Beautyknot ~ My Skin Care Diary

Biore Pefect Face Milk SPF50+ PA+++

Posted on: October 31, 2008

 

This is my third bottle.

 

Shake well before use. The milky consistency is easily smooth on skin and totally non-oily. It leaves slight white cast and gives powdery smooth, matted finish. It is also fragrance-free, colorant-free, but the strong alcohol smell was bothering me upon application though the alcohol smell  faded off after a short while. It has sebum absorbing powder thus the oil controlling power is exceptional great for my combination skin, my face remained fresh along the day. Only it is too drying on dry area in dry season.

 

 

The white cast didn’t bother me because I have fair skin to start with, just need to be careful with foundation shade afterwards. In humid summer, this looks semi-matted due to oilier skin, and no worries of dryness issue with this sunblock because I apply serum underneath usually.

 

This is friendly priced, like most of the sunblock in the market, it provides both physical and chemical UV protections and is retailing for THB260/30ml.

 

This is definitely not my last bottle.

 

Rating : ….)))      Excellent. Willing to buy again.

 

Ingredients: 

Cyclopentasiloxane, Zinc Oxide, Alcohol, Water, Dimethicone, Lauryl Methacrylate/Sodium Methaxcrylate Crosspolymer, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate,  Talc, Styrene/Stearyl Methacrylate Crosspolymer, Glycerin, Methicone, Polysilicone-9, PEG-12 Dimethicone, PEG-32, Titanium Dioxide, PEG-3 Dimethicone, Phenoxyethanol, Aluminum Hydroxide, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Silica.

 

Click picture to enlarge

14 Responses to "Biore Pefect Face Milk SPF50+ PA+++"

[…] from Biore UV Perfect Face Milk SPF50+++, I was in love with this purple-dressed face milk which Biore claims it’s a good hydration […]

Hi, I enjoy your blog very informative I’m a male but I think I also need good protection from the sun especially for my face since I live in tropic country where the sun is shining the whole year.
I used Biore UV Perfect Face Milk which I bought at Watsons while I were in Sing. I couldn’t differentiate between the variants but since the white bottle has oil free sticker on the package so I took that one. I don’t like the oily finish and sticky feeling which usually caused by sunblock. But this one kept my face oil free whole day. Since I have combination skin so I apply Clinique DDM Gel before. I feel it’s too drying without separate moisturizer.
But since my Biore ran out (I can’t find the same stuff here in Jakarta), I use Mentholatum Acnes UV Tint SPF 30 PA ++. Although it has lower SPF but it claims to prevent acne and contains vit E & B6. The consistency is a little bit thicker & has color but blends easily. This one also keep my face oil free but not as long as Biore did. Could you please give a review on this one? I want to know if it’s good enough in term of protection compared to Biore. Or should I find something else with higher SPF? What’s the difference between chemical & physical protection? Does higher SPF & PA means better protection? Sorry too much questions 🙂
Thanks in advance & keep on posting!!!

Hello Nico,

First of all, thank you so much for your sharing and your valuable comment. I am more than delightful to share what I know. (“v)

Yes, certainly, for anyone who wants to prevent pre-mature aging/skin cancer, sun protection is essential. In my opinion, regardless white (Perfect), pink (Bright) or purple (Moist) version of Biore UV Face milk, they are all oil-free and nearly identical in term of texture and sun protection (SPF50+++). The variance of ingredient in their formulation is not significant enough to make a distinctive effect, so except the pink one has pinkish tone, they are very similar to each other frankly.

I never tried Mentholatum Acnes UV Tint SPF 30 PA ++, particularly this is for acne skin and I don’t have acne skin. I am sorry that I am not going to review it because acne treatment ingredient such as BHA could be irritating when staying on my sensitive skin. However, I’m going to share a little more about basic sun protection rating here, so you can have better idea.

Basically SPF is meant for UVB protection (eg:sunburn, redness, skin cancer) and PA rating is for UVA protection (eg:wrinkling, pigmentation).

