Beautyknot ~ My Skin Care Diary

DHC Salicylic Samples Brief Review

Posted on: March 31, 2009

dhc-salicyclic-samples 

 

I was received these samples in March 2009 Olive Club Magazine Mailing. Tested the sample once, but the first encountering was really surprisingly nice, no taut feeling, no irritation yet hydrating, totally a new definition of acne care series to me.  I have occasional breakout, sensitive and easily dehydrated skin, DHC claims the series suitable for all skin types, but I found it was not really enough for my dry patch. The correct sequence of using is face wash, face toner, follow by face milk, then face essence if you need extra moisture. Obviously, my aging pores look smaller within few hours with the series, I was impressed!

 

salicylic-face-wash 

Salicylic Face Wash (590 baht, 120ml )

The liquid-gel consistency very lightweight, has mint/herbal kind of mild scent and creates foam easily. Face feels refreshed, non-drying yet hydrating. Very nice that I feel wanted to purchase it in full size. In fact, I already bought one to stock up, will do a more detailed review in separate post.

 

Active ingredients: Salicylic Acid 2%

Inactive ingredients:

Water, TEA-Cocoate, Arginine Cocoate, Cocamide DEA, Potassium Cocoate, PEG/PPG-240/60 Copolymer, Salicylic Acid, Phenoxyethanol, Glycerin, Triethanolamine, Sodium Laureth-4 Carboxylate, Rosemary Oil, Butylene Glycol, Potassium Hydroxide, Etidronic Acid, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Allantoin, Aloe Extract, Green Tea Extract, Royal Jelly Extract, Scutellaria Baicalensis Root Extract, Perilla Extract, Houttuynia Extract. 

  

salicylic-face-toner 

Salicylic Face Toner (600 baht, 160ml )

The clear liquid is very gentle and non-drying on my sensitive skin, slightly tacky when it dry but I’m fine with it as toner. Not sure if it’s scentless, but I didn’t notice any. Can’t further comment because I only tried once.

 

Active ingredients: Salicylic Acid 2%.

Inactive ingredients:

Water, Butylene Glycol, Salicylic Acid, Sodium Hydroxide, Phenoxyethanol, PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Sodium Citrate,Disodium EDTA, Citric Acid, Rosmarinus Officinalis (rosemary) Leaf Oil, Aloe Ferox Leaf Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Royal Jelly Extract, Scutellaria Baicalensis Root Extract, Perilla Ocymoides Leaf Extract, Houttuynia Cordata Extract. 

Water, Butylene Glycol, Salicylic Acid, Sodium Hydroxide, Phenoxyethanol, PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Sodium Citrate, Disodium EDTA, Citric Acid, Rosemary Leaf Oil, Aloe Extract, Green Tea Extract, Royal Jelly Extract, Scutellaria Baicalensis Root Extract, Perilla Herb Extract, Houttuynia Extract.

 

salicylic-face-milk 

Salicylic Face Milk (620 baht, 60ml )

The lightweight opaque fluid goes on smoothly, absorbs quickly, comfortable and hydrating. Has mild mint/herbal kind of smell as well. This lightweight moisturizer acts like a moisturizer to strengthen the skin barrier against damage.

 

Active ingredients: Salicylic Acid 2%.

Inactive ingredients:

Water, Butylene Glycol, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Sorbitan Stearate, Salicylic Acid, PPG-12/SMDI Copolymer, Cyclopentasiloxane, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Glyceryl Stearate, Triethanolamine, Cetearyl Alcohol, Polyquaternium-37, Propylene Glycol Dicaprylate/Dicaprate, Phenoxyethanol, Sucrose Cocoate, Ceteareth-20, Grape Seed Oil, PPG-1 Trideceth-6, Dimethicone, Rosemary Leaf Oil, Panthenol, Green Tea Extract, Royal Jelly Extract, Scutellaria Baicalensis Root Extract, Perilla Herb Extract, Houttuynia Extract, Soy Extract. 

 

salicylic-face-essence 

Salicylic Face Essence (480 baht, 15g )

This is emulsion type of essence for targeted acne. It’s so emollient that I thought it is a face lotion. At first I thought it was scentless, but there was a sour smell lingering around me after I have done the face wash, toner, milk and essence. To find out the real culprit, I tested those residues on my hand separately. May be all contributed to the form of smell but I finally concluded the essence has exactly the sour kind of smell strongly after it dry out. Too bad, definitely won’t consider the essence for the offensive odor.

 

Active ingredients: Salicylic Acid 2%.

Inactive ingredients:

Water, Butylene Glycol, Isononyl Isononanoate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Sorbitan Stearate, Sulfur, Ceteareth-20, Sucrose Cocoate, Phenoxyethanol, Xanthan Gum, Salicylic Acid, Tocopherol, Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Allantoin, Disodium EDTA, Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, Aloe Ferox Leaf Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Royal Jelly Extract, Scutellaria Baicalensis Root Extract, Perilla Ocymoides Leaf Extract, Houttuynia Cordata Extract.

 

If you have acne issue and love DHC, prefer lightweight, non-drying, gentle yet affordable priced acne treatment, you may give the series a try. For the effectiveness, to be honest, as I understand Salicylic acid only effective under PH3.0-4.0 where DHC Salicylic acid series claims skin pH that gentle to skin. For that reason, I afraid it won’t be much effective for acne therapy. I tried the series in hot and humid summer, so I think the series is only suitable to oily acne skin. Anyway, I bought the face wash simply because I was enjoys using it.

 

 

5 Responses to "DHC Salicylic Samples Brief Review"

This blog’s great!! Thanks :).

Thank you so much, matt. I highly appreciate it. ^^

I’m gonna give those products a try myself. Hope they’re good!

I hope they are effective to you too.

[…] Face Wash is part of DHC acne care series with active ingredient 2% of Salicylic acid that I reviewed previously.  After finished the 120ml bottle, I think I can give more details of this facial wash […]

Leave a Reply

March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

My apology

Hi, many things have been keeping my mind and time occupied these days, thus I need more time to response to all comments. Please bear with me, thank you.

:::::::::::::::: Mood :::::::::::::::

My Skin Profile

Sensitive, combination skin type, visible blood vessels, freckles, easily dehydrated, dry and having fine line undereye, occasional breakout, visible aging pores.

Archives

Categories

If your comment does not appear immediately, that means it is awaiting moderation.
BT will approve it as soon as she accesses to this blog. Thank you ~ (" v)

Blog Stats

  • 1,762,372 hits

Copyright notice

Copyright © 2008-2013 Beautyknot
