Beautyknot ~ My Skin Care Diary

Kanebo Impress Powder Foundation SPF23 PA++ OC-C

Posted on: August 20, 2009

 

Kanebo Impress powder fdn sample

I wore pinky tone PO-B during my Impress makeover, the sample I have is OC-C (neutral tone), surprisingly it only slightly darker than my actual skin tone. Thus I can dab a thin layer over my mineral sunblock (that leaves white residue) without looking weird, in fact quite natural because it neutral my redness excellently. Thus, Kanebo Impress has better shade for fair-medium skin tones although all the shades appear pretty dark in pan that scared me off initially.

 

Skin- before

Skin- after

 

 

Although the shade is darker, but the semi-luminous finish simply impressive! Great coverage that my freckles and veins have visibly lightened immediately, even my puffy eye bag looked less apparent due to the neutral tone. Good pore concealing ability by gently dabbing and setting the powder onto pores. Unnoticeable fragrance,  not over powdery (slightly creamy), not over drying (no irritation signs), silky smooth to touch, generally good staying power all day long indoor. The velvety soft glowing finish will turns to dewy luminous on my combination skin when sebum started to excrete in mid day.

 

However… if the makeup base is drying (such as milky sunblock on my easily dehydrated skin), this foundation will reveals skin imperfections although finish still remains flawless from a distance. Thus, a smooth base is extremely crucial for this foundation delivered the optimal result, exception for those have young, moist and smooth skin to start with. Based on my several trials, using brightening type of primer/sunblock will deliver better concealing power via light-diffusing principle.  

Skin after 5 hours w/o touch up

Skin after 5 hours w/o touch up

 

The above attached picture taken after 5 hours I spent indoor. From the pictures, my skin didn’t look nice because of the incorrect shade and my early-mature skin. FYI, my routine is toner->serum->milky sunblock->powder foundation. In real life, the powder foundation did appear luminous without touch up for more than 5 hours in a distance.  After 8 hours, face became oilier, looked slightly darker tone (shouldn’t be problem if I use my correct shade), and foundation wore off slightly, anyway I can always opted for touch up for full coverage again. Unless you sweat a lot or have oily skin, else this is long-wearing. I love it caused less blotchy during touch up, skin looked as if it is newly-applied.

 

Kanebo Impress powder fdn content

 

To answer my previous curiosity, Kanebo Kate powder foundation couldn’t compatible with this. Texture wise, Impress glides on easily with no patchiness and cakey looking, perhaps no oxidization, no visible shimmer and less creamy than Kate’s. Result wise, there are actually very close to equal if you have no problem with Kate powder foundation, but I think the powder of Impress is more finely-milled with better coverage. May be, the skincare ingredients is added for premium line is the major distinction amid Kanebo’s foundations.

 

When comparing to Fancl 2way foundation, they have similar texture. Talking about finish, Kanebo Impress has better coverage, better staying power and imparts luminosity which Fancl not. For that reasons, I preferred Kanebo Impress over Fancl 2way.

 

"Adhesive Application Method"

"Adhesive Application Method"

 

Because of less amount for each application, the small sample is going to last me long long time, sadly the incorrect shade. Isn’t that wonderful that only little powder for such a great coverage without looking heavy? Obviously you get what you pay for. I lightly picked up the powder twice for entire face according to ‘Adhesive Application Method’ by Kanebo Impress, a small secret to create flawless skin.

 

No breakout so far, since I only tried few times at home. For the heavy texture, I afraid it might be comedogenic to me in summer. Refill and casing sold separately. 3300 baht for the 11g  refill and 1100 baht for the casing, made up lavish total price 4400 baht! Same price to Impress cream foundation. Not to mention, we have spoilt by so many quality foundations at lower cost. (“p)

 

Rating: ….)))   Good  Good.

 

Ingredients:

Talc, Titanium Dioxide, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Mica, Nylon-12, Diphenyl Dimethicone/Vinyl Diphenyl Dimethicone/Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Dimethicone, Isocetyl Myristate, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Petrolatum, Hydrogenated polyisoutene, C9-15 Fluoroalcohol Phosphates, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Paraffin, Methicone, Zinc Myristate, Fragrance (Parfum), Niacinamide, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Juice, Butylene Glycol, Methylserine, Glycerin, BHT, Phellodendron Amurense Bark Extract, Algae Extract, Hydrolyzed Yeast, Eugenia Caryophyllus (Clove) Flower Extract, Phenoxyethanol, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben.

May contain (+/-): Iron oxides (CI 77491),  Iron oxides (CI 77492),  Iron oxides (CI 77499), zinc oxide (CI 77947).

 

 

 

1 Response to "Kanebo Impress Powder Foundation SPF23 PA++ OC-C"

[…] is retailing at THB 1300, and case THB 370. Not really expensive since I think it is better than Kanebo Impress powder foundation which costs as steep as La Mer’s. No doubt long-wearing is the prime concern to Japanese […]

Leave a Reply

August 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

My apology

Hi, many things have been keeping my mind and time occupied these days, thus I need more time to response to all comments. Please bear with me, thank you.

:::::::::::::::: Mood :::::::::::::::

My Skin Profile

Sensitive, combination skin type, visible blood vessels, freckles, easily dehydrated, dry and having fine line undereye, occasional breakout, visible aging pores.

Archives

Categories

If your comment does not appear immediately, that means it is awaiting moderation.
BT will approve it as soon as she accesses to this blog. Thank you ~ (" v)

Blog Stats

  • 1,782,970 hits

Copyright notice

Copyright © 2008-2013 Beautyknot