SPF (Sun Protection Factor) is measure of the time it takes your skin to burn. Assuming your skin takes 20 minutes to get sunburn when being in sun (fair skin has less tolerance to sun compare to dark skin), with SPF50, the calculation is SPF50 * 20 minutes = 1000 minutes = 16.67 hours. Thus, theoretically you can withstand ~16hours in sun without getting sunburn. Somehow, practically if you are not applying enough amount of sunblock for desired protection, the SPF will be affected. For instance, without using liberally, half amount of necessary SPF50 can turn out to be SPF7. The suggested amount by dermatologist is 2mg/cm2, averaging 1g for each face application. Hence 30ml milky sunblock is only enough for a month if apply once per day. That is important to re-apply for continuous sun protection in case the sunblock has been wore off by sweating and water. On the other hand, PA rating (Japanese system) is indicated by +, the more + the better UVA protection.

As a whole, the above info had answered your questions. Yes, the higher SPF & PA means better protection. Biore’s with SPF50 PA+++ definitely provides slight higher sun protection than Mentholatum Acnes UV Tint SPF 30 PA ++. However, they have different selling point here, one for all skin types, and another one for acne skin particularly. According to expert says, SPF50 is enough for beach or mountain hiking activities, otherwise SPF15 is enough for those stays indoor mostly. So, depends on your personal need and preference, either Biore or Metholatum is fine. However, you don’t have to bother about >SPF50, which is unrealistic. My case for your reference: I have fair, freckled, sensitive skin which prone to sunburn, adding certain months in Bangkok is drier and hot (can up to 35oC), thus higher possibility to get sunburn, so I would go for SPF30-50 PA+++ for normal outing. But if I stay at home, SPF15 is fine.

For the difference between chemical & physical protections, the basic concept of Chemical sunscreen (eg: Oxybenzone, Ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate, Tinasorb, Meroryl XL…etc) is absorb and disperse UV rays, while physical sunblock (Zinc Oxide and Titanium Dioxide only) is reflect and scatter UV rays. Most sunscreen on market is mixture of both chemical and physical, such as Biore’s.

Last but not least, I hope you now know better of whichever sunblock that you are using. I will write a post that touch more detailed on sunscreen next month because I need some time to organize the data. If you are interested, please refer back my blog for the post after few weeks, I am on holiday now. Happy New Year (“v).

Wow, this must be somehow good, 3 bottles!
Coincidentally there is a sampling program now in Malaysia. I think I’d quickly redeem and test this out. Its difficult to find a sunscreen that I really like (most leave too obvious white cast!)

So far I really like Kose and Estee Lauder’s but they aren’t exactly wallet friendly. I’m with Sunplay currently, hopefully Biore will join the club soon 🙂

Thanks for the review. It looks like no white cast on yr skin 🙂

By the way, do you know if there are any great sales going on?
I’ll be in Bangkok next week 😀 and I’m already stalking Boots’ website hehehe. What do you think of Oriental Princess?

Hi Nellz,
I just bought a new one for 221 baht last week since Watsons was having sales, here is humid now and I only trust this to keep sebum at bay.

This also leaves whitecast but I know a great tip is capable to reduce the whitecast. Keep your skin well-moisturized before putting on this milky sunscreen because it usually imparts heavy whitecast when skin is very dehydrated/dry, so I avoid this for touch-up (in case), I use powder foundation or BB cream with SPF instead.

In above picture, I only applied small amount on the back of my hand, so no visible whitecast. (“v)

Boots has some good bargin of “Buy 1 get 1 Free” in previous promotion, which too bad ended today. You can check their new promo here from 11-31 March2011. I am eyeing the new Rojukiss Laser Poreless serum (“b) as my existing serum is going finish soon.

I know some retail shops in Pattaya’s shopping malls are having sales but depending on brand (moved to Pattaya so no clue about sales in Bangkok). And I had no time to stop by BKK airport duty free because the immigration queue is terrible last two weeks.

