Beautyknot ~ My Skin Care Diary

Kanebo Lunasol Water Cream Foundation SPF18.PA++ (OC03)

Posted on: September 2, 2009

Kanebo Lunasol water crm fdn sample

I have read so many raves about this Lunasol Water Cream Foundation before, perphaps all Kanebo foundations. It consists approximate 60% water composition and suitable for all skin types. After conditioning the skin with a makeup base, apply the foundation with sponge or fingers and spread evenly onto skin. 6 shades of choice, the sample I have is OC03, which is 2 shades darker than my actual shade, but looked slightly lighter after I dabbed on tinted Clarins matte loose powder (translucent).

Kanebo Lunasol wcf content

The creamy cream consistecy of this foundation is quite thick, but easily spread onto skin, settled quickly and moisturizing. It contains very fine shimmer-particles that brighten skin instantly asides having skin care ingredients for skin conditioning.

Kanebo Lunasol wcf swatch

It provides medium to full coverage, above average pore concealing power, imparts semi-mattle with subtle glowing complexion, very natural looking that hardly tell there is a foundation on. If you want to know how it works together with Lunasol creamy makeup base, please click here.

Skin after sunscreen

With Lunasol WCF on

A humid cloudy day, my skin started to shine a little bit within 2 hours, leaving more dewy finish, perhaps slightly enlarged pores but basically remained beautifully for entire day if your skin is not very oily, touch up is not a must, just blot the excess sebum with blotting paper. Besides, it kept my face looking fresh with subtle glow in air-conditioned environment for entire day. If you have fine lines issue like me, that is better to use together with a makeup base for flawless finish.  Brushing the matte Clarins loose powder after the cream foundation gives refined velvetly-soft glowing skin since the loose powder has minimum glitter-particles, but the loose powder wore off after few hours, which is normal. Do note the semi-matte foundation finish will affected by type of loose powder, either pearly one or matte one.

With Clarins Loose Powder on

This water cream foundation actually got me thinking of Clinique SuperMoisure foundation. Comparing both (refer to below picture), Lunasol’s gives better coverage for pores and skin tone, smoother to touch, take longer time to become oily, no need to touch up and doesn’t leave whitish line on my double eyelids. While Clinique’s gives better moisturizing ability, very fine pearly-particles to give more luminiousity, skin becomes oilier faster but it is formulated for dry skin anyway, does  leave whitish line on my double eyelids. Both are water-resistant and good for specific skin types.

left: Lunasol's  Right: Clinique's

left: Lunasol's Right: Clinique's

When comparing to Hanskin  Super Magic BB cream, you know what, I think the Hanskin BB cream actually combined some features from both Lunasol water cream and Clinique SuperMoisture. That means, Hanskin is moisturizing like Clinique’s yet has better staying power and higher coverage like Lunasol.

left: Lunasol   Right: Hanskin

left: Lunasol's Right: Hanskin's

Although I was not very impressed by Lunasol Water Cream Foundation after I have tried Korea BB cream and other creamy foundation because they are quite similar in term of finish, just each of them are target different skin types and requisitions. Lunasol Water Cream Foundation is definitely works beautifully for my combination skin for all seasons, but I must finish my Clinique SuperMoisure first before I take this into consideration.

Rating: ….)))   Excellent  Excellent.

Ingredients:

Water, Cyclomethicone, Mineral Oil, Glycerin, Dipropylene Glycol, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Sorbitol, Hydrogenated Polydecene, Maltitol, Sorbitan Isostearate, Tribehenin, Propylene Glycol Dicaprylate, Petrolatum, Nylon-12, Sodium Chloride, Dimethicone Copolyol, Phenyl Trimethicone, Dimethicone, Dimethicone Copolyol, Behenyl/Phytosteryl Dimer Dilinoleate, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Butylene Glycol, Alcohol, Methylserine, Hydrolyzed Silk, Isopropyl Alcohol, Methicone, Astragalus Sinicus Extract, Panax Ginseng Root Extract, Soluble Collagen, Royal Jelly Extract, Salvia Officinalis (Sage) Leaf Extract, Sodium Hyaluronate, Distearyldimonium Chloride, BHT, Phenoxyethanol, Sorbic Acid, Paraben, Titanium Dioxide, Talc, Iron Oxides, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Mica.

[+/-] Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Zinc Oxide.

 

 

4 Responses to "Kanebo Lunasol Water Cream Foundation SPF18.PA++ (OC03)"

Thank you for this thourough review. I thought that OC-3 would be my match, but thanks to your lucid pictures I think I should go for OC-2.

Hi Birkie,

The shade seems quite dark under normal light, but it isn’t that dark color when applied on skin, probably the white residue from sunscreen or natural skin glow or sunlight all affect the finish tone in my pictures. I can’t even tell which shade suits my skin best without trying at beauty counter since I’m not very familiar with Kanebo makeup, sure you know better than me about this.

Again, thanks for your comment! (“v)

.

I liked the OC03 sample given but when I went to purchase it at Isetan, Gardens, I was told they do not have this retailing. They only have Y03 so I bought that one.

It has a bit more yellow tinge and the coverage didn’t seem as good as the OC03. Maybe I am prejudiced towards the sample as my experience tells me samples are usually better than the real thing.

Hello Sweetoes,
That is strange that they have OC03 for sample but don’t have it retailing (may be out of stock?). I got my sample in Thailand and if I’m remember well, they do have OC03 for sale. Anyhow, pinkish/blueish makeup primer will slightly improve the over-yellowish tone. (“v)

Leave a Reply

September 2009
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

My apology

Hi, many things have been keeping my mind and time occupied these days, thus I need more time to response to all comments. Please bear with me, thank you.

:::::::::::::::: Mood :::::::::::::::

My Skin Profile

Sensitive, combination skin type, visible blood vessels, freckles, easily dehydrated, dry and having fine line undereye, occasional breakout, visible aging pores.

Archives

Categories

If your comment does not appear immediately, that means it is awaiting moderation.
BT will approve it as soon as she accesses to this blog. Thank you ~ (" v)

Blog Stats

  • 1,761,047 hits

Copyright notice

Copyright © 2008-2013 Beautyknot
