UVB protection, but already sufficient for home use. The only drawback to me is, this has to be removed by makeup remover due to its fairly water-resistant feature. However, I don’t think this is  sweat-resistant. The tissue paper has yellowish residue which clearly show it belongs to the sunscreen while I have no makeup.

 

L'Occitane sunscreen content

 

The moisturizing milky sunscreen spreads on smoothly, absolutely nourishing consistency, yet adheres easily with no tacky feeling, might take a short while to build up the smooth protective film depends on environment humidity. Skin is quite moisturizing, non-greasy and minimal white residue on fair skin due to the yellowish milky lotion that slightly neutralize the skin tone ( but not the redness) with hint of healthy glow. By the way, avoid this when I was prone to acne because it prolonged the acne healing process. The sebum controlling ability is depending on skin types and climate, it was too heavy for my sensitive combination skin in hot humid days but too drying to me in less humid days. In fact, it is best for body use, too tricky for face use.

  

 

L'Occitane sunscreen manual 

When I was using this in April, I had pimples whenever I used this sunscreen. Sad, I thought I wasted my money on this. Later I realized the culprit was my hormonal breakout because I also got breakout easily with all the existing products during the period. Problem had been identified and solved finally, my skin started to be well-behaved and this sunscreen never broke me out again in following months.

 

The herb kind of fragrance is very strong, which is excellent to cover unpleasant smell of my Clinique C10 formula. When use as body sunscreen, this leaves slightly white residue, non-greasy and settles quickly. Just need to be careful not to wear white on the day to avoid getting stained when you are sweating. On the other side, I just wanted to say the mouth of the bottle always quite messy like you have seen in the below picture.

 

L'Occitane Bruti sunscreen22

 

After used for 8 months, no irritation except hormonal breakout, overall comfortable wearing. The bottle is opaque, but can be estimate how much the content remains with light’s shadow of the content. I just finish the first bottle. Put the bottle upside down in order to let the remaining milky lotion ooze out easily when the content is about to finish, thus minimized waste.

 

Paid promotional price 693 baht for the 150 ml Buriti Sun Milk Medium Protection SPF15, normal retail price is 1150 baht in Thailand.

 

Rating: ….)))   Good  Good. Unlikely to buy again.

 

Active Ingredient:

Titanium Dioxide 10%

 

Ingredients:

Aqua/Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Titanium Dioxide, Corn Starch Modified, Mauritia Flexuosa Fruit Oil, Polyglyceryl-3 Polydimethyl, Siloxyethyl Dimethicone, Butylene Glycol, Sodium Chloride, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, Caprylyl Glycol, Tocopherol, Parfum/Fragrance, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Stearic Acid, Aluminum Hydroxide, PEG/PPG-20/15 Dimethicone, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Disodium EDTA, Limonene.

 

 

 

2 Responses to "L’Occitane do Brasil Buriti Sunscreen Milk SPF15"

I was interested in this until I noted it only contained TiO2. But yeah, it’s good enough for indoors or even casual sun exposure. Hmm…it’s quite expensive here so I doubt I’ll get it though.

I noted some European brands like L’Occitane and Clarins, they only used TiO2 for mineral sunscreen eventhough ZnO is known as effective, can’t figure out why.

Leave a Reply

November 2009
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

My apology

Hi, many things have been keeping my mind and time occupied these days, thus I need more time to response to all comments. Please bear with me, thank you.

:::::::::::::::: Mood :::::::::::::::

My Skin Profile

Sensitive, combination skin type, visible blood vessels, freckles, easily dehydrated, dry and having fine line undereye, occasional breakout, visible aging pores.

Archives

Categories

If your comment does not appear immediately, that means it is awaiting moderation.
BT will approve it as soon as she accesses to this blog. Thank you ~ (" v)

Blog Stats

  • 1,762,365 hits

Copyright notice

Copyright © 2008-2013 Beautyknot