Never tried Oriental Princess, so can’t comment. Their target customer is teenager mostly with affordable price. (“v)

Thanks for the great tip!
I shall try this out with Deary sunscreen (i gave up on this coz it left me with geisha like cast..)

Ah yes, this round the Boots promo is more interesting. I’m already eyeing the Botanics buy one free one 😀

Btw, I did a short comparison on the cleansing oils you requested 🙂 The link is http://potionsjunkie.blogspot.com/2011/03/rank-those-oils.html

Not sure if the new Botanics “Buy 1 Get 1 Free” promo is only for makeup (since they are only featuring makeup line in the poster). Last week I saw Botanics skin care are on “Buy 1 Get 1 Free” promo and the promo was ended today, I will check it for you tomorrow or Sunday. (“v)

Hi Nellz,
The Boots Botanics “Buy 1 Get 1 Free” skin care promo had ended but there is still a promo going on, just no more “Buy 1 Get 1 Free”. (“v)

Hello beautyknot,

I’m from Brazil … and I love your blog. I bought the Biore Perfect Milk 50+ after take a look on your blog. it isn’t sold in Brazil, so I bought in hong kong (bobodave.com).
My skin is so oily and Biore is the only sunscreen that really keep my face oil free, instant matte effect and lasting shine control.
So, I’d like to say thanks!

Hello Edilene,
You’re very welcome and thanks for making a sweet comment here. I fell in love with this sunscreen since the first usage, glad to know the Biore sunscreen works for you too. (“v)

Hello there,
this is Cristina from Spain. I just bought in Vietnam a Bioré UV bright Face Milk SPF 50 and I’m a bit worried that this product have some kind of chemical for made my face more white, I’m actually like to get tan. do you know if this product have some kind of bleach? Thank you!

Hi Cristina,
Bioré UV bright Face Milk SPF 50 definitely doesn’t contain any bleaching ingredient, the white residue is due to the mineral powders (Zinc Oxide and Titanium Dioxide). This sunscreen contains mineral UV blockers – Zinc Oxide and Titanium Dioxide, and these two ingredients are in white powder form, therefore most sunscreens with either one of them OR both are likely to leave white residue on skin. Some mineral sunblocks with nanosized ZnO and TiO2 don’t leave white residue but that is another issue of health concern anyway.

Since you like to get tan, I suggest you look for sunscreen below SPF15 because higher SPF gives better UV protection, thus reduce the likelihood to get burned and tanned. After all this is Japanese product and Japanese normally prefer fair skin. Nevertheless, apply half of required amount (2mg/cm2 ) of SPF50 could result in SPF7 protection, so you may not waste this Biore sunscreen by applying less amount every time. 😉

Hi there! I just want to know if biore UV bright face milk spf 50 has lightening effects on the skin especially for skin with slight melasma. I am currently using VMV Armada spf 45 for face with has a lightening effect howeve i would like to try biore since i do have oily skin.. And one thing more where can i purchase one since i live here in the philippines.Do you have any idea where i get one from our area…Thank you!

Hi Sheynna go,
Biore UV bright face milk doesn’t has lightening effect, it’s a basic sunscreen. A lot of ebay sellers are selling this product but I’m not sure where you can get it in your place. (“v)

Leave a Reply

October 2008
S M T W T F S
    Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

My apology

Hi, many things have been keeping my mind and time occupied these days, thus I need more time to response to all comments. Please bear with me, thank you.

:::::::::::::::: Mood :::::::::::::::

My Skin Profile

Sensitive, combination skin type, visible blood vessels, freckles, easily dehydrated, dry and having fine line undereye, occasional breakout, visible aging pores.

Archives

Categories

If your comment does not appear immediately, that means it is awaiting moderation.
BT will approve it as soon as she accesses to this blog. Thank you ~ (" v)

Blog Stats

  • 1,800,341 hits

Copyright notice

Copyright © 2008-2013 Beautyknot
