Beautyknot ~ My Skin Care Diary

SkinFood Black Bean Eye Brow Pencil #6

Posted on: July 20, 2009

SF blackbean brow pencil main

 

I’ve been using eyebrow pencil in black for more than 15 years now even though I dye my hair to cappuccino once in a while. Recently I found out black-brown will look better on me, so I keep my eyes searching for a right browny shade all the time. There are so many kinds of brown shades to choose from, picking the right shade might require trial-and-error, even roaming from brand to brand.

 

swatch (without light)

swatch (under shadow)

 

I got the SkinFood Black Bean Eye Brow Pencil #6 (dark brown) as recommended by the sales girl. It looks pretty right browny when I tested on my hand at the store, thus I was immediately sold plus I was in rush.

 

swatch (with light)

swatch (with light)

 

Agreed that the brown appears softy dark on me, happy with it until I saw the brown under sunlight. The brown appears crimson-brown that contrast to my natural black brow. I feel it looks very unnatural on me because I don’t have any red of my hair. To solve, I blend it with black shade brow pencil for unevenly black-brown that I was intended looking for. The method is too tedious, I give up after trying for a month, now I reserve this Black Bean Eye Brow Pencil strictly for night only. Later I got another perfect black brown shade brow pencil (Coffee Brown) at half of the SkinFood’s price for day use.

 

Despite the incorrect shade, the flat-oval shaped brow cartridge  is simply awesome! It is soft-medium, crayon-textured, draw on easily, the pigment remains the same regardless you are heavy handed or light handed, very long-wearing and can be easily remove by facial cleanser. The pencil casing itself is also weightless, classy design that I like it to exist in my makeup pouch. The capped medium-hard brush is easy to use, but I seldom need it at all because the finish already looks good.

 

The original length of the cartridge is 2.4cm, can be tune in and out, but it’s not refillable. I truly love the convenience of cartridge type of brow pencil, sadly they aren’t long-lasting compare to sharpening required brow pencil. The Black Bean Eye Brow Pencil estimated lasts for 6 months with single  application daily.

 

Bought this RM14.90 in Malaysia. I degraded the rating for the wrong shade. According to the sales girl, No.6 is their most popular choice and it gains rave in Thailand as well.

 

Rating: … )))  Good  Good. Unlikely to buy again.

 

 

Test, test, test…

 

nude brow

nude brow

with SkinFood black bean#6

with SkinFood black bean#6

 

Leave a Reply

July 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

My apology

Hi, many things have been keeping my mind and time occupied these days, thus I need more time to response to all comments. Please bear with me, thank you.

:::::::::::::::: Mood :::::::::::::::

My Skin Profile

Sensitive, combination skin type, visible blood vessels, freckles, easily dehydrated, dry and having fine line undereye, occasional breakout, visible aging pores.

Archives

Categories

If your comment does not appear immediately, that means it is awaiting moderation.
BT will approve it as soon as she accesses to this blog. Thank you ~ (" v)

Blog Stats

  • 1,746,363 hits

Copyright notice

Copyright © 2008-2013 Beautyknot
