Beautyknot ~ My Skin Care Diary

Renew Rosehip Oil

Posted on: September 30, 2010

 

This Renew Rosehip Oil is 100% organic certified and it comes complimentary in 15ml with a promotion bundle, including a Renew Antioxidant Moisturizing Cream. The normal retail size of this Renew Rosehip Oil is 25ml.

 

According to Renew, it contains no less than 80% essential fatty acids necessary for protecting cell membranes, skin healing Vitamin E, beta-carotene and powerful anti-aging antioxidant lycopene. It is effective in the treatment of: scars, acne, uneven skin tone, fine lines, wrinkles, ageing skin and skin cell repair.

 

Renew uses the rose hips from the wild rose- Rosa Eglanteria that grows in South America. Without learning detail about Rose hip oil, I don’t really know what to expect. Hereby I did some simple online reading and come out with following benefits of the Rose hip oil. 

 
 
 

Rosa Eglanteria and rose hip

 
 

Rosehips

 Above attached two images are taken from kosmea.com.au

 

Directions: Massage 3-4drops into clean, damp skin twice daily or when required. Follow with Renew Antioxidant Moisturizing Cream.

Generally Rose hip oil is fruit oil extracted from the hip or fruit of the rose. The hip is the round tomato-red fruit that occurs on rose bushes anytime from late Summer to Autumn.  Rose hip oil is known to be rich in vitamin A and C, Lycopene, Beta-carotene, fatty acids Omega 3,6,9. It does not need to be diluted with carrier oil, suitable for all skin types including sensitive skin, for all ages, light and easy absorb into skin and non-comedogenic. Furthermore it helps to prevent the signs of premature ageing, minimize uneven skin tone, cell regeneration and repair damaged skin tissue. (source)

 

 

Before I got to know what Rose hip oil is, I simply assumed it has queenly scent of rose, a scent which always a good selling secret behind many fragrances. The fact is that rose essential oil can smell totally different with  rosehip oil. Natural rosehip oil can smell funny to me, it smells like dried flower normally but I’m regretted it smells like unpleasant fishy to me sometimes and that made me feel stressful,  though most of the time the smell dissipated in few minutes.

 

 

Put aside the scent issue. The dark yellow oil of the Rose hip oil is lightweight and easily absorbed into skin, perhaps slightly greasy for oilier skin but personally I don’t find it greasy at all. Due to very sensitive skin, my body lotion always 24hr moisture and soothing one, this is a good “whitening” additive without purchase a separate whitening body lotion to improve uneven skin tone after being in sun. I mixed few drops of it with the body lotion prior to application and they worked very well to keep the skin moist, supple and non-greasy (hopefully it does help the lightening). The strong fragrance of body lotion has covered the Rosehip oil scent to great extent so I don’t have to bother my body smells weird.

 

I had a small bleeding scratch by my nail during a facial cleansing, which I had mentioned this unfortunate incident here. As Rose hip oil is known for improving appearance of scar, I began to apply the oil directly on the wound on the second day, twice a day for a week. This Rose hip oil is very gentle and never stung the wound, the wound-cut sealed and smooth-touching within 2~3 days. The scar didn’t fade off totally but I’ve hard time to look for the scar in the mirror (“c) Wow!). Later I used the oil on and off, when I checked back the scar after a month, it was gone without leaving a trace. That was excitingly impressive and I was more willing to use it regularly since then.

 

Note: The pictures were taken under different lightings. Yellow’s were taken under dim light, Bright/Pinkish skin tone’s were taken with sunlight. The lightings didn’t affect the visibly of the scar.    

scratch on 2nd day

scratch on 7th day

scratch after two weeks

after a month

 

Besides the friendly dropper, dark-shaded for light-protective  and lightweight glass bottle, I still have one big issue with the packaging. The cap cannot be screwed up tightly once opened. I packed it inside my makeup bag and carried along to airplane, half of the content was gone wastefully because of the spillage. On the return trip, I made sure it was properly wrapped and sealed, surely I didn’t want to see an empty bottle when I arrived home.

 

 

Store a natural product below 30oC and use it up within 6 months once opened. I stored it inside fridge all the times and Yes! The colour and the …… smell still maintained after 2 months (if not the spillage, it should last longer). Rose hip oil, also called “Oil of the Youth” is indeed a very useful oil as long as I get used with the smell. In fact, its skin care benefits deserve the Excellent-rating, I drop the rating because of its smell and packaging.

 

Rating: ….)))     Good. Willing to buy again.

9 Responses to "Renew Rosehip Oil"

This post came in handy, just the time when I’m info facial oils. And organic too :D

I’m also looking at grapeseed and castor oil ;)

Amazing how this completely faded your scar!

Hi Nellz,
I was amazed by the healing properties of Rose hip oil too. Facial oil is lovely, simple, junk free and useful. “v

i have been using Renew moisturizer for quite sometime but recently i try Sukin facial scrub and Renew rosehip oil due to my skin pore is large with blackhead (i have oily skin) therefore i hope to see rosehip oil able to reduce my pore after sometime. i feel greasy when i apply rosehip oil but so far no cause allergy. i feel the smell like omega vitamin pills.

Hi Sherlyn,
Thank you for your input.

I’m not sure whether my room/pharmacy temperature had affected the smell of the rosehip oil, it smelt like fish oil frequently when I was using it. May be that isn’t its original smell but I lost my interest to try again. (“v)

ya it smells like fish oil also, but i’m ok wit it, just feel greasy on face since i have oily skin. between is that ok to put inside fridge? i just put in normal room tempature

Hi again Sherlyn,

According to the product label, it should be stored below 30°C, so If you live in tropical climate it’s hard to maintain the room temperature constantly below 30°C, unless the air-conditioning is on. If climate isn’t an issue, I think it’s fine to store at room temperature then.

I would say the freshness of pure rosehip oil preserved better if you store it in refrigerator. When I stored the rosehip oil in refrigerator, the oil didn’t turn solid or became waxy (unlike coconut oil), so after removed it from refrigerator it was convenient to use immediately. (“v)

the scar healing may or may not be affected by the rosehip oil. but , it is a good gentle cheap moisturizer anyway

Hi mr hehe,
Yes, the scar healing may or may not be affected by rosehip oil because our skin has natural healing power. As a beauty junkie, I just liked to add up an “insurance” on top of it. Hehe..(“b)

[...] That was what I assumed when I purchased this NRK Rosehip Perfecting Elixir. Not only my early-mature skin was yelling for nourishing remedy, I had a pimple and it left an unsightly scar on my face. Instantaneously I recalled a wonderful experience of how rosehip oil healed a scar and soothed skin dryness. (read Renew Rosehip oil review here) [...]

Leave a Reply

September 2010
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

My apology

Hi, many things have been keeping my mind and time occupied these days, thus I need more time to response to all comments. Please bear with me, thank you.

:::::::::::::::: Mood :::::::::::::::

My Skin Profile

Sensitive, combination skin type, visible blood vessels, freckles, easily dehydrated, dry and having fine line undereye, occasional breakout, visible aging pores.

Archives

Categories

If your comment does not appear immediately, that means it is awaiting moderation.
BT will approve it as soon as she accesses to this blog. Thank you ~ (" v)

Blog Stats

  • 1,405,989 hits

Copyright notice

Copyright © 2008-2013 Beautyknot
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 92 other followers

