Beautyknot ~ My Skin Care Diary

KOSÉ Shirosumi Whitening Serum

Posted on: August 22, 2009

 

Kose Shirosumi Whitening Serum

 

I’m satisfied with the skin fairness that I have, but the post-acne marks, freckles and veins still make a long way to the “clean and clear” level. I can’t change my sensitive skin’s nature, but whitening serum is helpful to tackle the most annoying post-acne brownish marks. I bought few whitening products lately where Kose’s 2009 newly-launched exquisite crystal white angel — Shirosumi is part of my splurge.

 

Kose Shirosumi-2

 

According to Kose, Shirosumi  counteracts epidermal cell’s function of conveying melanin to the skin’s surface. Contains Prune Enzyme resolvent to suppress epidermal cells from absorbing surrounding melanin, thus promoting whitening and moisturizing effects. Would that means Shirosumi is better for prevention then? I ponder.

 

Kose Shirosumi Whitening Serum-content

 

Being Kose’s unusually fragrance-free product, the Shirosumi is dewy gel-consistency, runny on skin that feels like moisturizing, thus 2-3 squirts are really enough for face and neck. Due to the moisturizing consistency, it takes a while to be fully absorbed. May be the alcohol or other reasons that always cause me redness upon application, but overall no discomfort feeling yet moisturizing.  Apparently not a good moisture retainer but shows satisfied result of whitening on me. I actually didn’t notice any obvious change of my skin tone because I was with other brightening care such as Sekkisei Supreme Lotion and DHC Retino A Pack, thus my skin tone is consistently looking even and bright (but not clear), however, I do noticed the change of my neck.

 

Previously I noticed my neck and my face is one shade difference. Scratching my head, I do apply whatever I used for face for my neck as well, seems like it is either the mask doesn’t cover the neck zone, or I didn’t exfoliate my neck properly. I don’t want to tone down my face by darker foundation to match the neck tone, which will look utterly weird because my other part of body is as fair as the face. Honestly, this is my real reason for purchasing a whitening serum since I knew AHA and Vitamin A will be more effective on acne scars.

 

Shirosumi texture

 

With the Shirosumi serum, my neck became noticeable slightly fairer in first week! H.a.p.p.y ! By the way, remember to exfoliate the neck zone regularly too. Nevertheless I see no obvious result after 2 months, although skin had brighten up overall. My freckles became slightly smaller (most probably due my consistent using of whitening products these few months ), neck line became less visible (any quality whitening should be able to deliver this) and good for overall brightening (any whitening product should able to have this done).

 

The inner design of this serum is quite different from usual pump design that I have ever seen. The airtight space is slowly pushing up with the leftover content until it hits the short pump. I’m not good to describe, so please refer to below attached picture that shows disassembly of the serum, the cotton bulb tells the remaining space just enough for the short pump.

 

shirosumi disassembly

 

By using Shirosumi day and night, the “N.E.C.K” mission theoretically completed beautifully, persistent attention to neck still on going because the serum only works when it is on. Overall I think Shirosumi is quite nice to use but I’ll not repurchase because it made my broken capillaries vividly! With the reasonable price 1500 baht for 30ml, Shirosumi Whitening Serum is still worth to consider if you don’t have sensitive skin. Bought it for 1350 baht during promotion.

 

Rating: ….)))  Good   Good. Unlikely to buy again.

 

Ingredients:

Water (Aqua), Alcohol, Propylene Glycol Dicaprate, Butylene Glycol, Arbutin, Dimethicone, Glycerin, PEG-40 Stearate, Behenyl Alcohol, Cetearyl Alcohol, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Hydrolyzed Prunus Domestica, Salvia Officinalis (Sage) Leaf Extract, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Carbomer, Citric Acid, Diglycerin, Oleyl Oleate, Pentasodium Pentetate, Sodium Citrate, Sodium Hydroxide, Squalane, Methylparaben, Phenoxyethanol, Red 33 (CI17200), Acetyl Hydroxyproline, Hydrogenated Rapeseed Glycerides, Tamarindus Indica Seed Gum, Yellow 5 (CI19140).

 

 

 

 

4 Responses to "KOSÉ Shirosumi Whitening Serum"

Great review! My neck is too, 1-2 shades yellower and darker than my face thus I am looking for a whitening product to use on my neck so it can be of similar shading to my face. Are there any other more drugstore/cheaper whitening product that works?

I’m on Retin-A for my facial acne and whilst I try to apply that on my neck once every 2-3 nights, my neck area tends to flare up, so I think Retin-A is too much for my neck.
Its only a couple of weeks back that I’ve decided to really work on whitening my neck, so am using my morning whitening moisturiser on my neck too. But my colouring on my neck hasnt whitened much so I’m hoping to find a good whitening neck moisturiser/serum to use specifically on my neck

Hi ns, glad to hear from you again.

Like the eye contour, the skin texture of neck is thinner than the face one, anything too harsh is not suitable, but whitening serum really helps based on my experience.

I’ve tried L’Oreal Revitalift Whitening Serum and it did the job too, only thing is my skin tends to get allergy to L’Oreal product, so I didn’t go back to it.

Currently I prefer do the face exfoliating in the shower, thus I can exfoliate my neck properly too, so far so good. “v

Ah too bad we dont get the Loreal whitening revitalift serum here in the UK. We’ve only got the normal revitalift.
But when I am in Asia, I will pick a bottle of that to use.

I shall try gently exfoliating my neck in the shower too. I always tend to forget and just jump out of the shower as soon as I’m done.
Thank you!

Hi ns, you are welcome and sorry for late reply.

Ha, I tend to forget too at the beginning, but fine after make it a habit, once per week is more than enough I think. “v

Leave a Reply

August 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

My apology

Hi, many things have been keeping my mind and time occupied these days, thus I need more time to response to all comments. Please bear with me, thank you.

:::::::::::::::: Mood :::::::::::::::

My Skin Profile

Sensitive, combination skin type, visible blood vessels, freckles, easily dehydrated, dry and having fine line undereye, occasional breakout, visible aging pores.

Archives

Categories

If your comment does not appear immediately, that means it is awaiting moderation.
BT will approve it as soon as she accesses to this blog. Thank you ~ (" v)

Blog Stats

  • 1,768,579 hits

Copyright notice

Copyright © 2008-2013 Beautyknot
