Beautyknot ~ My Skin Care Diary

Sulwhasoo Liquid Cleansing Foam

Posted on: October 12, 2011

.

First of all, let me clarify that this Sulwhasoo Liquid Cleansing Foam was belonging to my sister, I was only given approval to use it for a week. (“b) For those who are not familiar with Sulwhasoo, it is premium Korean herbal medicinal skincare that using quality Korean ginseng as main ingredient.

 .

.

There is a small story behind this cleansing foam. One day, a friend of my sister, who also a sales representative tried to sell her a direct-selling skin care series. The friend also brought litmus paper as she wanted to perform a pH test to show to my sister. First, she tested on a normal drugstore facial cleanser, see, the litmus paper turned purple, it was too alkaline, not good for skin. Then she tested on her direct-selling facial cleanser… okay… the litmus paper turned orange, so it was acidic but was still better than the alkaline one. When my sister told her that she was using a very good brand from Korea, the friend also tested the litmus paper on this Sulwhasoo Liquid Cleansing Foam, the litmus paper turned green………… err… so for facial cleanser, this was the best, the friend admitted helplessly. Well, her original intention was to sell a neutral pH cleanser, too bad the outcome didn’t meet her initial expectation. Unexpectedly, the test gives a credit to this Sulwhasoo Liquid Cleansing Foam.


 .

Image credit : here


.

In fact, my sister told me that her heart was aching when she saw her friend took 2~3 pumps of this Sulwhasoo cleanser for testing because she usually only used ½ ~1 pump for each cleansing! Yes, ½ pump was actually enough for lathering as shown in below picture.

 .

.

It has clear liquid-gel consistency, the herbal scent is not overpowering but it smelt rather like herbal ointment for me. As it foams up easily hence I did not need more, I think the 200ml has no problem to last for 2-3 months. The thing is, although it tested to have neutral pH, I found it dried my combination skin slightly after the refreshing wash. However, we are staying in a high-rise condominium and my skin could be slightly drier than in “lower ground” due to windy air, in reality I actually had more oilier skin during hot & humid weather in August in tropical country.

 .

.

It has medium cleansing power as shown in following simple test. The shimmering lipstick faded a lot after 15 seconds massaged the foam on skin. The main cleansing agents (surfactants) used for this cleanser are Potassium Cocoyl Glycinate, PEG-200 Hydrogenated Glyceryl Palmate, Disodium Cocoaphodiacetate and Sodium Methyl Cocoyl Taurate. Though I don’t fully understand attributes of these surfactants but generally they are classified as gentle surfactants. There is other surfactants listed on the bottom of the ingredient list that didn’t bother me much.

 .

=## Cleansing Power Indicator ##=

.

My sister paid USD22/200ml for this cleanser in a Korea duty free shop or the normal retail price is KWR30,000 in Korea. In fact, I was very surprised she splurged on Sulwhasoo particularly she never spent a lot on skin care in history, seemed like the fame of Sulwhasoo in Korea did affect her. Nonetheless, she liked this Sulwhasoo cleanser even more after the pH test. (“v)

 .

Ingredients:

Water, Potassium Cocoyl Glycinate, Acrylates Copolymer, PEG-200 Hydrogenated Glyceryl Palmate, Disodium Cocoaphodiacetate, Sodium Methyl Cocoyl Taurate, Paeonia Albiflora Root Extract, Nelumbo Nucifera Seed Extract, Polygonatum Officinale Rhizome/Root Extract, Lilium Tigrinum Flower/Leaf/Stem Extract, Rehmannia Glutinosa Root Extract, Chrysanthemum Morifolium Flower Extract, Paeonia Suffruticosa Root Extract, Citrus Unshiu Peel Extract, Adenophora Stricta Root Extract, Lycium Chinese Root Extract, Coix Lacryma-Jobi Ma-Yuen Seed Extract, Angelica Tenuissima Root Extract, Honey, Betula Alba Juice, Abies Koreana Leaf Extract, Nelumbo Nucifera Leaf Extract, Houttuynia Cordata Extract, Scutellaria Baicalensis Root Extract, Terminalia Chebula Fruit Extract, Prunus Mume Fruit Extract, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Seed Extract, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Glycerin, Dextran, Butylenes Glycol, Sodium Chloride, Potassium Hydroxide, Disodium EDTA, Isostearic Acid, Caprylyl Glycol, Polydecene, PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, PEG-7 Glyceryl Cocoate, Sodium Benzoate, Methylisothiazolinone, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Fragrance.

.

8 Responses to "Sulwhasoo Liquid Cleansing Foam"

I have a few of their products when I last visited the airport. They are travel kit size but I wasn’t so impressed when I tried those few times. And they’re so ex!

Hi sesame,
Ya, it’s expensive as it’s high-end line in Korea. I personally liked their basic line very much and even purchased few products from the brand recently. I guess the travel kit you have tried is also the Basic line, it’s suitable for non-oily skin type by the way. Perhaps you got more luck in organic skincare. (“D)

I purchased this one after read your post. But i confused..
is the date on bottle expire date or manufacture date?

HI Jane,

Sorry for replying late. I just checked the date printed on my Sulwhasoo cream, it is manufacturing date. (“v)

wah what an interesting story!
your Sister’s friend didn’t expect that coming, she caught up wet LoL
did the brochure comes include in the package? can you suggest where’s the best place to get this (reasonable price and quality)

Thanks a lots! ^_^

Hi, yes the brochure came inside the package. It is standard practice to all full size product, particularly is a must for premium brand.

Where to get this,…. I have replied that in your another comment. If you get the chance to visit Korea, I would say the best place is to buy at duty free shop with discounted price. (“v)

I’m using SkinFood egg white cleansing foam, but considering to change into this cleanser. After reading this, I’m gonna buy one on Ebay with confidence. Hope it works for me. At least it’s harmless to skin.

Hi dear,
If you already bought one, I hope you like it (“v)

Leave a Reply

October 2011
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

My apology

Hi, many things have been keeping my mind and time occupied these days, thus I need more time to response to all comments. Please bear with me, thank you.

:::::::::::::::: Mood :::::::::::::::

My Skin Profile

Sensitive, combination skin type, visible blood vessels, freckles, easily dehydrated, dry and having fine line undereye, occasional breakout, visible aging pores.

Archives

Categories

If your comment does not appear immediately, that means it is awaiting moderation.
BT will approve it as soon as she accesses to this blog. Thank you ~ (" v)

Blog Stats

  • 1,447,657 hits

Copyright notice

Copyright © 2008-2013 Beautyknot
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 94 other followers

